Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

106 People found this comment helpful

Started 5mg finasteride for BPH couple years ago. I was miserable...2-3 bathroom trips nightly, discomfort in testicles (like I'd been kicked) and worst of all, blood in ejaculate that turned it brown. The latter thoroughly disgusted my wife and me. Took a few months to kick in, but now bathroom trips are 1-2, discomfort and blood are gone. Hooray! Downside is same as others have mentioned.....ge...

Shared reviews and ratings

Carol T | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hair loss in woman with Sprinter Gene. Had a rash with big welts under the skin. My primary gave me a cream and said it will take months for the rash to leave. I also noticed problem emptying my bladder.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NotIP Freely | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad experience! I am 61 and only took this drug for 10 days (been on alfuzosin for 3 months without issues), i developed an itchy skin rash in the middle of my back and was always scratching it on door frames but I also developed low blood pressure. While working out at the gym Saturday morning I got light headed, nauseated, and began sweating excessively so I went to the lounge area to cool off and check my blood pressure, it was 70/46! I had never seen it that low before (normally about 135/72, exercising 3 - 5 times a week). In 10 days I definitely didn't see any positive effects from this drug. If anything my urine stream was actually weaker than without it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible medication. Did not help my prostate problems and caused sexual side effects. If you never want to have sex again take this medicine. Otherwise skip it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/14/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never had a night run problem nor flow problem. I would get kidney pain followed by total stoppage. Trip to ER resulted in catheter (foley) and antibiotic treatment for bladder infection. Family MD prescribed Tamsulosin .4mg, Urologist added Finasteride 5mg and doubled up on Tamsulosin. Analysis based on my age (mid-70) - no physical, no rectal, no PSA, no ultra-sound, no catscan, and no blood test. Bladder infection sometimes plugs catheter - ER showed me how to clear foley. Side effects fo Finasteride mostly disappeared by 3rd month - definite loss of sexual desire. Expected some hair growth on top of head but it has grown on top and face. I stopped shaving for two months and I grew a full beard almost 1 in in length. Although the side effects have greatly diminished, I feel crappy all the time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fenpecia | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2022
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally crashed my sex drive... my libido was down to 0!!! I even had issues masturbating, I used to ejaculate without a hard-on!! I was useless in bed!! My marriage is also a question, cause I clearly don't get aroused on the best of days!! The medicine has had a very bad impact on me...!! :( It's been 4 years since I STOPPED!! But it literally killed my self-confidence, it has killed my urge...IT DESTROYED ME!!! I took this because a doctor prescribed it for me for my hair loss!! I will rather be bald THAN have a tool that doesn't work!! I don't know who is reading this... but my advice - "AVOID"Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Insomniac | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/12/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a year insomnia, depression...libido, erection, and any sex activity...gone..Stay away form this drug. ..save your life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2021
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug destroyed my life. Yes you read that correctly. Post-Finasteride Syndrome is a very serious and very real illness. Everything doctors are telling you about this drug's safety is wrong. There is a long history of controversy surrounding this drug....manipulated trial data, sealed documents, suicides, and more This drug should be banned. It has very little medicinal value and has destroyed far too many lives. There are milder products that serve the same purpose for enlarged prostateRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David W. | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible drug. Took for 3 weeks and sexual desire went to nothing. Also experienced an intense feeling of Doom and negative thoughts. Hope I never took it long enough for the extreme body hair growth and breast enlargement. I think urologists prescribe this stuff as an easy get out when they have no idea about the Prostate Gland and related problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rod | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am lactose intolerant and this medication has lactose as a basic ingredient which gave me terrible gas and stomach cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MH | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the 1mg Finasteride for 6 months for hair loss last year, despite my doctors apprehension to prescribe it. Honestly, while I was taking it, I didn't feel any of the serious side effects except for the occasional soreness in the testicles, which I didn't know was a result of the drug until now. On day one, however, I did notice a lack of erection and semen, but I think that was a result of me psyching myself thinking about the side effects rather than the drug actually affecting me. I did not feel anything again afterwards and I had no problem getting an erection or ejaculating. My hair, though, man oh man, I had no idea at the time how thick and full it had gotten! However, because my hair was still falling after taking it for 6 months, albeit at a reduced rate, I thought the drug wasn't really working for me so well. And when I had my consultation with my doctor at the 6 month mark, she was concerned about the sexual side effects, even though I hadn't experience any up to that point, she recommended I stop taking the drug considering my age. I was hesitant to stop but I agreed because, again, at the time I didn't think the drug was working for me. Obviously now I am regretting it because my hair at the crown is thinning and there is more receding hairline. I am thinking about getting back on the drug, but I am concerned if the side effects will suddenly kick in this time if I take it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MW | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2021
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being a 49 yr. old male with thinning hair I decided to try 1mg of finasteride daily. After the 2nd month I started feeling anxious and a little down. I had a upset stomach and my libido was decreasing. I was starting to see some new growth at 3 months but I was seriously getting depressed and feeling very tired. I wanted to be one of the lucky guys who didn't get side effects and had/kept an open mind. I think my hair was filling in at crown area, so I do believe this drug is good for growing hair and keeping what you have. Just be careful and monitor your mood and sexual side effects. I am very disappointed I cant tolerate this medication because it seemed to grow hair well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using for BPH, seems to be helping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/9/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes increased breast enlargement, not good and I don't know that it helps with urination problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bird dog | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug 5-7 years ago for enlarged prostrate. Noticed a decline in sexual drive, ejactulation and no noticeable ease of urination effort. Was then put on Tamosulin and had some improvement. Recent checkup doc prescribed Finasteride again to reduce prostrate along with remaining on Tamosulin. Now straining to urinate more....canâ??t figure what is going on. Samples of Cialis worked best but insurance wonâ??t cover...wonder if I can promise not to use it for sex?ð???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WW | 65-74 | Male | Patient
1/26/2019
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking for about 9 months and notices that my hair loss has stopped and hair seems to be a little thicker.. Also notice some fine hair growing on temples and front of hairline. My barber says many many baby hairs growing in on thin spot on crown. his old 66 year old is quite pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LessThanZeroMasculinity | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/11/2019
Condition: Male Pattern Baldness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking one Fincar (which is 5mg finasteride) daily for three years and I LOVE the stuff! BUT, I am not typical of the average patient user of it. I am three years into my medical regimen as a transitioning male to female transsexual, so I take it in conjunction with a daily dose of 10 mg Progynova (micronized progesterone), 100 mg Spirotone (spironolactone)and 6mg Estrofem (estradiol valerate). I love them all and what they all do together but I have no way of being sure which med is responsible for what. I have had continuous, consistently adequate breast growth and the normal minor 'growing pain' typically expected to go along with it. My testicles have atrophied (shrunk) down to the size of small grapes, which is delightful! My penis has not atrophied nearly as much as I had hoped it would,and it still too often gets erected in that disgusting male way but I am patient. My only ejaculate now is about a 1/4 to 1/2 thimbleful of a clear, watery liquid which pleases me, as it indicates little to no natural production of testosterone and semen. Overall, I NEVER feel the least bit masculine ever and never want to and even out in boy drag strangers address me as Miss or Ma'am and she and her so I am ready for full time female and 'bottom' surgery! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rogue one | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2018
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried for 3 weeks and my prostate felt like I just got off a mountain bike riding for 3 hours. It was a very uncomfortable feeling and constant. I did not notice any improvement in urine flow. Still getting up 3 times per night. Quitting the treatment now and letting the Urologist know.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MOS | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/13/2018
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

