Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

Been using Victoza for several months now. Very good results. Unfortunatley I have been recently diagnosed with medullary thyroid cancer. My doctor said there may be a link to Victoza usage. Not good.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

haven't tried it

Shared reviews and ratings

lmthart | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had excellent results- A1C down to 5.6 from 7.0. Unfortunately, my insurance no longer will pay for this medication. Please help, anyone else having this happen? What medication are you taking now and how is it effecting your A1C? Thanks for your help!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindy120560 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/29/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on this medication in June of last year. First several months were horrible. Nausea was terrible but I stuck it out. My most recent labs were excellent. Hgb A1C was 4.5 all other labs were in good range and I have lost 82 pounds to date. I would highly recommend this if you can stick out the beginning. My starting A1C was 12.8 and my weight was 233.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miss Nick | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I loved Victoza. It helped with hungry control too. Unfortunately my insurance won’t cover it and I can’t pay over $600/month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No sugar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was told to start at .6 for two weeks. Started at .3 to check for allergies. That has made me so sick and nauseated I am going back to .1 and will try to work up to a decent size dose,but its going to take a while. Injecting was way less painful than testing blood sugar

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems to have caused insomnia and can't get to sleep before 4am

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosered | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/26/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taking 1.2 dose of victoza for a year now, I was taking junuvia but it didn't do nothing for me and metforim gave me a severe diarrhea so my dr. switched me to lantus and victoza I'm very happy with the victoza I've had no side effects and I've lost 53 pounds in the last year

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kentucky | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/26/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was totally satisfied while taking Victoza. My A1c was staying around 6.1. It also kept my weight down. Unfortunately after 2 years it had caused my Liver Function levels to elevate and go out of range and I had to come off of it. It is very sad and stressful since now I have to try something new.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandybe | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 2 months at the 1.2 dose. I have not had any side effects at all. I have lost weight and my numbers are good. I can't wait to find out what my A1C is!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lzimmer444 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diabetic for 23 years and in insulin with oral medications to. Gained weight constantly unable to lose. Than, on Nov 2015 I was taken off insulin because of extreme low blood sugars. Continue with ActosPlusMetormin 3 X day, highest dose. Tuesday June 21,2016 decrease to 2 pills a day getting lower blood sugar Just taking Victoza since May 2014 it had help to achieve coming off insulin and losing 70 pounds I am so happy with the results using Victoza, hadn't known about not injecting my 2 X day and now no insulin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MarieQC | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/7/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with polycystic ovarian syndrome (POS) years ago. Last year, I was referred to a doctor that specializes in this disease; at the time I first met him, I weighed a whopping 387 pounds (I’m 5’10’’). Of course, the first thing he told me was that my POS would get better if I lost weight. I was totally discouraged! I told him that I was very active and had been on EVERY diet… nothing seemed to work. I was so frustrated and asked if there was anything he could do to jump start my weight loss from a medical stand point. This is when he told me about Victoza and about the study that demonstrated that individuals suffering from POS, not from Type 2 diabetes had lost weight on this medication but there were some serious side effects to consider. I was so desperate that after reading on the matter for a few days, I decided to try it out. The first months were pretty horrible because I had severe nausea and vomiting (in the morning upon waking I would throw up stomach acid – I know erk!) but I decided to continue. The reason I kept up with it is that, for the first time in my life, I could sense that I was full when I ate. For some reason, this message was not making its way up to my brain when I ate before… I thought it was awesome. The medication no only killed every craving I normally had but it stopped me from overeating. I have been on Victoza for one year now. The side effects are no longer there (they stopped after about 6 months after starting Victoza) and I now weigh 276 pounds… yes I lost over 100 pounds. I am continuing to lose weight and wish you all the best. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patient in distress | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acute pancreatic reaction with non-stop vomiting and diarrhea..taking over 24 hours to recover

