Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

going from asacol 400mg 3pills 3 times a day to AsacolHD 2 pills 800mg 2 times a day was the big change and still works as well or even better than before.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

under control with the exception of occasional flare ups

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/10/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking 3 pills per day at 800 mg for many years...past six months lowered dosage to 2 pills per day...flareups are not as often even with lower dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/10/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked right from the start.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crhwestiemom | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/27/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had UC for 45 yrs & since I was given Asacol (1998) I'd had NO flare-ups (used 400 mg, 2 am, 2 noon, 2 evening). It was a Godsend. Then they said that was no longer available & I had to use Asacol HD, 2 yrs ago, and since then have had lengthy flare-ups yearly. A friend had same non-response to it. Why did they change it? To have a "new" patent so they wouldn't have to make generic version (which was eminent)? I am furious. Since I had yearly flare-ups without it, I may as well stop using it. Very disappointed in the company. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/4/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have been on this medication, I rarely have flare ups. I take 800 mg twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
runningoutoftime | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2 pills, 3x a day. 2 months now, The only thing that keeps me from having the D is being dehydrated. I don't think it works for me. Diet doesn't matter.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/5/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

under control with the exception of occasional flare ups

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bren | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/26/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While taking this drug I have not had any flare up of ulcerative colitis. But notice some stiffness in joints Gas, and fatigue after taking for a while.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lotus | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/26/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started 9 years ago with 8 pills (800mg) and after a year or so went down to 6 and then only 4 at breakfast. That works for me and it's easy to remember. If I travel and forget to take my pills, there are consequences... I start seeing pink mucus and then blood in the stools.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | Patient
10/13/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am experiencing hair loss

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/7/2011
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the beginning I had headaches when I started taking the medication. With much discussion with my physician we were able to readjust the doses and space out the frequency of taking the medication. Now I have fewer flare ups and less headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glives | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/19/2011
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking two tablets 3 times a day is difficult to do when you have a very busy day.It also makes for a very uncomfortable feeling in my stomach. Taking this while also going undergoing breast cancer treatment has been a real challenge! I hope it helps keep the colon cancer away!I have battling this UC for 42 years and am happy to no longer take steriods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paulmg7 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2011
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

going from asacol 400mg 3pills 3 times a day to AsacolHD 2 pills 800mg 2 times a day was the big change and still works as well or even better than before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking it after got out of hospital for the second time for my crohn's and for the first couple of days it would upset my crohn's but after a few days it went away and worked great. I do suggest not missing any doses because my symptoms would come back if I missed my doses. I really like this version of asacol because you don't need to take as many because the mg is greater. only three a day instead of six.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/22/2009
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As long as I take the med it is working if I slip up and forget I have a flare up. So I strongley recommend not missing any doses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More