Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

Withdrew from Avodart and began a course of Jalyn. Experienced improved urine flow rates within 2 days of first use.

Shared reviews and ratings

ACheshireCat | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/7/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Jalyn for several years, lost job, Medicaid pushed me to the generic combination, pension pushed me off Medicaid, to an Obamacare, found it cheaper, via a state drug discount card and Target, down to $20-30/month. The Obamacare insurance drug benefit was not better then the discount card. Was very impressed with the return to urination normalcy. Semen was reduced to almost zero, erections normal, reduction of prostate seems slow, a few side effects, one was 'trigger pain'-a muscle spasm that was treatable by increasing B-6 and calcium and a week off when it happened... thinking I am getting an oral shedding of skin cells in mouth, thinking of testing it with a skip or two... Another side effect, the growing hair... more but finer on head... and body hair is reset to my 20's. On the whole better then an operation, the PSA results went way down. If I have to take a med, better this then other issues. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WonderingAboutErection | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Jalyn a few years-maybe more than 5. Had a very large prostate-no signs of cancer. Prostate reduced slowly over a couple of years and urination issues improved-now pretty good. Smaller prostate=less ejaculation fluid, but desire was still good until about 18 months ago-may have gradually diminished from Jalyn. Got prescription for Cialis-helps erections. Before Jalyn-sex about twice a week and maybe masturbate twice more was typical. Now, sex once and masturbate once is typical. I am thinking about stopping Jalyn for a few weeks to see what happens. It is a couple of months before my next urology appointment. Wondering if I should talk to doctor before stopping or going to every other day taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M-writer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking one pill on two consecutive days My frequent urges to urinate during the day and at night greatly diminished along with the unexpected bowel movements that often accompanied my urination. Also my stream returned to near normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BIG MACK | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/9/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SIDE EFFECT, USUAL SEXUAL SIDE EFFECTS,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doncarlo | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To date I have experienced many of the same side effects mentioned in previous comments and have concern re: can increase risk of prostate cancer. If this is true, the drug should be taken off the approved prescription list. Will visit my primary doctor this week for further observation and opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/27/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this drug once aday and I don't feel very much different then I did before I started taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Poops | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/2/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My MD told me to take at bedtime, this site suggest to take after a meal. I have been experiencing reflux systems which wakes me and I find it hard to regain a good nights sleep. I am confused as to when to take he pill? I also feel the pill gets stuck in my asopogist...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
walterde | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/22/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has restored my ability to urinate and not have to cath myself

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scott | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
6/10/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I now have a problem in my breast with soreness and very tender. Gynecomastia Can I get cancer from this drug ? Called Jylan

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/9/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ordered to discontinue use by my primary care doctor. Prescribed by urologist. During use (about a year), I lost weight in my legs and buttocks and the skin became pale and remaining muscle flabby. Energy so low that I had to frequently rest. Could not do a day's work. He said that the drug was blocking my testosterone; hence, the problems noted. Have gone back to just Flomax in last two weeks. Am feeling a little better and no wosening of prostate. Hope to get my ass and legs back!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/29/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor Chestnut | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/15/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects that i have is heart burn.So eat something when i take Jayln.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Atlanta | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Decreased libido for sure. At least the wife is happy. Scrotum, anal itch. Hate thinking of being on any med for the rest of my life. Increased cancer risk, really...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't realize that it increased the chance of getting prostate cancer!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sirdino | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good bye erections, hello anal area itching ,copay is over $240 for 90 day refill. no change from generic .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/2/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ehjr124 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for about 3 weeks now. I have noticed better control making it to the bathroom, but I also notice a big reduction in seman. T he desire is still as strong as usual.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shadowrider92 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very expensive, but seems to be working wish they made a generic, have insurance but still cost 112.50 evey 90 day through Prime Mail.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dallencpa01 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/19/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Jalyn is slow acting, very expensive and is readily available by taking its two ingredients separately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cliff5860 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More