Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I had a severe cough (due to bronchitis) that kept me from sleeping at night. After the first dose of medicine, I felt my urge to cough wasn't as bad. By the next day, my coughing had substantially decreased. I still have some coughing fits, but they are less often and defiantly not as severe. I drink A LOT of water and that seems to help as well. The liquid tastes horrible, but it's a small pric...

Shared reviews and ratings

Normden | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this med for 5 days to reduce cough due to allergies; especially night-coughing. Worked well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2016
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine did not help my ongoing cough at all. I kept trying it but still was up all night coughing until a week later at least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clevor | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Several reviewers have said this cough medicine doesn't work. I thought so too the first time I tried it. But you have to keep trying it and not give up after one dose. I caught a flu which gave me horrific coughing fits. I would get up at 2-3 AM in the morning and could hardly breath due to the coughing fits. At first I thought it was acid reflux and I bought a wedge pillow which did not help. My doc gave me antibiotics which solved the problem, which means I may have had strep throat. I figured maybe that's why this medication didn't work. 6 months later caught the same flu. Coughing fits were so bad I thought I had to go to ER to get meds since would have to wait till 3 the next day to see my ENT. So I decided to try this cough medicine once again and it worked! Had a coughing fit at 11 PM, took one teaspoon, and I was able to sleep the rest of the night without disturbance. You only need to take a teaspoon every 6 hrs which isn't too bad. The OTC stuff you need to take every 4 hours which is a PITA.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms. PA | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not only did my cough get worse after I took this, it also kept me up all night. This drug is useless.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
adb | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Perscribed 5 ml at bedtime. Two hour later my cough has not gotten better. No side effects good or bad. Absolutely no change at all. Being that its categorized as a narcotic in my state i hoped id at least get to sleep for the first time in 5 nights.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juby P | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was easy to use but it was absolutely disgusting to take. I will never take it again just because of the taste. On the other hand I recommend it for other people, but I personally won't be taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did nothing for my cough, made it unable for me to rest at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BOB | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Walking Pneumonia and Coughing and headcold

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TheParatrooper | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely useless. In desperation I have doubled the dose still, I have received no relief at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not Work. My cough got worse and i couldnt sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shaeshalaye | 35-44 | Female | Patient
1/29/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wingman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three Hours awake with only a breath in between to dry cough again. Getting out of bed helped. One dose of guaiatussin knocked my cough out out. Good nights sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krob15 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a severe cough (due to bronchitis) that kept me from sleeping at night. After the first dose of medicine, I felt my urge to cough wasn't as bad. By the next day, my coughing had substantially decreased. I still have some coughing fits, but they are less often and defiantly not as severe. I drink A LOT of water and that seems to help as well. The liquid tastes horrible, but it's a small price to pay to stop the constant hacking cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SomeRandomGuy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2013
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't do well at all to stop coughing, but does very well to break up the mucus in your lungs, been coughin' out chunks of nasty mucus since I started taking it, which I suppose is a good sign, which is the only reason i gave this product a 4 for effectiveness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me cough worse the first night. I didn't take with water, so tonight I will try it with water to see if there is a difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is supposed to help at night but didn't really work that well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jensus | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2007
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cold and cough

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More