Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I began treatment for kidney cancer after having my left kidney remover. A spot then developed in my left lung. This was removed by sugery. Another spot developed in my right lung and was determined to be renal cell. I began taking voltrient 800 mg and after 5 mos and 2 wks this spot was gone. I stoped taking it for 3 mos and another spot occured. I have been back on voltrient for 6 mos and this t...

Shared reviews and ratings

mike | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/11/2020
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a radical left nephrectomy in 2007, stage 4 RCC. hae had various surgeries, and treatments. Started Votrient in 2008, at 200mg. . tumor reduced in size by 50%, then plateau, since then have inched up dosage as effect would become less effective. Finally at the max 800mg, coming off as tumor is growing again. 2 1/2 years on Votrient. Going to an immunotherapy next. . Since I've slowly progressed in dosage my symptoms are tolerable, and in no way the worst you have read here. Fatigue (cant do more than 1 hour of strenuous work (not actually that strenuous) ), then would become nauseous, ALL hair turned white, smell/taste reduced by about 80-90%. All in all totally worth it, gave me a pretty long respite away from immuno... now back to the big guns. . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willy Dysea | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/14/2019
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On Votrient since 2018 after Sutent. I bought the India package which the price is only 8% of US package. Results were good. After six months - no sign of metastasis and have been in remission since 2019. Votient had the effect of high blood pressure which was mitigated by Procardia. As of late, have lost weight and am having some digestive issues

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RobT | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2018
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Renal Cell Carcinoma in Dec. 2017, I had my left kidney, adrenal gland, and spleen removed in Jan. 2018. Lung scans showed enlarged lymph nodes, but when biopsied turned out they were Sarcoidosis with no malignancies. Due to the size of my tumor and itâ??s characteristics they started me on Votrient 600mg. Itâ??s been 2 months, I have some joint pain in my hips and knees, no diarrhea, some hair thinning. I go in for my 3 month Scan next week I pray for the best. Other side effects are a mediciney smell in my hands I notice sometimes. Overall Iâ??ve tolerated this drug well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2018
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a very poor experience. Could only tolerate 7 doses, and it is taking me several days to recover. Still haven't. Mouth sores, hypertension, diarrhea, muscle and joint pain, loss of taste.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stoop | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2017
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost constant pain, nausea, fatigue, bruising, gum and teeth problems, GI issues. I've been on for about 4 months and scans a month ago showed 25% shrinkage of all lymph nodes that were effected. So I guess it's working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rockcliff | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2016
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with renal cancer in December 2015 and had my right kidney removed in January 2016. My Oncologist had me undergo a CT scan every 2 months. In August 2016 tumors in my lungs and lymph nodes showed significant growth. A biopsy of several lymph nodes revealed renal cell cancer and I started taking 800 mg/day of Votrient in September. After 3 months, I just completed my first CT scan and virtually all of the tumors from the previous scan had reduced in size, some as much as 50%. I had difficulty adjusting to the Votrient initially as I take Prilosec for acid reflux and my Oncologist told me I could only take a dose in the morning if I take the Votrient at night. I have been able to control the acid reflux by drinking concentrated Aloe Vera juice before bed time and purchasing a mechanical bed that allows me to sleep very comfortably with my head up about 30 degrees. At one point my sodium got dangerously low and I was hospitalized for 3 days. They had me reduce my water intake to 1.5 liters per day and this seems to have solved the sodium problem. Now my biggest issue is neuropathy on the bottoms of my feet. New more comfortable shoes, Capsaicin cream, and Merino wool socks have helped solve the problem. My blood pressure increased initially, and I had never had blood pressure issues. However, I have been able to return to working out – core exercises with a lot of repetitions and moderate weights with many repetitions- 3 times a week. The result is that I am feeling stronger, have less fatigue, and my blood pressure has returned to normal. I am extremely pleased with the results I am experiencing with Votrient after my body became used to it and I made the concessions to reduce the side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/22/2014
Condition: Tumor of Soft/Connective Tissue that is Usually Malignant
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with leiomyosarcoma in Feb. 2012, a tumor in my right thigh. Had chemo therapy and 5 weeks of radiation then surgery in June 2012 to remove the tumor. A few months later I had a tumor removed from my right lung. Then more tumors showed up so no further surgeries. Now I have it in both lungs and liver. After 8 rounds of chemo I started on the Votrient March 2014. First CT scans were very encouraging, no new tumors, all were stable or had minimal decrease in size. The last scans were not as we hoped. Some had increased in size and a new one in my liver. I'm staying on the Votrient until Dec. then oncology is looking at changing to a new chemo oral drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lola | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been on VOTRIENT for 2 weeks now. The 1st day I experienced the diaherria, vomiting, dizziness, & fainting. started taking ZOPHRAN & CAMPOZINE for all that thank God. About 2 days ago I started getting soar mouth, redness on face, & taste buds out of whack food taste nasty but thats about it. Oh also hair is growing black and white normally dark brown. white hair growing curly and black hair growing super straight very odd. My skin is starting to go white again skin clearing up better. Im satisfied at the moment with VOTRIENT but wont know till I get CT Scan in few weeks. Oh Im taking Votrient bcuz I have UTERINE SARCOMA HIGH GRADE STAGE 4 what a mouth full huh. Anyway God bless all of you who are sick.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2014
Condition: Tumor of Soft/Connective Tissue that is Usually Malignant
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karyann | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
10/23/2013
Condition: Tumor of Soft/Connective Tissue that is Usually Malignant
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