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monique | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on 0.6 a week and worked my way up to 1.8 a week. I haven't had any bad side effects with this medication. No nausea, no sickness. I did have a slight headache the very first week I started. It hasn't help me lose any weight but it has kept my blood sugar under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
forsooth | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on 4 oral medications for my diabetes, and after several years of good control, my numbers started to increase. Started Victoza and even before moving up to 1.28 dose, my numbers immediately dropped about 30 pts,and I lost about 7 lbs in first week. Only side effects were some minor nausea, and a couple days of diarrhea,but both passed after a week or so. The sugar control remains good (averaging about 110) but unfortunately the weight loss stopped. The dosages for my oral medications have dropped, and some may be eliminated. My medicare advantage plan only provides partial coverage (tier II drug)but the drug is worth it. Of course, I hope I never develop the more serious long-term side effects, but the long-term side effects of uncontrolled diabetes are pretty bad also. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms Spyder | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want to thank God for my Dr. Iam pre diabeta, been on Victoza for 9 days loss 9lbs. I could not lose any weight.The only side affect, I am never hungry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DiabeCLF22 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello. I heard some great things about victoza and some really bad things so I decided to try it out and hope for the best. Sad to say that I simply couldn't stand all the side effects that I encountered while on it. I felt like I was in a daze all the time and the nausea was really bad. I completely lost my appetite and after a week I started to throw up multiple times a day. I decided to stop because it simply made me sick to my stomach. I did some research on the internet to try and find something over the counter without side effects. I found this supplement called cinnalife which so far has been amazing for me. My A1C has significantly dropped which i'm sure is a large part due to the energy that this supplement gives me. I have been very active since I started taking them. Anyways, just wanted to share that there are always alternatives to these injectables with these horrible side effects. I have heard that there are some new injectables out in the market, but I'm simply too scared to try them =(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jimbo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not sure if I have to eat before or after I give my injection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taken victoza for a lil over 2 months now and i have lost 22lbs my a1 is where it needs to be and my sugar levels are in a good rage the only down side to me using this is i have sever joint pain from head to toe about once a week or once every 2 weeks im not sure if anyone has this same problem or not but i really do not like it at all i have to stay in bed all day and it hurts so bad if someone touches me or i have to move other than that it works great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/12/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For those who cannot afford Victoza, go to Victoza website and get coupon to never pay more than $25. That's what I did'

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/12/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Victoza did help decrease my blood sugar numbers nadmy A1C, but I had a massive amount of side effects that I didn't know was being increased by the Victoza because the Victoza was started around the same time that I was also having gallbladder issues, and had a gall stone. After my gallbladder removal I remained sick with the same symptoms I had prior to it of: heartburn, nausea, vomiting, epigastric pain, severe foul smelling belching, and gas. This continued for some time, and my doctor decided to remove me off my Victoza because my diabetes #'s, and A1C were getting to a level of satisfaction for her. I remained off my Victoza for about a month, and my blood sugar numbers began to gradually creep up again, so my doctor decided to put me back on it. I had finally became free of the side effects listed above, but still not relating them to the Victoza. Then my wife, who is a RN said the she was getting ready to give me a Victoza injection, and wanted me to let her know if any of the symptoms that I'd had for so long returned. Within 30 mins of receiving the Victoza injection I again started having foul smelling belching, gas, and began vomiting profusely. Victoza is an awesome drug, and does what it's suppose to do. I'd recommend it to anyone who is able to take it, but if you have anything weird start happening within your body once you start taking it, you can bet money that the Victoza Will be what's causing it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
6/1/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't even start taking this! I took Victoza for ten months. I feel like I have lost ten months of my life. It started with diarrhia, vomiting. I just felt yuck all day. then the hives started. I've gone to the hospital four times in ten months. That doesn't even include hives that didn't send me to the ER. So everyday feeling not great, the last trip to the ER was in a ambulance because the reaction caused me to pass out. I lost a little weight, but when you are always nausea and diarrhea and vomiting, of course you will loose weight. I feel like I was a guinia pig with this drug. Just stay away from it, it was life changing. After not taking it for three weeks now, I feel so much better. Not even a stomach ache!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More