Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

136 People found this comment helpful

DO not listen to the other posters here who are most likely making stuff up trying to scare you. My sister is a physician and she went over all the side effects with me. The only real concern is a rash since Prolia does NOT go through the kidney or liver like all the other drugs. This is by FAR the SAFEST osteoporosis medicine. And its the easiest too. When looking at the side effects also look at...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

Pain worse than I've ever had, skin aged and leathery, constipation and can't breathe. I'm in worse shape now than before I had prolia--will NOT take any more. Stomach and digestion problems all the time, can't sleep. 6 months of hell for me. Cholesterol went way up. RA got worse--Dr. said it would help it--a lie! Dr. treated me as a guinea pig--used a sample she had in office--did NOT charge...

Shared reviews and ratings

Maddy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/16/2023
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother was prescribe Prolia she took a total of 4 shots. She got a terrible itchy rash which got worse with each injection. Steroid creams did nothing for rash. She did every allergy test, it was not an allergy. She lost 40% of her hair. It did ZERO for her bone density. When she stopped the Prolia rash went away in 6 months, her hair has grown back. But she is left with terrible pain and weakness in her legs, and now has problems with veins in legs, really monstrous issue and her veins were fine prior to Prolia. She needed dental work because of weakening of jaw. After being OFF Prolia for 2 years her bone density is UP significantly. Take MCHA type calcium (no other kind), Magnesium glycinate, D and Super K by Life Extension and NAC and collagen peptides. You must also do weight bearing exercise. She will not be taking any more Prolia. It is a repurposed cancer med. I will be complaining to FDA about unacceptable side effect profile. Not to mention it did ZERO for her bone mineral density. Do not take Prolia. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Starcatty | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor suggested this drug, but after reading the reviews, I will not take it. The doctor said not to read the reviews as they are not indicative of the real side effects and the people who post might just be complainers. I disagree.......these are people who are just expressing what they went through and they have no reason to lie or exaggerate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D. Just had .y | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/27/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On my 3rd Prolia injection and have experienced only minor muscle pain and occasional headache. Everything has a side effect, Osteoporosis causes fractures, I will take my chances with Prolia it has been shown to improve bone density.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/4/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for 2 years and wish I never started. I am in more pain than ever. I have had 2 strokes while on this. I was not told about the problems to look for. Doctors make it sound wonderful. This medicine should never be taken. I fainted and went to emergency. All tests showed nothing. Just take your calcium and D3. It's safer and stay way far away from prolia. Should never be on the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have osteopenia and should not have been put on this medication. It hasn’t changed my numbers much. My side effects are stomach and constipation, but I don’t know for sure. My biggest complaint is the problem with getting off it. If you don’t take some other biphosphonate most people will experience rapid bone loss for the next two years, such that one returns to pre baseline levels. Why take a drug that increases bone density only to end up losing more bone than you Started with! And there are serious side effects! I’m sorry for all the terrible things you are all going through! Please be sure to go on a different biphosphonate, if you can, when getting off prolia to avoid the rebound effect (bone loss and vertebral fractures)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/30/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This month, I am supposed to get my 4th shot. About two month before every shot, I experience unusual soft tissue inflammation. First my gums, this time it’s my feet. Unexplained pain and swelling, quite debilitating. Also very stiff back after sitting, back pain and in particular right side pelvic and hip pain. Will get off this medication, even though I may have bone loss. Hopefully a transition with Reclast injection will help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margaret | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered a lot with joint, bone, jaw pain plus more. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Only h a d one shot, that was enough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told to take prolia for my due to osteoporosis. I have a long history of being allergic to medicine and foods which my doctors know. I was all set to take this drug . I did read these reviews. Thank you Thank you. You have saved me from a terrible fate. I have a dear friend who took it and is suffering. This drug is not good for 75 percent of people who take it!!!!! Come on FDA do the right thing and take it off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only had one injection in April 2022. I'm still suffering from swollen fingers and hands. Shoulder, elbow and wrist pain. It's a deep bone pain like I've never felt before. I have a messed up spine so I'm used to pain. I've had 3 injections of steroid and pain meds in my gangin nerves to calm it down. It gave me some relief. I'm told by my Doctors it should go away when life of Prolia wears off! Ugggg I have until October 16th. Ugggg...no more I used to feel good!!!! It need to be off the market!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prolia | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/16/2022
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just short of osteoporosis (-1.75) so I took it after it just came out when there were no bad reviews. However, it was a delayed reaction of +/-2.5 wks and then I was hit with what felt like rheumatoid arthritis or very bad flu without any respiratory symptoms. I took OTC ibuprofen and turmeric w black pepper. Worked great for 7-10 hrs, then the severe symptoms reappeared. It took another 2.5 wks to get back to vibrant normal. Then I took the follow up injection almost 7 mos later w exactly the same time and response. NOT worth it. Stick w weight bearing exercises, homeopathic, and just be careful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works very well for me. On Prolia for over 4 years with good results per my Dexa scan. Luckily, I have experienced no side effects. My only complaints is my hi copay of $248.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nelda Camper | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 74 year old Caucasia female. I was diagnosed with severe osteoporosis when I was 46 years old. I have tried several drugs for this condition, but nothing has increased the bone density.I am very active for my age; I love to walk and swim, and I maintain a healthy diet. I religiously take vitamins and calcium supplements. My physician suggested Prolia. DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG! I regret not doing more research before I had the injection. The same day I had the injection a knot appeared on my right wrist. It constantly aches. Also, believe it or not, a mass of what looks like bone formed on the top of my left foot. When I swim my left foot does not flex properly and I have spasms. My left femur and hip also ache. I felt so much better before I took Prolia. I am hoping these side effects will go away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had my first and only shot July 1, 2022. Two days after shot I had sever pain in my lower back and right jaw. Next day the worst pain of my life in my feet and legs, lower back, and right shoulder. Spoke with my doctor on Wednesday because the pain was unbearable. She told me it was normal and would last about a week. Tomorrow will be a week and I'm still in pain. Due to the severity of this pain I will NOT take any more of it. I can not come up with a way to relay to you in writing how horrible this week has been.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ALYCIA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HE PROLIA FOLKS ARE USELESS.I have taken Prolia for more than 6 yrs without any issues. I was given the drug by IM by mistake. Does anyone know if the drug will work or will there be side effect that I didn't have before. THE PROLIA FOLKS ARE USELESS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jacquelyn Poswell | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused femur shaft bone fractures on both sided

