Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

My doctor puprescibed Nexium for my a couple of years ago, great, no side effects. This year my insurance company decided I needed to change to dexilant to be less expensive. After 4 months, I developed chronic diarrhea...daily since May 30! Six weeks, five doctors, weight loss to 98 pounds, trip to the hospital, and a doctor finally told me to stop the dexilant! Day 6 being off this horrid dr...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

took this for a week and did nothing at all. didn't even put a dent in my acid reflex. each day i took it my reflex just got worse . seem's all doctor's wanna do these day's is push pill's and not fix the problem's people like myself and other's have.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mary | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I when I started on dexilant , I noticed the burning in my chest got better. After about a week, I got a sickening pain around my rib cage on the left side. Heart problems were ruled out. I also had a gnawing hunger feeling that was very uncomfortable. Lady, I felt crazy with extreme anxiety and irritability. That is not like me at all. I quit taking it 3 days ago and find that these side effects are diminishing, thank goodness. I’ll go back to Nexium or Protonix in a few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ted | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2021
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking Dexilant to solve my issue of too much acid production in my stomach causing acid reflux. I don’t like taking any type of medication (synthetic) but much prefer more natural approaches. I’ll see how this works for a little longer but will never just continue to take this medication when I could just eat a pickle (vinegar being the essential ingredient here) to get rid or dilute the acid production. As yet I’m not ready to go one way or the other on this because I’ve not been taking it too long. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ang | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2020
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well for my GERD and only need to take it every 24 hours not like Other PPIs where I was taking twice a day. I’ve had horrible diarrhea so bad that I’m now suffering from hemorrhoids. So I’m am no longer taking this medication- side effects are not worth the pain in my rear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Dexilant for 3 months once daily. Have erosive esophagitis. Yes Dexilant helped with acid backing up but tried to take it every other day and on second day of not taking had bad acid in throat with terrible dryness and burning. Also developed canker sore on tongue that night. Actually had to take pill that night late to help with symptoms. Been diagnosed with anxiety and depression (PTSD) but never connected to Dexilant until reading several of these reviews. Will discuss with doctor next week. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoThanks | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for about a month and the GAS is horrible and the extended belly is that of pregnancy of 4 or 6 months. It has made my symptoms much worst. I have noticed more head aches and joint pain...i don't think its just because I am getting older...i connect it to this medicine. I see that the insurance company is dictating what I can take, this is what they approve...Nexium has worked before and I am going back to that. I will be in charge of my own body...I have gained 10 pounds, I guess cause the food I eat is still sitting in my system turning into FAT. I am going back to generic Nexium since my insurance does not want to cover it I rate this medicine with a 0 rating.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmyPhil | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/29/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ihave been taking dexilant 60 mg for 8 months. I have noticed the dizziness or light headed symptom. But in the 8 months over gained 22 lbs. My theory is that the dexilant is turning off to much stomach acid and is causing food to sit inside longer and digest slower. The medication is better than nothing but 22 lbs is a lot, it's a new wardrobe, ashamed to show myself in public (this is NOT who I am), and wondering if it's worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TwinsMom | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine is awesome! Expensive but it works! I havenâ??t experienced all of the side effects mentioned except for 1-very hungry at night. Iâ??d rather experience that than the other symptoms I had before taking it. I had a really bad, chronic cough for months, nothing worked. I had an endoscopy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MN | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Dexilant years ago and was amazed at how well it worked on my acid reflux which would wake me up with violent vomiting sometimes during the night. I came off for a few years and recently went back on due to stress induced acid reflux issues. This time my muscles have started cramping severely and my leg/ joints knee to ankle are swollen. Went to the ER thinking it was a blood clot but that was negative. Symptoms have continued to get worse with pains in my other leg, arms and back. No one knows why, so we are assuming it is the Dexilant and I am discontinuing use. