Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

This helped

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

While Zegrid OTC worked well while I was taking it, within a week after I stopped my heartburn returned and you have to wait months before you can take it again. Should have saved my $22 and bought antacids instead.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ess | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2016
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am ten days into Zegerid OTC and my heartburn has stopped. However, note that I have strictly followed directions by taking this medication as soon as I wake up, not eating breakfast nor even drinking tea nor coffee etc until more than an hour has passed. I have also altered my diet by following a GERD routine which excludes drinking alcoholic beverages, lactose products, chocolates, spices, mint, fried foods and gluten etc. Also, I no longer have a late night refrigerator raid (ice cream or worse) or watch sports on tv drinking a beer and eating junk. No food three hours prior to getting into bed. I use 8pm /- as my target stop point. All this in combination with Zegerid has made me feel truly great. I have lost some weight over the last ten days and intend to stop taking the medication when my 14 dose bottle is finished. I may even stay with some of the food restrictions because it has made me feel better and I think it will help my digestive system transition to having stopped taking the Zegerid.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2016
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe pain in the center of my body right below my ribcage. This is the only medication that stops the pain from the overproduction of acid. It works fast and effectively.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AndyPandy9025 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried every acid reflux medicine available both over the counter and prescription and this product is by far the most effective and provided almost immediate relief after just two days of use. I have acid which produces a nasty cough and both tear up my esophagus and this takes care of both. Amazing results and very grateful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sickabeinsick | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has not worked for me .In fact, it made me feel worse as a side effect is diarrhea. The size of the pill is far too big also. I would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sasweet1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/23/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zegerid has helped me so much. I had daily indigestion before I started taking it. Since I started taking one every morning, I am completely symptom free. It comes right back though, if I forget to take it. I have been taking it for almost a year with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2014
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking acidfex for my stomach and heartburn and it caused me more pain then relief. Tried Zegerid otc 1 time and my problems stopped. Been taking it now for two years. I recommend it to everyone now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
refluxerer | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2013
Condition: Bleeding from Stomach, Esophagus or Duodenum
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Too large to swallow. After 2 weeks usage I started with headaches,which I never have. I had to discontinue use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/13/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this proceduce for over a year. It has helped my GERD but during this period of time I have broken out with hives on my face and arms as well as experienced wheezing. I have allergiies but narrowed the evens down to everytime I was exposed to blue LAKE dye #1. I did not until resently realize that the blue line on the Zererid capsule is thei same blue dye. Why ruin a great medication by adding poison just for marketing. There is nothing wrong with plain white. It is safe for everyone. I had been dosing myself on a daily basis. I have continued to take Zegerid I just cut the capsule and pour it in a glass of water. I would like to recommend that you change the capsule by removing the blue line. I am so allergic toeh dyes that my physician has offered to give me a prescription and send me to a compound pharmacy. Really, why the blue dye anyway?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hbcook | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2013
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Prilosec in the past and this works so much better. My only concern it is causing water retention with the sodium bicarbonate??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i suffer from constant acid indegestion, chest pain and my esophagus sometimes is on fire!! i took zegerid to try something new, i was originally taking prilosec otc. the zegerid helped me out almost immediatley i felt relief! i will continue to use this. my esophagus is not burning and i have no heart burn. very satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/30/2012
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Replaced Zantac...works like a champ. No heartburn or indigestion, and no obvious side effects. Been using it for 2 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TubMaster | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2012
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's a lousy drug for making money. It came on the market at the same time that Prevacid magically disappeared off the shelves. Zegerid made my heartburn worsen and is not effective. The size of the pill is also hard to swallow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ginger | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had gastric sleeve surgery in Aug 2011. It is a requirement I take a medication like this. Initially, I was on Nexium, then I tried Prevacid and one other I can't remember the name. These were good but still required me to use TUMS or Rolaids quite often. I bought some Zegerid in the U.S.A. and have been thrilled with the results. I can tolerate more foods than I could and rarely take any TUMS. I hope I can find it in Canada or I will simply order it online.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While Zegrid OTC worked well while I was taking it, within a week after I stopped my heartburn returned and you have to wait months before you can take it again. Should have saved my $22 and bought antacids instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauter | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great product helps my issues of hiatal hernia. I would say 90% of the symptoms I have go way if I can afford to buy it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
9/23/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this product for a month everyday with no improvement at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/11/2011
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel like Zegerid does an adequate job but I cannot get the perscription strength any longer because my insurance won't cover it so I use the OTC 20 MG at 2x per day... what annoys me is that all the ads say 1x a day zegerid and I have spoken to other users who also use the otc 2x/day... why do they package it in 3 bottles.. why not make it an even number... geezzz...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eve | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/10/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

100% satisfaction

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a couple of days my severe heartburn did not return. Wondering if it will after stopping the 14 day treatment, am hoping not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenmatt1221 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2011
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe stomach cramps for two days now. I have taking Prilosec and it worked well. Zegrid is not the medication for me! Severe Stomach Cramps!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More