Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

105 People found this comment helpful

Started 5mg finasteride for BPH couple years ago. I was miserable...2-3 bathroom trips nightly, discomfort in testicles (like I'd been kicked) and worst of all, blood in ejaculate that turned it brown. The latter thoroughly disgusted my wife and me. Took a few months to kick in, but now bathroom trips are 1-2, discomfort and blood are gone. Hooray! Downside is same as others have mentioned.....ge...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for about 12 weeks. The first 10 weeks, I experienced no sexual side effects. The next two weeks, i had erectile issues and very reduced ejaculate. The side effects enough for me to decide to stop. I think it's helping with hair loss, but not enough for me to accept the sexual side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ED | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Patient should be warned by urologist of the sexual side effects. No sex drive, Extreme ED. Urologist should be taken to court for not explaining terrible side effects to user.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CE | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 65 year old female and a dermatologist put me on Finesteride for hair loss. I noticed dry mouth within the first week of taking this med. The dermatologist said dry mouth is not a symptom so I dealt with it. I took the medicine 5 months and the dry mouth became very uncomfortable. Once I stopped taking it the dry mouth went away. This took a few weeks but thankfully it’s gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very frustrated | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication provided no help for my problem. Side effects were loss of 95% sex desire and performance!Do not take this medication!!!!! Also depression!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IslandPhil | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 5 mg Finasteride for several months now. Yes, it does lower sexual desire and erections are more difficult to maintain. But, it is effective for BPH symptoms. Its a trade off between the two. I would caution against it for someone with an active sex life. However, for someone like myself in a sexless marriage, the loss of interest in sex is not a bad thing. In my case, my doctor was up-front about the sexual side effects. She stated that the maker's data suggested only a very small number of men would be affected, but some independent tests show a much higher percentage are affected - and that a recent study suggests it is 5 to 6 times more likely to have sexual side effects than Avodart. Her take was for men with an active sex life, or who want one even if they don't at present have one, go with Avodart. For men who would be quite OK with turning down the volume of sexual desire - Finasteride is the way to go. My wife is in menopause and even before this did not like sex. I have no interest in cheating, and quite frankly I am sick of masturbating. So I gave Finasteride a try, and the BPH is so much better. To be honest, I like the side effects. Big warning - for a few men, Finasteride can lead to depression - if this happens get off of it! For me, honestly I am happier, and more cheerful because I no longer have a large sex drive that goes unsatisfied.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol T | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hair loss in woman with Sprinter Gene. Had a rash with big welts under the skin. My primary gave me a cream and said it will take months for the rash to leave. I also noticed problem emptying my bladder.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NotIP Freely | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad experience! I am 61 and only took this drug for 10 days (been on alfuzosin for 3 months without issues), i developed an itchy skin rash in the middle of my back and was always scratching it on door frames but I also developed low blood pressure. While working out at the gym Saturday morning I got light headed, nauseated, and began sweating excessively so I went to the lounge area to cool off and check my blood pressure, it was 70/46! I had never seen it that low before (normally about 135/72, exercising 3 - 5 times a week). In 10 days I definitely didn't see any positive effects from this drug. If anything my urine stream was actually weaker than without it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible medication. Did not help my prostate problems and caused sexual side effects. If you never want to have sex again take this medicine. Otherwise skip it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/14/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never had a night run problem nor flow problem. I would get kidney pain followed by total stoppage. Trip to ER resulted in catheter (foley) and antibiotic treatment for bladder infection. Family MD prescribed Tamsulosin .4mg, Urologist added Finasteride 5mg and doubled up on Tamsulosin. Analysis based on my age (mid-70) - no physical, no rectal, no PSA, no ultra-sound, no catscan, and no blood test. Bladder infection sometimes plugs catheter - ER showed me how to clear foley. Side effects fo Finasteride mostly disappeared by 3rd month - definite loss of sexual desire. Expected some hair growth on top of head but it has grown on top and face. I stopped shaving for two months and I grew a full beard almost 1 in in length. Although the side effects have greatly diminished, I feel crappy all the time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fenpecia | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2022