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donita Balogh | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a very active 72 year old. (Ride horseback, tarred a roof, bowl etc.) My new physician recommended a Dexa-scan & said I was in early stages of Osteoprosis & told me I needed Prolia shots. I trusted him. Did not go to Dr. Google or read up on this before I had injection. I had the shot Apr. 19. Since then, I have had terrible back pain, muscle spasms, knee pain, UTI and generally exhausted. Now I am reading up on this horrible drug & will not have another injection. And the cost to Medicare! That is just BS !!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debby | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in horrendous pain since getting my injection 5 months ago. My back, hips, arms and legs ache constantly. It's a nightmare. I end up lying in the floor sobbing 3-4 nights a week because the pain is so bad. I will not take another dose. Just won't.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got my first prolia injection in April 2022, I'm fine after it and I was worried about side effects, after reading all the negative comments I'm really worried now, if I suffer any of those side effects I will chat to my doctor but so far so good tg, hope this helps, I'm 72 yrs old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Silv | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/28/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this shot on March 22, 2022. That same night I started having belly pain, fever, chills, and horrible pain in my hips, lower back. That lasted over a week. Then exactly one week later I had a Bladder infection that has lasted since I took it today is April 28, 2022. I've got horrible pain in my right calf can't hardly walk. Pain in my left arm. And my hips, back, belly and legs hurt so bad. The pain is worse in my hips now than it was before I took the shot. I wish I had researched this drug before I took it. This is horrible I'm very fatigued now as well. My teeth are breaking. I already had an autoimmune disease and kidney disease before I took the shot. I called my Dr and all his nurse said was you just hurt across your hips and belly because you have a bladder infection!!! REALLY my Dr never said anything about the side effects of Prolia. This is poison that I would do anything to get out of my body. I have a long way to go before it gets out of my body. There should be a Law Suit against the company that makes this drug. I've been reading as much as I can on this mess. I hope the pain in my calf is not a blood clot from this shot. I can't lean to the left because it hurts my bladder so bad. There is definitely something wrong with me from this drug. I was doing ok before I took it. I will Never take it ever again. HORRIBLE DRUG!!!! PEOPLE NEED TO RESEARCH THIS POISON BEFORE TAKING IT!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Constant pain | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hip pain over 4 weeks since initial injection. Pain constant and increasing in intensity each day. Inability to walk. Now having knee pain as a result of poor gaitUnable to sleep as pain continues during the night. Pain level 8 out of 10. Gets worse every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More