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for about a month and half and have had a lot of the symptoms people are talking about, but the one I had and did not associate with the drug was not being able to think of a word or mixing up words! I have been off it about 4 days and still have symptoms and hopefully they go away! I have had the pain under my ribs and at night my lower abdomen feels like itâ??s burning! I know all this sounds crazy but now I KNOW it is the medicine! Going to do homeopathic remedies and see if I can control it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Resilience | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this medecine for 7 days. On my 5th day, I experienced an episode of confusion which then led me to have a panic attack. Uncertain of what caused this, i continued taking the medicine, until I realized that my level of confusion was more apparent, I became sensitive to noise, I felt extremely anxious (enough to go and visit my family doctor) - got prescribed medicine for my anxiousness (which I have never had before), and now Iâ??m 4 days off of it, and still feel anxious, exhausted, brain fog, confused, memory is not the best, and I got a cold two days after stopping dexilant. Never has this happened to me from taking a medicine. I would not recommend this to anyone - the side effects are horrible and not worth going through. Our mental health is scared and fragile, and this is just not worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fed Up | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2019
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Dexilant for about two months I had diarrhea found it hard to eat anything I always felt full. Lost 20lbs and went to the emergency room once for dehydration and then once for low blood sugar. I am off it for a acid test and 12h later I am already feeling better. If you feel you have a "full" stomach on this stuff I would talk to you doctor immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mohammed Daud | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 81 year old male, had acid reflux for long time, recently GI doctor prescribed Dexilant 60mg for me, took it for 10 days, developed nervousness, chest tightness, dizziness, confusion and extreme hunger, sometime during midnight, I went back to Nexium 40mg. I am glad to read the comments of other users, very valuable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cairnsjenn | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/31/2019
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been aking Dexilant for 6 years for heartburn but particulary inflamation in the esophagus. It has worked very well. I haven't had any side effects mentioned by other reviewers.I have to watch how much I eat as I can quickly get over full and have a lot of stomach discomfort for several hours. I frequently had an uncomfortable almost pain-like feeling in my stomach for no discernable reason starting 3 years ago. It lasted for 2 years. A test indicated stomach inflamation but when I was scoped 9 months later Dr said he couldn't see anything. I have had this sensation much less often over the last year. Don't know if any of this is due to Dexilant. I would have to go off it to tell. I had been on other PPI's for 6 years before starting Dexilant. I am 65 and will need a PPI for life. I'm worried about it causing cancer among people who have taken PPI's for a long time but the alternative is potential cancer of the esophagus. Can't win!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy Nurse | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked great for the acid. However, after taking it for a few months, I started having severe upper abdominal pain, under my right ribs. I thought it was my gallbladder. They did an ultrasound which was normal. I got off the Dexilant thinking that this could be the cause and almost immediately my symptoms resided. Now, I only take it when I most feel acid and use it as sparingly as possible or note at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Dexilant 60MG once a day to eliminate acid entering the esophagus. It worked fine for the first 3 1/2 months but then I started getting symptoms of severe headache, confusion, brain fog and stomach pains. My PCP made the assumption it was stress and anxiety when in fact it was the dexilant. I wanted to write this review so that when others are experiencing these same symptoms it may be this drug. I stopped taking it and now have no symptoms!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Tums 4-5 nights per week at bedtime. Been on this for about 3 weeks. Not one single Tums or experience of any acid reflux since I started this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/21/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for years, then I started to having bad stomach pains and heart palpatations. I stopped taking it and have been off of it for about one year and I am doing fine. Sleep with my bed raised up and drink more water and I am more careful of the foods I eat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lakeviewcalm | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a hiatus hernia, gerd, suffering from acid reflux, was taking nexium, Dr's thought I should try Dexilant. The first day I took this drug seemed okay, until 6 hours after taking the drug. I awoke with heart palpitations, a feeling of being punched in the gut, pain was horrible, started the diarrhea, went on like this for 4 hours. Finally I fell asleep, woke up the next day, didn't feel much better, by supper time I was so sick with the same feeling. I have called around and asked how long this takes to get out of your system, pharmacists says 24 hrs, I am now 48 hrs, after taking it, and I still have the symptoms, not as extreme, but they are still there. Back to Nexium. I do not recommend this drug whatsoever. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dexilant | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/23/2018
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Crohn's disease

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/11/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This prescription has helped me, but now my creative is below normal. So my doctor is keeping up with my kidney function. May have to stop taking Dexilant

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More