Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

i HATE THE SHAKING,AND I LOSE MY BALANCE ALOT.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I agree with the an earlier review. I have had problems with headaches, grinding my teeth and blinking my eyes alot, kinda like a tick. Which causes joint and jaw pain. I am also having problems with my memory and getting worse everyday. I actually forgot how old I was today. I told someone I was 2 years younger than I am.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/19/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine is extremely effective, and I highly reccomend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/20/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medication for Bipolar Disorder II, which means that although I cycle from depression to mania, I don't have illusions and I never do anything that is extremely destructive to myself. I have had the side effect of grinding my teeth, tightening my jaw and sucking or grinding the sides of my cheeks into my teeth. As a result, the inside of my mouth is always sore. When I first started taking it, it negatively impacted my driving. I wasn't as aware as I should have been and found myself cutting people off, running into curbs and once backed into another car because I didn't notice it. Fortunately, this has subsided and I am once again a safe driver. My cycles are better with it, but not gone. The doctor added Abilify during the last two yeaers and I was doing great. During the last two weeks I have tried eliminating the Abilify, as it is so expensive. I have now felt quite depressed, overwhelmed and edgy for about a week. Definitely going back on the Abilify. As I have never tried Abilify without the Lamictal, it might just be that the Abilify is what is "fixing" me and the Lamictal is doing nothing. When I am good and stable again with the Abilify, I might try leaving off the Lamictal to see what happens. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 2 and a half years. I take the XR 200 mg once a day. I am happy to say I completed one whole year seizure free August the 7th. Although I do not suffer from bipolar depression or anything like that, I find that if I take an extra pill when I feel irritable or if I have a really bad migraine, I feel sooo much better. Although I do have a horrible memory. I thought it was just me, but reading the reviews made me feel better because I know I'm not crazy. The generic is no good for me. I had really bad side effects, so I wouldn't take it, that's why I've only been seizure free for a year because I refused to take the generic. But since I've been on the brand name I have never felt better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kellygirl 741 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grsmith5667 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/24/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this medication about a year ago due to black-out seizures and rage. I haven't had ANY episodes since the start of the medication. I take 100mg 1x day, but I did have to start taking it at night as it made me drowsy... I take it with 50mg of benadryl at night and sleep better than I have in years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
seizing_beauty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/17/2012
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

200 mg daily with 300 mg topiramate daily for grand mal seizures; the topiramate seems to be controlling the seizures more than the Lamictal XR. Some side effects; main ones are major loss of coordination, some memory problems, achy muscles, loss of appetite, and hair loss. Otherwise, it isn't that bad of a medication, but is costly if you don't have prescription insurance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cazzandra | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have seizures due to MS. Lesion on the wrong part of the brain kinda thing. I've been on this drug only 9 days and can't truly speak to it's total effectiveness but - wow. I still have seizures but not nearly as many therefore no new fractures. This drug DOES give me a boost of energy. I am wired for sound 15 minutes after taking it and it lasts about 10 hours. Pretty good boon for an MS patient. It does make me dizzier and a bit ditzier but I'll take that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Limami pc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped by keeping me more balanced emotionally. Before I always dreaded the next morning because I didn't know how I would be feeling. Now I can predict my moods because they don't change so fast.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ariel125 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/17/2011
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have complex partial seizures, and I take 400 mg Lamictal XR 2x a day, and 100 topamax at bed. I had some problems at the beginning, but I have trouble starting every drug I've ever used. It's worked really well w/ my seizures. I get some occasional dizziness and dehydration, which may actually be from the topamax.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rsoxforever | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taking for bipolar 2, hypomania, interfering with bulimia trtmt. before this, i was manic and crashing several times a day, almost failing out of school, couldnt focus, resorted to behaviors such as b/p, shoplifting, cutting, etc to control my mood. after 2ish wks on this, felt much more stable and NORMAL- not acting like a nutcase and then having self-esteem crashes that make functioning impossible. im going thru a very stressful period right now i think that has triggered some of the problems ive been having with more manic symptoms, but its much better than it has been and im so glad i got over my fear of psychotropic meds. no weight gain, no hair loss, no rash, and trust me these worried me because im bulimic and by definition very vain and irrational about these sorts of things.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2011
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree with the an earlier review. I have had problems with headaches, grinding my teeth and blinking my eyes alot, kinda like a tick. Which causes joint and jaw pain. I am also having problems with my memory and getting worse everyday. I actually forgot how old I was today. I told someone I was 2 years younger than I am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jadeland | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2011
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works very well at controlling my seizures. I have not had any since being on it. But makes me nauseous in the morning and a bad headache in the afternoon. The worst symptom is grinding my teeth and tensing the muscles in my head and face. This may explain the headaches. I noticed no one else has mentioned this. Am I the only one???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrw | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/17/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

can be suicidal for months without antidepresants and klonopin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Minry | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/29/2010
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lamictal XR is very easy to take, and I have had no seizures in the year I have been taking it. I was on regular Lamictal before for a few years, also with no seizures, but had waves of slight dizziness, which the XR has eliminated. The only potential problem I have with this drug is that my memory is getting to be terrible, heading toward dementia symptoms. The other day I had run out of my meds, and didn't take it until about lunchtime. I was so clear headed and able to remember a list of four things to get at the store! That was so cool! That is when I began to suspect this med may play into my symptoms. Has anyone else had this problem?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/17/2010
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2010
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having what I thought was just a crash in suger and kinda crashing, but was diagnosed with partial seizures was put on this to take control of the seizures. While at first I thought it was working after thte after about 1 and 1/2 month I have been covered with a horrible rash with an ich that covered my body. I don't think it is really worth all this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2010
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany720 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/5/2010
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have partial seizures that don't happen too often but they suggested that I take medication for it. I also have bipolar amd post dramatic stress syndrom. They decided to kill two birds with one stone. It was working wonderful for me until the past 2 months I have had 2 seizures and my aggresion and irritabilty has gotten extemely worse. Now they have decided to put me on keppra for my seizures, but it has made me very drowzy. I quit smoking 2 months ago and this medication is making me crave ciggarettes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
megs | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2010
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have temporal lobe epilepsy in my left temporal lobe and I suffer simple partial seizures. I took Keppra for years and it worked wonders but turned my memory to mush. My doctor recommended Lamictal. Right now I take it along with my Keppra. I don't particularly care for Lamictal, it makes me a little jumpy and it gives me a feeling of artificial happiness ( if that even makes sense). I am a happy person. My seizures are increasing as the Keppra is decreased and the Lamictal is increased. I think I will stick with Keppra, eventhough my doctor thinks I should stick with the Lamictal. I also have trouble finding the XR, and it takes my pharmacy a week to get it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edie55 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/23/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is extremely useful for someone who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. As a former anoretic, I am worried about drugs for bipolar symptoms that might make me gain weight (many of them list this as a primary side effect). I have not only not gained any weight, but this drug has helped me achieve a healthy, active lifestyle. In other words, this drug works. I don't take anything else for a diagnosed anxiety disorder and/or possibly bipolar disorder (it runs in my family and I definitely show symptoms). I would highly recommend this drug because it has few, if any, side effects. The only trouble is your doctor will have to start at a low dose because sometimes people have allergic/fatal recations. So be patient! While at first you may not notice a difference, if your body tolerates it, your doctor can gradually work up to a therapeutic dose. This drug helps tremendously!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More