Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I appear to go out 1/2 hr after taking the medication and sleeping for 7hours without interruption. Amazing but I question if it's normal to just pass out like that. I of course feel great to sleep so well. The mind totally shuts down, no thinking about tomorrow or what I need to do for the next week. I'm just out until morning. What a gift for now. The major concern is memory does it ...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

well guys the white pill version is a generic of a generic... i had the yellow orange pills those work great i can tak a half of a one and got to sleep.. theses whit one dont do me anything.. oh i have to gotten up in the middle of the night with no recalation of doing things.. one time i turne our water heater on to vacation hec i dont know how to do that normarlly .. another i left biscuit cooki...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jerrell | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Naturally since this pill helps you sleep and it does but the bottom line is that it’s a downer. Meaning it has a far more reaching affect than you might realize. My normal disposition is usually a good mood and I initiated conversation but I after a couple two three weeks I begin to realize I felt down and not happy about nothing and would set all evening and hardly two words to my wife. At first I couldn’t put my finger on my problem till it dawned on me about this medication I was taking, so I quit and I’m back to my old self. For me, it’s wasn’t worth the down side affect, just saying.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2019
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
USAFWEATHR | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2018
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a male, 69.5 years old and to be honest, this is my first night to take a 5 MG ZOLPIDEM tablit. I had been taking Temazepam, 15 MG. My first night wasn't well at all. I tool my 5 MG dose at 9:30 PM. I woke up at 12:30 AM. I took a second tablet and woke up again at 4:00 AM. With each dose, I supplemented it with a 50 MG DIPHENHYDRAMINE. This is how my doctor prescribed my new treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dusty | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2017
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have always had issues staying asleep longer than a couple hours at a time, so after trying trazodone (with painful sexual side effects), my doctor prescribed zolpidem ER. I have never slept better! Working for the railroad my sleep schedule is never consistent...morning, night, afternoons...but with this medication I could get the sleep I needed to safely perform my job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vic | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/17/2016
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great, fall asleep, sleep 4 hours go to bathroom, back to bed to sleep. Wake up early and refreshed. No drugged down felling at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gloria | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2015
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It takes several hours to make me sleepy. I sleep for 7 hours without waking but am extremly drowsy for several hours after I wake. I also have a headache all day long. I hope to switch to another medication soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nana | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/27/2015
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I shop online, have phone conversations and other stuff and have no memory of doing any of these things, or memory of conversations.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/28/2013
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would wake up and do things, have conversations, clean house, exercise, shop online, etc. and not remember the next day. Slept through a fire alarm at a Boston hotel where they evacuated everyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/25/2013
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sleep 11 hours and groggy upon waking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie Caire | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2011
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from insomnia for many years and been on all sorts of prescription sleeping aids from one time to another. Yes, they do lose effectiveness when taken every night for long periods of time and you need to either cut back or change. My current 'problem' I am experiencing is that I have been taking the "brand" Ambien CR (12.5 mg.) for about 4 months now- with GREAT results!! Recently they came out with a "generic" version of this and when I got it first filled my pharmacist told me that if this doesn't work as well as the brand- come back and have the brand filled. This was 'odd' to me because I have been a 'believer' of generic medications, and have been told many times from my doctors and pharmisists over the years that they work just as well- for a lot less money. This was the first time I had heard this from (any) pharmacist say anything about the 'generic' not working as well. I did fill the generic- and without letting my brain 'think' it's not going to work' - and took them with an 'open' mind just as I took the brand ones. I did indeed notice (by journaling every morning) that indeed they do NOT work for me as well as the 'brand' ones. I have trouble falling and staying asleep, which I never had before. I just got my second month filled (generic again- just in case) and I am still having the same problems. My pharmacist told me that since the generics were so new to the market- no one has really had a chance to 'give feedback' or 'reviews' to him. I wonder if anyone else who had switched to the generic found some issues with it as I do? Thanks for any input here. WE all know how important sleep is for our overall health and well being. Thank you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deranged | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/1/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

well guys the white pill version is a generic of a generic... i had the yellow orange pills those work great i can tak a half of a one and got to sleep.. theses whit one dont do me anything.. oh i have to gotten up in the middle of the night with no recalation of doing things.. one time i turne our water heater on to vacation hec i dont know how to do that normarlly .. another i left biscuit cooking in the oven at 150 degrees good thing.. they would of burt the house down lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thomasfps | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/28/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried all the other name brands and this one works the best. It doesn't give me the feeling that I'm drugged when i wake up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
needheipsleeping | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/14/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Without Zolpidem, I have 36 to 64 hour days. The only problem is when my body gets use to it and I have a few 28 to 32 hour days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this mediction to sleep. Within 15 minutes I pass out. I use the term "pass out" bacause I have no memory of when I fell asleep. My husband found me eating in the kitchen at 1:00am and I have no memory of that. I used the microwave to reheat left overs, made a plate and took it into my bed to eat. I would never eat in bed normally. My husband said I answered questions appropriately, however, I was very distant. We also were questioning why the candy bowel was nearly empty in the morning (I place out a bowel for guest). I assume I was eating at other times as well. I have no memory of eating in the middle of the night, however, I was gaining weight. Another reviewer talked about her night mares. I had exactly the same reation of seeing my bedroom, knowing I was in bed, but I could not comunication with anyone. I also thought I was screaming, however, my husband assured me this did not happen... he never heard me sreaming. This medication does let you sleep but I will not take it more than 2-3 times a week. Following this dosage I seem to not have any problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Douglas | 55-64 | Male | Patient
10/6/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Ambien (Generic = Zolpidem) for years. It works very well for insomnia, but for a limited time. After a few weeks of consistent use (every night), I tend to "tolerate" the drug and it does not make me sleep. It continues to be effective if I only use it 2 or 3 times a week. More than that, it doesn't work too well. Also, I find that with prolonged use I have "night terrors." I dream (but it seems very, very real) that I am somehow mentally disabled. In this stupor (dream?), I can see, but clearly enough to recognize objects. I can hear family members, but they can't hear me. I can't communicate with them in this "nightmare." I scream but no one hears me. I also have the sensation that I've been going places without realizing it - night sleep walking, but more like "driving while asleep" and vaugely remembering it, not knowing where I went. It is terrifying. When I stop the Zolpidem for a couple of days, these terrifying symptoms disappear. They recur, however, if I begin taking Zolpidem and continue it more than a week or so. It does seem to affect short term memory, especially immediately after taking a dose. Example: I may take a dose at 9 PM. At 9:30, I may say or do something that I totally can't remember the next morning, like a phone call I took, etc. Caution: Never make decisions or sign documents, or anything important, while under the influence of Zolpidem! Driving should be avoided within 8 to 10 hours of taking this drug, whether or not you have slept. My recommendation: take this occasionally, but as infrequently as you can get by with. 1 to 3 times a week is OK. Every night for more than a week is questionable. Call your Dr. if you (or your family) notice any weird symptoms. The jury is still out on more serious, long term side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/21/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seems addictive. Doesn't last all night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2010
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I appear to go out 1/2 hr after taking the medication and sleeping for 7hours without interruption. Amazing but I question if it's normal to just pass out like that. I of course feel great to sleep so well. The mind totally shuts down, no thinking about tomorrow or what I need to do for the next week. I'm just out until morning. What a gift for now. The major concern is memory does it affect the memory during waking hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More