Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

44 People found this comment helpful

I am a chronic pain suffer for over 20 years. Last 5 yrs spent taking oxycontin,percocet & lortab on top of celebrex. I have had 9 surgeries in 12 years and my pain is from arthritis and true nerve damage in my neck and low spine. This drug is doing wonders for my pain. I am starting on the 50mg 6x a day like everyone else. Today is a month of treatment and I have noticed far less pain. I guess...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

No na usea from morp hine. Befo re the DE A ca me in in 09 I was on it. Couldn't walk stra ight. Took about a min to grab a door kno b. At M cD onald's. I got k etchu p, and my fingers t witched into it. It's good for the pr ofil e b aby. No sl eep, no eati ng; they were ca lling me Mi chael j fo x around the office. I wa nt thi s so bad. I don't want di lau did; I wa nt this med. It ma kes me loo...

Shared reviews and ratings

Laura Mercado | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never had more side effects with any other medication. I ended up in the ER, I'll get into that later. -Causes change in vision. Blurry vision, I can't even read off my phone. Can't focus my eyes and they feel strained all the time. Causes this 'psychedelic effect' where things look like it's moving with slight colors. -Chest pain. Scary. I went to the ER it was that bad. I'm the type who won't go unless something truly feels wrong. It met all the symptoms of a heart attack but my EKG showed nothing. They did give me medication to slow my heart rate which was 150 bpm when I came in. (Read below for a case where a patient took just one dose and had heart issues.) -I felt my heart painfully pounding, tightness in my chest, fast heart rate, and low blood pressure. -Inability to concentrate, poor memory. I found myself forgetting what I was talking about mid sentence, unbelievable. -Very dizzy, feels like the room is spinning. You almost feel drunk. You're uncoordinated and feel like you could fall or faint any second. -Depressed breathing, I notice my breathing would often depress. -Small hallucinations. I could have sworn I saw a red bug crawing up my arm but it was just my birthmark and I was hallucinating! I've NEVER hallucinated before in my life. -Sweating. Your palms get really sweaty and you're more sensitive to heat and cold. -Restlessness. Hard time falling asleep. -Skin on my hands and feet started turning blue. -Anxiety and depression. I usually have slight anxiety but not to this degree. It made me depressed even though I've never been before. -Bladder pain and urinary pain (I believe due to the coating on these pills made to prevent people from misusing it.) -Sensation of heaviness in limbs -Trouble swallowing. It's like my muscles used for swallowing forgot how to work for a second. -Constipation. Common for opiates, but this was far worse. -Indegestion. Heart burn and you can feel a burning feeling in the chest. -Low energyRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickey | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/9/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not relieve my fibromyalgia pain nor my osteoarthritis pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fed-up | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does zero for pain, better diet pill as the side effects gives you sick stomach and constipation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pham | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently started taking Nucynta 100 mg extended release once every 12 hours, it's been 5 days now. It's easy to take, just swallow a pill. Sadly, it barely does anything for my nerve and muscle pains. After the first three days I doubled my intake to 2 pills every 12 hours and hardly any difference. I have a lower peripheral neuropathy, radiculopathy, CRPS type condition that severely effects mobility of both legs and feet. Similar to diabetic nerve pain, but I'm not diabetic, nor do I have any tumors or any kind of disease. I've been taking pain medications for about 3 years everyday. I've tried 10 mg Norco, 30 mg Morphine, 5 mg Methadone, 20 mg Buprenorphine patches and 5 mg sublingual. The only medication that seems to work with the least amount of side effects is Percocet 10-325 mg. In the 5 days I've been taking Nucynta I've had no side effects, no drowsiness, upset stomach, dizziness, sweating, nausea, sense of feeling high or weird dreams. I might as well have taken a sugar tablet. Methadone was actually okay at pain relief, but it made me clamy and sweaty and stinky like bad BO. Morphine makes me feel heavy and sleepy and isn't very affective unless I take 60 mg per dose. Norco makes me sweat profusely during all hours, it's gross. Buprenorphine patches did nothing, sublingual made me nauseous for a solid 6 hours. Percocet at 3-4 pills every 24 hrs only gives me a little bit of night sweats while sleeping and can give me funky fun dreams (never nightmares, usually lucid), which I can deal with, so it seems to be the medication I always fall back onto after every other one I try seems to fail. Biggest downside is it doesn't last very long (4 hours) so my usage and tolerance increases. The alternative is to try a neuro stimulator, which I'm extremely skeptical of for being effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L2 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cluster headaches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/20/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a severe intractable pain condition called Central Pain Syndrome. Opioids are the only effective pain medication and provide limited relief. I took Oxycodone for a couple of years and it had limited effectiveness for quick acting control. I take the ER version and it works ok. I did pharmacological DNA testing and indicated poor absorption of most of the heavier opioids. Nucynta on the other hand was an exceptional fit. Itâ??s a game changer and offers me quality of life again. I have no side effects, although Iâ??ve never felt the â??euphoricâ? effect with any opioid regardless of strength. I still take long acting OxyContin and the combination has been great. I should probably have a higher dose at times but overall am happy where Iâ??m at. I recommend the DNA testing to anyone. Makes a huge difference when it matches you. For me, Nucynta is probably 5-10x stronger than Oxycodone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Landrenk | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/15/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for a little over 9 years. 75mg 4X a day. The efficacy has not been reduced and I find it to not be habit forming (Some days I do not take the full dosage if the pain is tolerable). That fact makes this medication a big plus. The only side effect I have is mild constipation but it outweighs the benefits of being pain free most of the day. The only other negative is it is very expensive. I pay about $7.50 a pill until my deductible is met. Again, worth not having the extreme low back pain and not being able to move around freely. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KT12346 | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/27/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had back issues since I was 19. I am now 37, having had two back surgeries due to two severe bulging discs. I now have degenerate disc disease and also scar tissue pressing on my sciatic nerve. My whole lower lumber spine from the L1 -S1 needs to be fused together as they are disintegrating. I have tried so many different opiate medications. I took percocet for 12 years. So as my tolerance grew my doctor suggested Nucynta IR. It doesn't give me the "high" like percocet does. The only draw back is that for the first few days I tried it I had a wicked headache and other symptoms. After a few days of regular use they went away. This medication has helped me deal with my chronic pain and help me have a normal life again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jn | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first took this after sinus surgery. It worked very well. Several years later I had shoulder surgery and Dr did not give me a nerve block. In post op I had excruciating pain and nothing they gave me would make the pain go away. Went home and took one 50 mg tablet of Nucynya and the pain went away within 30 minutes. Unbelievable. Am now taking it for recooperation from tendonotomy surgery I had yesterday. This drug works great for me whereas percoset and other pain meds dont work at all. If you have issues with other pain meds, this one may work great but make sure you don't take with 5htp or other SSRI medications. I did that last time and had quite a bit of drowsiness and a bit of confusion until I reread information and discovered that the 5htp was contraindicated with it. Once I stopped the 5htp, i was fine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dimples | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/25/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if there are so many people with such bad reviews why have you not reported to the FDA. I put in a complaint and asked them how many people complaining and FDA said on 5 people complained about drug. Come on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dimples | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/24/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