some chest pain, tiredness, Memory loss, depression, hair color change, out of all side effects listed, there has been very minimum scans are still clear of all cancer.My daughter has been on this almost 10 mo. She was stage 4 when DX one year ago, with synovial sarcoma. She did 5 inpatient hosp. stays at 3 days every 3 wks. Then began Votrient. So far has had no real problems. She has done very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Azzie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Pazopanib since 05/11 after having Left kidney removed in 07/09. Due to side effects I came off it for 3 months 08-11/12 to give my body a rest. in this time my metastatic went from just my right lung also into left lung. So I went back to taking 800 mg a day. Both tumours are stable at present, I put up with the fatigue, diarhea, tingling fingers, sore mouth, & dryness. Pazopanib gives me a good quality of life where I can go away for many weeks at a time travelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colette | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently battleing mesenchymal chondrosarcoma. It originated in my right thigh 2008, had the tumor removed, was cancer free for 3 years then was diagnosed last year with it again, with 5 tumors this time which had spread in my pelvic area, right lung and right armpit (July 2012). I've tried a few chemo therapy treatments and during that time frame, the tumors grew plus one new one appeared. In August 2012 I was placed on Votrient (800 mg), the tumors stopped growing and have been stable ever since. My last scan was June 11, 2013 and all 6 tumors are still holding stable and have shown some shrinkage. The side effects come and go, I am experiencing more muscle pain throughout my body and still some nausea, but those things can be controlled with meds. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had my right kidney removed 4/2011 and started sutent 2months later for almost a year and experienced negative side effects with no positive results. Changed to Afinitor and experienced no improvements but consistant swelling in the legs. Feb 2013 started Votrient at 800mg. Changed to 400mg after experiencing swelling of the tongue and throat and have had possible results so far. Looking for this to be the answer with Gods blessing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
photographer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2012
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having my left kidney removed in Oct 2010, spots in the lung were addressed. Started drug Jan 2012, reduced spots in lung by March but stopped reducing by end of May. White hair, lose of hair, lose of taste, diarrhea, high blood pressure, were all side effects that were tolerable. The black spots in the vision were not. Since no further reduction to spots in the lungs, a switch to "Everolimus" is recommended. New side effects to look forward too!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EJS | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thank you, Glaxo-Smith Kline! After 7 days of taking Votrient, my tumors (soft-tissue sarcoma) have noticeably decreased in size. On April 26, 2012, the FDA officially approved Votrient for Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcomas. Knowing that FDA approval was imminent, I began taking Votrient on April 21, 2012, for Malignant Fibrous Histiocytoma in my left flank/retroperitoneal. I am a 22 year survivor of MFH sarcoma (now known as UPS), and had been on traditional chemotherapy for 8 years. I had success with ifosfamide/adriamycin, and gemzar/taxotere. But, my tumors mutated to grow resistant to those chemos. I have no surgical or radiation options. VOTRIENT looks like it will prolong my life! My doctor had given me 6 months, unless I could find a drug that would work. I tried two clinical trials. And, now VOTRIENT! Compared to anything I have taken, Votrient has few side-effects. I had a slight increase in blood pressure (that started on Day One). I may have a little fatigue. I couldn't tell you if my hair color is changing -- I have been bald for 8 years. If I have any new side-effects or changes, I will report again. Thank you, GSK and FDA (for fast-tracking the approval). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gdm | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/23/2012
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i think it has kept me alive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/29/2012
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Votrient over a year. It has worked quite well on the soft tissue tumors, keeping them stable or shrinking, but not as well on the bone mets. Diarrhea did not become a problem until after the first six months. Other than hair color change, no other side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tractor | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/21/2011
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/31/2011
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began treatment for kidney cancer after having my left kidney remover. A spot then developed in my left lung. This was removed by sugery. Another spot developed in my right lung and was determined to be renal cell. I began taking voltrient 800 mg and after 5 mos and 2 wks this spot was gone. I stoped taking it for 3 mos and another spot occured. I have been back on voltrient for 6 mos and this tumor has reduced by 50%. Side effects have been almost constant diarrhea and some nausa. My hair has turned white and I have noticed some thinning. d Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/19/2011
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having my left kidney removed and the failure of interleukin 2 treatments, my oncologist started me on votrient. 800 mg caused terrible hand pain and bruising, switched to a tolerable 600mg and have had shrinkage of the metastatic lung growths so far. 7 months so far on it and side effects include fairly constant diarrhea and all my hair turned white. Also have to take several relatively high dose blood pressure meds to combat the elevated blood pressure side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More