Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have Secondary-Progressive MS. I have received Solumedrol infusions (2 consecutive days) every six weeks as a sort of "maintainence" therapy for the past 10 years. In conjunction with Amprya (ambulation drug) and Gilenya (MS drug)...the solumedrol infusions help keep my body functioning. It just seems to give my body that "kick start." Whether I am experiencing muscle fatigue.pain.cognative ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was given a 50mg Nubain injection with along with a 25mg Phenergan injection on 12/08/09 for a migraine that I have had for three weeks, this medication did nothing, but casue me to be a little drowsy. I went back on 12/10/09 for another treatment this time I was given a 50mg Nubain injection, a 25mg Phenergan ijection, and a 1000mg dose of Solu-Medrol thru an IV. The second treatment did nothi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Cookie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/6/2017
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had SLE since I was 12, I am now 57! This drug worked when nothing else has. It is inexpensive yet they dont use it for SLE much. It had gotten me out of some really bad situations with SLE. There are worse drugs they want to prescribe than this and wish they would not withhold this drug to break the cycle. The Drs. forget that most of us have to work. I have been able to talk this as an out patient at an infusion place. I have 20-30 minutes to get home and stay down till the next day. Dont get up and run around because you feel great after hurting for ever. Its worth to stay down. I have had to take it in the beginning Tues Thurs and Friday 1 gram each day for two months than maint. about every 18months or longer. These Dr. Need to look at this drug more. They need to be more afraid of not using a drug that will get people out of a very bad SLE flare. SLE can get so out of hand if left with symptoms like my mom, it killed in her early 40s from not using enough at only 60 mgs. in the hospital. Drs. need to not be afraid of using this drug. The quality of life this drug gives is worth any side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hall | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2017
Condition: Eye Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for 10 weeks, one injection per week. Very effective in reducing the exophtalmy - eyes popping out of sockets- but i experienced side effects: joint pains, redness of face, weight gain, irregular and pounding heartbeat for hours. Felt miserable but i no longer have double vision and have recovered my mobility in the eyes as muscle inflammation is gone. Very effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justakid | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2016
Condition: Eye Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had some inflammation in my eye that the prednisone wouldn't help, so I was given this solumedrol and it helped greatly. The swelling is completely gone, however, the nerve is pale. I'm a bit half-blind; however, the vision in my eye is slowly improving now that the swelling is gone. The only bad side effect I experienced was a headache and a slightly higher blood pressure; however, I experienced no other bad side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
11/25/2016
Condition: Thyroid Gland Inflammation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

mY FACE SWELLS UP EASILY CAN NOT EAT YOGURT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2015
Condition: Acute Exacerbation of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did a 5 day infusion with each infusion being 1 gram with a 10 minute saline flush, I only have used it IV wise the year I was diagnosed 9 years ago. This time using a port and going in for infusions I had headache, nausea, fatigue, leg and back of neck and across my shoulders at one it hurt to have my skin touched. I am at 10 days since the treatment began and I have only a sore tongue still and sore throat, not sure if that is related or not

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darrell76 | 35-44 | Male | Patient
8/9/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with ms 3years ago i have had the solu- medrol iv 4 times.Origanly Ithought it was the water pills were increasing my leg spasms so i was given medicine for my leg cramps.I just had a treatment two weeks ago and major legs spasms again again given water pills for the swelling again major cramps getting to the point the spasms were a side affect to the solu-medrol after 6 different medicines for the spasms Lyrica has been the most affective in reducing the pain for the spasms. My neuroligist says they probably wont do this treatment again due to the sevarity of the leg spasms as well as vision issue twitching zaps ms hugs etc it did work well at first but not so much now Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patticundariyahoo.com | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/5/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

soreness, bowel upset, raw tongue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/25/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Secondary-Progressive MS. I have received Solumedrol infusions (2 consecutive days) every six weeks as a sort of "maintainence" therapy for the past 10 years. In conjunction with Amprya (ambulation drug) and Gilenya (MS drug)...the solumedrol infusions help keep my body functioning. It just seems to give my body that "kick start." Whether I am experiencing muscle fatigue.pain.cognative difficulties etc. The solumedrol infusions seem to help reduce all my symptoms. I have found that having saline (hydration) infused at the same time as the medication helps elliviate some of the side-effects associated with the solumedrol (sleeplessness..tightness in shoulderblades or chest and back). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vickie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/11/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is easy for me to administer the home health nurse starts it when I recieve the first dose I have a Port .. Cause I have another blood condition which I take monthly IV infustions. I have had a PICC line in the past I am a very hard stick I have had MS for 14 yrs so this isn't my first song and dance with this. My Blood Pressure is going up this time but I am in severe pain in my legs and that is part of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Apoind1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/6/2014
Condition: Muscle or Bone Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for Dermatomyositis. Taking this in IV monthly allows me to walk without stumbling/falling. We went to this form, as we did not want to increase the daily steroid perscriptions. My doctor told me that the monthly mass dose, only stays in the body a day or two....which makes it a better option, as the positive effects still last for almost a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/17/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CourtneyB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/12/2014
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effective, quick, easy, painless! I am able to tolerate Solu-Medrol IV SO much better than oral prednisone. Compared to high-dose oral steroids alone: I find this to be much more effective, I am usually able sleep longer and deeper, have far less emotional swings, less food cravings, slightly less puffiness, less of the "manic" feeling with erratic energy swings! Overall, I feel more emotionally stable, and feel I have more continuous control and less pain & inflammation. I still have to take both when having bad flares (in addition to numerous other regular Rx's). Most of us know that steroids are a blessing and a curse, however, I find myself looking forward to my monthly IV because, for me, the benefits continue to out weigh all the side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liliana | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Allergic Reaction caused by a Drug
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an anaphylactic reaction and used my EpiPen. When I went to the ER, the gave me IV Benadry and Solu-Medrol. The Solu-Medrol made me so anxious that I had tachycardia. I felt like complete crap. I was stuck in the ER for 5 hours until the tachycardia went away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yurt1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had RA for 20 years and just dx with FMS. I have used IV Solumedrol 2x'x as a result of a major full body flare. It was amazing how it took care of all swelling, pain, inflammation, and made me feel better. I cannot take oral prednisone as it makes me 'psychotic' emotionally (super happy, angry, sad). I have also taken IV Solumedrol to combat anaphalactic reactions to RA biologic drugs (remicaid, orencia, humira). I only wish I could get this treatment every 4-6 months to treat my Fibromyalgia and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I know it can be damaging to kidneys - but it would help me to be functional. Now, I take vicodin most days and am generally foggy. I am starting gabapentin for FMS - we'll see. Tried Cymbalta made me crazy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great, the only problem was I had a hard time slpeeing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maarmalade | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2013
Condition: Allergic Reaction caused by a Drug
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ovarian cancer and was experiencing dibilitating side effects from Taxol and Carbo Platin. Solumedral along with a few other drugs has almost alleviated most of my side effects. It's a wonder drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
myra | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/6/2012
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Familial Mediterranean Feverand this helps me so much when I need to stop a flare up . the side effects for me can be extreme ,but the outcome is worth it....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/3/2012
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no effect

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2012
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The treatments were not difficult. The side effects have been very difficult.Very low blood pressure, weakness & fatigue. How long do these last?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More