an absolute disaster I was told non addictive and so many side effects. When I tried to come off it I nearly lost my mind and was complatating suicide should not be given to anybody very dangerous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BreakingGood | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/22/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s a poison. Hallucinations, retching, confusion, NO PAIN RELIEF. I felt bad for the poor animals they tested this on and their “emesis events” (vomiting). I called my doctor at 5:00 A.M. and he picked up!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gigi | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on 50mg every 12hrs for a week. My doctor switched me from oxy to this to see if it would help me with my back pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timothy neil | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/25/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have a plate in my neck and this drug is the only thing that keeps the pain away...I take 100 to 300mg daily as needed, often none at all...anymore than 100mg and your staying home for the day. It takes about 2 hours to become fully active so I will lay on ice bags, it has been very effective. I have been using taking it for 2 years with no signs or feeling of addiction and it is a very strong narcotic.The drug does not make me drowsy rather the opposite. I sleep for short periods rather than normal hours but that may have more to do with the pain and getting comfortable. The biggest drawback to using this medication is the price......about $8 per 100 mg.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
birdface | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hallucinations, near death experience, confusion, uncontrolled movements and jerking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switch from Norco to Nucynta mainly because doctors are trying to decrease opioid use. It has been terrible for me. I have started to have Bile duct spasms, a cough, dry mouth, restless legs double from my normal. This has made my ME/CFS even worse. Hopefully I can get my doc. to put me back on the Norco I can't make it with this horrid drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katznhat | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Nucynta,100 mg,ER,1 tab every 12 hours,for Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy-Chronic Regional Pain Syndrome of entire right leg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2017
Condition: Diabetic Complication causing Injury to some Body Nerves
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a month of use, 100mg., it like other pain meds caused my feet and legs to swell and made my breathing labored. It took 2 days for my body to eliminate all the water and swelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HokieCate | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/14/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this for breakthrough pain and at first it made me really high then it constipated me more than I've ever been and I've been on every kind of Narcotic you can think of since 1987, from Tylenol3's up to Morphine ER, Fentynl and beyond. But this stuff is different because they try to sell it as a non narcotic when it is a narcotic., if you were just put on it, I very highly recommend you ask for a prescription laxative or get something like Miralax don't get anything with a stimulant because you're going to have to take it the whole time you're on the meds. Pain-wise Nucynta didn't do a very good job at first and it was a fortune to fill, once I finally got my doctor and insurance together they approved it the price went way down. But it really didn't work very well and once I had been taking Nucynta for a while the breakthrough pain in my leg with RSD just got worse and my Trigeminal Neuralgia got worse so my doc doubled the dose and it doped me up with my gabapentin what ended it for be was about 3 years in I started feeling zingy, or speedy and I told a doctor that I thought it's the Nuycnta and he picked up the phone and called the head pharmacist of the hospital I was at, trust me on this hospital, it's one of the Really Biggies, anyway the pharmacist agreed with me that it can make people feel like that, and with that I threw my pill bottle away and said I want this taken off my list as a every 4-6 hrs add as as needed never took it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More