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally crashed my sex drive... my libido was down to 0!!! I even had issues masturbating, I used to ejaculate without a hard-on!! I was useless in bed!! My marriage is also a question, cause I clearly don't get aroused on the best of days!! The medicine has had a very bad impact on me...!! :( It's been 4 years since I STOPPED!! But it literally killed my self-confidence, it has killed my urge...IT DESTROYED ME!!! I took this because a doctor prescribed it for me for my hair loss!! I will rather be bald THAN have a tool that doesn't work!! I don't know who is reading this... but my advice - "AVOID"Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Insomniac | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/12/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a year insomnia, depression...libido, erection, and any sex activity...gone..Stay away form this drug. ..save your life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2021
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug destroyed my life. Yes you read that correctly. Post-Finasteride Syndrome is a very serious and very real illness. Everything doctors are telling you about this drug's safety is wrong. There is a long history of controversy surrounding this drug....manipulated trial data, sealed documents, suicides, and more This drug should be banned. It has very little medicinal value and has destroyed far too many lives. There are milder products that serve the same purpose for enlarged prostateRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David W. | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible drug. Took for 3 weeks and sexual desire went to nothing. Also experienced an intense feeling of Doom and negative thoughts. Hope I never took it long enough for the extreme body hair growth and breast enlargement. I think urologists prescribe this stuff as an easy get out when they have no idea about the Prostate Gland and related problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rod | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am lactose intolerant and this medication has lactose as a basic ingredient which gave me terrible gas and stomach cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MH | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the 1mg Finasteride for 6 months for hair loss last year, despite my doctors apprehension to prescribe it. Honestly, while I was taking it, I didn't feel any of the serious side effects except for the occasional soreness in the testicles, which I didn't know was a result of the drug until now. On day one, however, I did notice a lack of erection and semen, but I think that was a result of me psyching myself thinking about the side effects rather than the drug actually affecting me. I did not feel anything again afterwards and I had no problem getting an erection or ejaculating. My hair, though, man oh man, I had no idea at the time how thick and full it had gotten! However, because my hair was still falling after taking it for 6 months, albeit at a reduced rate, I thought the drug wasn't really working for me so well. And when I had my consultation with my doctor at the 6 month mark, she was concerned about the sexual side effects, even though I hadn't experience any up to that point, she recommended I stop taking the drug considering my age. I was hesitant to stop but I agreed because, again, at the time I didn't think the drug was working for me. Obviously now I am regretting it because my hair at the crown is thinning and there is more receding hairline. I am thinking about getting back on the drug, but I am concerned if the side effects will suddenly kick in this time if I take it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MW | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2021
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being a 49 yr. old male with thinning hair I decided to try 1mg of finasteride daily. After the 2nd month I started feeling anxious and a little down. I had a upset stomach and my libido was decreasing. I was starting to see some new growth at 3 months but I was seriously getting depressed and feeling very tired. I wanted to be one of the lucky guys who didn't get side effects and had/kept an open mind. I think my hair was filling in at crown area, so I do believe this drug is good for growing hair and keeping what you have. Just be careful and monitor your mood and sexual side effects. I am very disappointed I cant tolerate this medication because it seemed to grow hair well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using for BPH, seems to be helping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/9/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes increased breast enlargement, not good and I don't know that it helps with urination problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bird dog | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug 5-7 years ago for enlarged prostrate. Noticed a decline in sexual drive, ejactulation and no noticeable ease of urination effort. Was then put on Tamosulin and had some improvement. Recent checkup doc prescribed Finasteride again to reduce prostrate along with remaining on Tamosulin. Now straining to urinate more....canâ??t figure what is going on. Samples of Cialis worked best but insurance wonâ??t cover...wonder if I can promise not to use it for sex?ð???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WW | 65-74 | Male | Patient
1/26/2019
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking for about 9 months and notices that my hair loss has stopped and hair seems to be a little thicker.. Also notice some fine hair growing on temples and front of hairline. My barber says many many baby hairs growing in on thin spot on crown. his old 66 year old is quite pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More