Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I am amazed at how quickly this medication works. I get one or two really brutal cold sores a year. Of course, my most recent one shows up just in time for Christmas! I called my doctor for an rx for Zovirax, and she suggested that I try this medication. Wow!!! It beats Zovirax and Abreva out of the water. It is incredible in terms of lessening inflammation and supporting healing. I cannot recomme...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Because it was difficult to locate at a local pharmacy, I did not start this medication until day 5 of a very intense cold sore. It caused severe burning and discomfort after every application. Currently on day 6 of using Rx and the cold sore is WORSE than when I started using it (like, it will not heal). Two weeks with a cold sore?! No thank you. Going back to Abreva.

Shared reviews and ratings

# | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/17/2022
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been getting cold sores since i was a kid and i have tried literally EVERYTHING and growing up there weren’t alot of cold sore medication at that time. So I basically had to deal with abreva and other creams the doctor would give me that never actually did a good job. Then eventually i got a really bad group of cold sores and the doctor prescribed me Zovirax which actually worked really well but during the scabbing phase i’d bleed alot which made it more noticeable but the plus side with that is that it would heal faster. Then eventually i was prescribed valtrex pills which helped alot especially when i felt a cold sore coming up, it would stop it completely! Then when i asked for a refill of Zovirax my doctor suggested i try xerese instead and said I probably will like it better. Which i do! It takes 5 days to basically go away but sometimes it turns into a scab because it gets super dry, so i’m not always 100% sure that its fully healed. (Its not a noticeable scab though) it looks more like a little bit of dry skin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2020
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a horrible cold sore pop up, each day was getting worse, my dad gave me this to try on day 3 because my lip was huge and swollen and wow by the end of the day the swelling was completely gone! I was shocked because I have literally tried everything since I was a kid nothing worked. I waited too long so I did get the scab but this is making the healing process faster. It'll be interesting to see how it is when I catch it early enough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carlee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don’t get cold sores often, but when I do they’re massive and NOTHING works. I caught this sore in the blister phase after it some how popping up in the night. I went immediately to the doctor and he prescribed this. I’m now day 5 and the sore is gone. However, it left the area red and really peely. Almost like a slight burn. I would take that though over a big ugly sore ! I’m sure I’ll have better results if I catch it earlier next time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tee Jay | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is so nice to finally have an effective medication for HSL. It must be used as soon as the symptoms start for best results. This medication is terrific!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
butterfly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/25/2016
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff actually works. But you must put it on right away. It's like it shrinks the sore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blondie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/10/2016
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been getting cold sores monthly so dr prescribed xerese and wow day three and cold sore almost gone without the embarrassing scab so thankful to find something that actually worked. Spent so much money over the years on cold sore creams and nothing work I will be using this from now on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bjean | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had dreadful cold sores since I was a child & after years of suffering, I went to a dermatologist who suggested I try Valtrex. I took Valtrex alone for a few years which worked great. But I must have gotten immune because the cold sores returned a few months ago, just much smaller & not as bad. When I went to my dr & told her the Valtrex didn't work as well as it used to, she suggested I also try this creme. I used it right before bed, as soon as I felt a cold sore starting & was so happy to wake up & see the sore never progressed. It didn't disappear but did not get to that horrific blistering stage. I applied 4x a day and am on day 3 & there is no sore at all, just some redness barely noticable. If I needed to, I could cover it completely with makeup. The only downside is a mediciny/metal taste you experience after first using it. But that is no biggy. This creme (along with Valtrex) is an amazing 1-2 punch against cold sores. So happy I found something that really works. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marty | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/8/2014
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

More effective than ABREVA and no after effects. Great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sara | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/18/2014
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very prone to cold sores and this medication is the only one that really works for me. Abreva I found didn't really do anything for me, perhaps even made it worse. I have tried home remedies too, and they don't seem to do much. Like the package says, apply 5x for 5 days and it really does make a difference even after 1 day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bes4420 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/5/2014
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is the most effective treatment for a cold sore that I have used. The trick is you MUST begin using it AS SOON as you feel that tingle...or a SUSPECTED tingle!! I have no side effects. If you wait till the blister stage...too late, and it may burn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/4/2014
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From the moment I feel the itch that a cold sore is coming I apply the cream and by the next day it is almost gone after 3 days you cannot tell that you had a cold sore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E to the E | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Because it was difficult to locate at a local pharmacy, I did not start this medication until day 5 of a very intense cold sore. It caused severe burning and discomfort after every application. Currently on day 6 of using Rx and the cold sore is WORSE than when I started using it (like, it will not heal). Two weeks with a cold sore?! No thank you. Going back to Abreva.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RPI | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2013
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You have to use it 5 times a day. It made my skin so red and it felt like it was burning. I used it several days to try to give it a chance to work. I finally stopped using it and I went back to Abreva.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wfloyd_82 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/8/2013
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had recurrent cold sores since I was a child and have tried numerous treatments. A couple years ago I went to a doctor because I was having sinus problems. I had a cold sore at the time so the doctor prescribed Xerese. I thought it would be like any other treatment I had used and I would still have to wait at least a week or two before the sore went away. Boy was I wrong! I used it as soon as I got home and by the next morning the sore was almost gone. There have been times when I applied Xerese when I felt a cold sore coming and the sore barely came to a head, if not for the "feel" of the sore, I would not have known it was there, I have even noticed a reduction in the recurrence of the sores. You only need to apply a small amount for it to work; one small tube has lasted me quite a while. I am so thankful my doctor prescribed Xerese for me, there is no other treatment like it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/22/2012
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am amazed at how quickly this medication works. I get one or two really brutal cold sores a year. Of course, my most recent one shows up just in time for Christmas! I called my doctor for an rx for Zovirax, and she suggested that I try this medication. Wow!!! It beats Zovirax and Abreva out of the water. It is incredible in terms of lessening inflammation and supporting healing. I cannot recommend this highly enough!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relief | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2012
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt my cold sore starting to form yesterday and started using the medication immediately. By today, it is basically gone. Still applying the medication until it is completely gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
james | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2012
Condition: Recurrent Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

use as directed,very important

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More