STILL GETTING UP 4-5 TIMES A NIGHT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willy | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/27/2018
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 82, been taking it for 3-4 years and I feel better. Still go 4 x a night, but the stream is greatly improved. I have the feeling my prostate has been reduced.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rocky | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2018
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried taking this at two different times, once at 51 years old and again at 53. both times i took due to a percieved thought i had a enlarged prostate, and was sold, by doctor, it could help my serious thinning in hair. Well first time i took for about a month and was on a cruise ship. I am in decent shape, and one morning i ran up a couple flights of deck stairs...done this a million times in the past....wow, could not get my heart to slow down. Normally i recover prett fast but it took about a minute for my heart to slow down....LONG time, felt like having a heart attack. Had another incedent while on excursion snorkling...scared the ....out of me. stopped the drug and when got home began working out....did a yearly phsical, and sugar was a little high, began treadmill 3 times week. year later decided to give another try for hair loss and perceived BPH, i say because i started drinking occasional pure cranberry juice, 8 oz daily for a week and think i may have killed a recurring infection in prostate. specialist said prostate was normal...but back to finasteride. Same stuff with the heart began happening after about 3 weeks. Hair did seem to get a little thicker but the heart thing was so damn scary i had to get off it...It took about 2 months to get back to normal but feel great again. Hair unfortunately did get more thin again but trying other things for that. full disclosure i drink about 12 oz coffee in morning, 12 in aftern oon and 8 oz at nigh so coffee may not mix well, i drink no alcohol and i smoke nothing. may have noticed a little less interest in sex but not problem getting it up. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More