Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

Well, I used to suffer from really really bad GERD and I got onto several drugs that didn't work too well. But then, I tried Prevacid. I take 30 mgs per day every morning. Bye bye GERD. Best pill for gerd. Generic works just as well as brand! Go for it if you have GERD!

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

only moderatly effective

Shared reviews and ratings

Glo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2018
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Ulcer of the Duodenum
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So thankful!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
don thave 1 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/29/2013
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ithelpsrealwell

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HOTRODSTEVEN | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2013
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I WAS RECOMENDED BY THE RX TO USE THIS PRODUCT AND IT HAS NOT HELPED ME EXCEPT TO WASTE MY MONEY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/24/2012
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just had an EGD done and was using Prevacid for over a year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The muscle that closes off the stomach acids does not close all the way. Prevacid prevents this acid from rising up into my throat and choking, especially at night when resting. I am currently out and will not sleep well tonight as I can't find it on the shelves anywhere and the Ins. I have will not pay for the 30 Mg. that I used to have a prescription for. Find something that works and it can't be found. What's with this kind of society?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
honeybee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2012
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe acid reflux and have used prevacid for 6 mo. I was using aciphex previously and kept having urinary tract infections and decided to switch to prevacid. Urinary tract inf. have decreased considerably. Since I've started prevacid I notice I have any ichy scalp that is very irritating. Has anyone else had this problem? I also have a slight shortness of breath, but it was worse when I took aciphex.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2012
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prevacid worked great for my persisent heartburn. I had been using Zantac that I would then still have heartburn occur if I ate/drank tomato based foods or caffeine products. I had used Prevacid earlier in 2011 for the 14 day regimen as stated on the package. However when back on the Zantac I again started experiencing heartburn on a daily basis again. From the ads on TV which encourage daily use of Prevacid, I once again started Prevacid and had used for 2 1/2 months. No problems - great to have not have to worry about what I ate or drank. Then 12/26/2011 I began having massive diarrhea. (stopped Prevacid) To shorten the story, 1 ER visit for dehydration, later 3 days in the hospital for dehydration and a diagnosis of collagenous colitis I CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS DRUG FOR ANYONE! And now the cost of the med (even the generic) for this type of colitis is so high, I have had to go to Canada in order to be able to afford it. And I do have prescription coverage. Please use caution with Prevacid. This colitis is not worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2012
Condition: Stomach Ulcer from Aspirin or Ibuprofen-Like Drugs
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found no relief and have taken it daily for almost 2 weeks, in fact I am getting worse. I am going to try gaviscon as I hear it has good reviews and was recommended by my sister.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2012
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jbmiller | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/10/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works great for preventing acid reflux and preventing the acid from entering my lungs however I experience severe gas. And it's not pleasant gas either. I am talking clearing the room kind of gas. It is not very pleasant when your a woman! I need the medication though as nothing else works. So I am stuck with the stink.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jerems29 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/23/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, I used to suffer from really really bad GERD and I got onto several drugs that didn't work too well. But then, I tried Prevacid. I take 30 mgs per day every morning. Bye bye GERD. Best pill for gerd. Generic works just as well as brand! Go for it if you have GERD!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2011
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this OTC medication for over a month now. It relieves stomach discomfort but w/ unpleasant side effect of anal irritation, itching and swelling. Previously used prescription pantoprazole (till HMO upped my copay through the roof)w/ no ill side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/1/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
osutton1 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/5/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2010
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Protonix, Nexium, Prilosec,Acephix. All gave me extreme diarrhea and some stomach pain. I switched to Prevacid 2 weeks ago, and it does not cause those side effects. I like it very much. Tagament, & Zantac did not work for me for very long. Diagnosed with GERD 8 or 9 years ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i think it works fine, i am using prilosec and i have too many side effects , mike good luck to all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whiteoak | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/4/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking the generic version of Prilosec for 3 years. It just didn't do the job. I tried taking two pills a day but it didn't work all the time. I had used prevacid for many years until my prescription coverage said they would not pay for it anymore. My doc got prior approval and now I don't have the heartburn 99% of the time...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only moderatly effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marnie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prevacid has helped the severe pain from acid reflux, omeprazole did not. I can occasionaly tolerate acid forming foods with Prevacid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vegas | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking the generic version of Prilosec for many years. In February, it just stopped working. I tried taking two pills a day but to no avail. My pharmacist suggested trying Prevacid. I didn't feel relief until day 10. I feel fine now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More