Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I have a history of dental decay but since using Clinpro 5000 on a daily basis (every evening before bed) I've had no new cavities. I also use this for tooth sensitivity and it works great (I can drink water with ice now!). The instructions are simple: brush, then expectorate (i.e. don't rinse your mouth out, which is what most of us should be doing anyway with whatever toothpaste we've been using...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I only used it once last night and am in total agreement that the direction is not good. I think I must have swallowed quite a bit of it even though I spit out a lot of saliva. I woke up with the worst heartburn in the middle of the night and felt like I was going to throw up. Then I passed out in the hallway for a minute or so after feeling dizzy in the bathroom. I almost woke up my husband to ta...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2022
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of following directions precisely, my lips began swelling, became very dry, and I was shedding flakes of skin from my lips. My primary care doctor took one look and said, "Type 4 hypersensitivy. Contact dermatitis." He said it will take about a month to clear up. Will tell dentist at next appointment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2019
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using this tooth paste daily for two weeks, I became extremely sensitive to hot/cold and sweet. After discontinuing the product, my teeth are back to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Duchess | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2018
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This toothpaste was prescribed to my 10 year old daughter. After a month of use--and her being very sick--we realized she has fluoride poisoning. We immediately stopped use, and she has recovered.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2018
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it once a day for just two days. Had negative effect on digestive tract and mouth broke out in cankers. Stopped using it. Other people use Clinpro without problems so I was just unlucky I suppose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/16/2018
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used it for 5 yrs or so and my dentist rarely finds decay anymore. Because of the high cost 22.00 for a tube, I use a pea sized amount along with the same size amount of regular toothpaste, brush and do not rinse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/3/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/2/2018
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One reviewer said Amazon is cheaper. Amazon sells Clinpro tooth creme not Clinpro 5000. Another reviewer said his dentist charged him $114. I just paid my dentist $11 in her office for Clinpro 5000. (Jan., 2018).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AgingGirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/2/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My teeth were fine until I hit my late 40's. Suddenly, I had soft enamel and in danger of developing cavities. My dentist gave me a sample during my first visit and I was shocked with how well it works. I also use MI Paste Plus overnight. It gets very expensive to pay the dentist for these two products, so ask for a script. The local drugstore is A LOT cheaper.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
truebill | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using this as directed, especially brushing and putting some of the paste between two teeth before going to bed, my mouth is burning and inflamed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Clinpro 5000 for about 6 mo. I had switched to a non-fluoride, all natural toothpaste over a year ago due to sensitivity or allergic reaction to other ingredients (mainly Xylitol and other sweeteners)found in most toothpastes. My dental hygienist was worried about cavities and suggested i try the Clinpro 5000. I have not experienced any detrimental side effects at all. Will know how well it is working after checkup next month. And i must have missed the part about not rinsing, but then again i would still rinse. I'm sure is still get a benefit from using it. You can purchase Clinpro 5000 on Amazon a lot cheaper than from your dental office!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amere | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/9/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Clinpro for many years about 8 or more. It's pretty solid i havn't had cavities in 4 years. I didn't know you were supposed to leave it in i usually just use it like regular tooth paste. Had very bad dental hygiene until age 21 and now take really good care of my teeth but just have weak enamal in general so that didn't help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ripdoff | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dentist charged me $114.00 for Clinpro 5000. Claimed it was prescription. Not going to that dentist again. Sleeping with fluoride toothpaste in your mouth is not a good idea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brittney | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dentist got me to try this after visiting them for a routine cleaning. I have tight teeth so i get those stupid white spots where you should be flossing... and lets face it, many of us don't floss everyday. after using it for a couple months i noticed they started to slowly go away and i have bad issues from previous dental work on the same tooth 5 times and it has caused me to intense pain when having hot and cold things. now since using this tooth paste it doesn't bother me any more and its almost gone. Saved me from getting a root canal since they didn't know what else to do about the pain. Seriously will never use any other tooth paste or whitening product!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2016
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried this toothpaste last night for the first time. I woke up this morning looking like someone punched me in the mouth. My lips and so swollen and tingly. I will NOT be using this for another application.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ABboxer | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2015
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get cavities often because of the weakness of my enamel, so I brush, floss, and use a fluoride rinse twice a day, every day. My dentist recommended I use Clinpro 5000 for its higher fluoride content. Two days after starting it, my mouth broke out in an extremely bad rash - pus, crusting, disgusting. For a month, I had no idea what was causing it and got tested for everything - herpes, impetigo, etc. Finally, my doctor settled on perioral dermatitis (literally inflammation of the skin around the mouth - not helpful!). I looked into the diagnosis, and one of the causes was fluoride toothpaste. Suddenly it clicked, and my rash was caused by the toothpaste. I discontinued it immediately and haven't had any problems since. Now I should tell you that as a child I had eczema, so my skin is rather sensitive and breaks out into allergic rashes very badly with things like poison ivy, etc., so I'm sure my allergic reaction was impacted by my sensitivity and will definitely not happen to everyone. But it's something to look out for!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ggstar | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/19/2015
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Clinpro 5000 is working for me. Using this product at bed time makes my teeth feel very clean. I have been doing good on my yearly check ups and cleanings. I wish I knew about this toothpaste earlier in my life. I am one of those people who just have bad teeth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jaye944 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

initially for sensitivity in teeth. started on once a day then now use it as regular toothpaste. morning I use as normal, at night I spit but dont rinse. Read some of the reviews. its not difficult ! With Any flouride toothpaste you DO NOT swallow. use a size of about a pea, brush gently, for a good 2 minutes. ALSO floss I had terribly bad sensitivity, now none, over past 2 years no caries AND I get a teeth cleaning every 4 months, THIS IS THE KEY !!!! a GREAT product, no side effects, does EXACTLY what it says it does.. BTW, in Canada its $15 a tube, WELL WORTH IT, from dentist or order from pharmacist, NOT OTC NOT FOR CHILDREN !!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/10/2014
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a history of dental decay but since using Clinpro 5000 on a daily basis (every evening before bed) I've had no new cavities. I also use this for tooth sensitivity and it works great (I can drink water with ice now!). The instructions are simple: brush, then expectorate (i.e. don't rinse your mouth out, which is what most of us should be doing anyway with whatever toothpaste we've been using...). I find the cost is acceptable: it's better than getting a cavity and then having to revisit that years later, and my teeth feel and look better. Great product. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toddus | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2014
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As read by some posters here, this product seems ok after 2 weeks but yes, it does cause tooth sensitivity to cold. Just in one tooth of mine but one is enough. Will discuss this with my dentist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carldini | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/22/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More