Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

Don't be scared by all these reviews. Happy people don't write reviews lol. I have been taking this for 3 months with the biggest issue being breakthrough bleeding/spotting. It's tolerable and otherwise side effects have been OK. I gained maybe two pounds and I think it was all in my boobs.

Most voted negative review

21 People found this comment helpful

At first, I loved this form of birth control, I was actually loosing weight. Small break through bleeding, no acne, no cramping, great libido, everything was fine for me. Well I ran out of the 5 samples I received from my doctor and I recently switched to the generic form of lo-loestrin due to insurance and costs. It's been about 4 months and I'm miserable, I hate myself, I get sad or mad about th...

Shared reviews and ratings

loloreviewer | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this for almost 2 years and here's my full experience: PROS: -completely got rid of my acne, even after being off of it for 9 months now -no weight gain at all -no mood swings, pretty stable -no period at all CONS - heightened my anxiety the longer I took it. The first 3 months were smooth sailing but after that it started affecting my anxiety incrementally. I didnt realize it might be the pill worsening my anxiety until 1.5 years in since I didnt have any other side effects. Now that I am off of it, I am more clear minded and level headed. Anxiety is still there but nothing compared to when I was on LoLo. I feel like myself again. I'm bummed my anxiety got so bad that I had to get off it because aside from that, I absolutely loved it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/27/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control ruined my emotions. I’ve never been a very emotional person and I was getting very mad over the smallest of things. My confidence went down extremely and I would have my period twice a month. I also got worse acne on It and my cramps were insane. I took It for five months and just recently switched.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laurennnnnnn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was EXTREMELY nervous to start using an oral contraceptive. I’m someone who is a bit of a hypochondriac when it comes to my health and body. I began taking Lolo about 2 months ago and have experienced none of the side effects that everyone warns you about. No nausea, no mood swings, no low sex drive, no weight gain. I have struggled with painful periods in the past, and My periods are now only 2 days long and I have no cramps or discomfort whatsoever. If you are at all considering taking Lolo, go for it. It’s incredible!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T18 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on it for 5 months. Tried others bc pills before this is by far the worst. Increase in appetite, gained 10 lbs, worst acne I have ever had, anxiety and blurred vision, low libido. Do not take this birth control!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aa122 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall I really liked the light periods and my boobs grew (positive!!) but it made my mood swings incredibly all over the place and I cried over minor things, ESPECIALLY within the placebo pills. I couldn’t take not being myself and lashing out so I changed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sydney | 19-24 | Female | Patient
7/5/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on birth control since I was a junior in high school. Was initially on the pill to help the intensity of my periods, as they were always 8 days with heavy bleeding and intense, debilitating cramping. I cannot remember the birth control I was on before college, but switched to Lo Loestrin my first year in college and have been on it ever since. I've never had a problem with this birth control (at least none that I'm aware of). I never felt depressed or anxious because of the pill, though I did often have negative feelings but that's more so due to the recent life events when I started the pill, not the pill itself. Ever since being on Lo Loestrin, I haven't had a period. Asked my gyno if this was normal and she said yes & haven't worried about it since. I had problems with acne as a teen but my acne improved and have almost no acne most of the time and I've been on the pill for years. Honestly, some people probably react differently to different pills so I'd recommend trying it and if it's not for you, then stop taking it. But I've personally had a great experience and I'm not one to really write reviews so there's that. Feel like my biggest side effects are mostly bloating.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bella | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my first birth control and I was on it for a little over 3 years until it got crazy expensive (went from $25/3 packs to $118/3 packs to $430/3 packs). I realized after a while that if I took it a couple hours late, it would make me feel more anxious. The only other side effect was that I never had my period on this pill - I know that some people like that and others do not, so it’s worth mentioning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

(19, 5ft 3, relatively active person) my doctor prescribed this pill for PMDD, she told me it’s a low dose so the effects shouldn’t be too bad. at first i liked it, i felt a little happier than usual the first month. but i’m in the second month right now and it’s terrible. i’ve been getting bad acne (i didn’t know that but they actually don’t recommend this pill if you’re looking to clear up your skin. ive had acne before and my skin started to look better, now it’s just terrible because of lolo) and my mood is so low i just want to cry all the time. i’m getting symptoms of depression which is the opposite of why i started taking birth control. im on a trip right now and this pill is literally ruining it:( if you’re thinking of trying this pill i’d say go ahead, but avoid if you have a history with acne. take careRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJG | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my tubes tied over a year ago after my last baby. When my periods came back they were so long 10-14 days. 4 months ago I talked to my OB about my periods and how disruptive it was on my life. I first started a non-hormonal medication to help lessen my bleeding but after 2 months it was not helpful. Last month I started this BC and it has been the worst month. Started with headaches every day after about 4-5 days of starting and then it’s been a constant spotting/ bleeding the last 2 weeks. Not to mention I feel like I’m going mentally bonkers, mood swings and always exhausted. I am always irritated or on the verge of crying. My libido is nonexistent at this point. I’m just trying to make it past the 2-3 month mark on BC to qualify for a hysterectomy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alyx | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Lolo for 10 years and I absolutely loved it I had no side effects…. except for acne. If your acne prone please don’t take this birth-control. I took it for so long I didn’t realize that it was the cause of my acne I was on and off acutane for years and then finally at the age of 25 I switch to a different birth control and my acne cleared up within a week. If you’re using this and having problems with acne I almost guarantee that’s the issue. Other than the acne I had a wonderful experience on Lolo I honestly have no huge complaints!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started these pills December 2021. I have had cystic acne every month since the first pack. I now have a lighter period. However, I now have cramping every month, crazy cravings and depression and anxiety (worse than before).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kendra | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this birth control in December 2021 after switching from a different brand for depression reasons and thought this one would be better. I was very wrong. My moods got worse. Depression worsened and I got extreme anxiety where my thoughts were in a constant loop. I also gained weight due to the increased appetite. I felt like a completely different person. My sex drive was also nonexistent and I’ve never had trouble with that on any other pill. I stopped taking this 3 weeks ago and I’m already feeling so much better. I do not recommend this pill if you have mental health issues for sure. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jolie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I very often get break through bleeds on this birth control pill and the longest period I’ve had was for 2 weeks. After bleeding for 2 week I’m so fatigued from the blood loss. I also get very bad migraines and had weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
notgoth | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medicine increased the amount I was bleeding and how frequently I bled. I lost so much blood that my anemia worsened. I also gained 20 pounds, and after getting off the pill I started growing chest hair and neck hair under my chin. I also got TERRIBLE bacne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is a good birth control, first one I started off but my periods are never on time. My acne is gone and I’ve gained maybe like 2 pounds, it is a nice birth control but it is just not working for me. My periods are much longer but only slight cramping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachael | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this BC about 2 months. Reading all these reviews is lowkey scaring me. I’ve been on many birth control pills and never once have not had a period. I haven’t had a period since starting this BC and it’s scary…( I’ve taken tests tho and no signs of a baby) I have been a steady weight of 125-128 lbs but looking at myself I think I’m starting to gain weight, not sure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lo lo estra fe | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control worked great for me. Took for about 4 years. Did not have a period after initial 2-3 month start. Would take the placebo then start next back. Did get headaches when on the white pills bc of change in hormones. Definitely gained weight too-not all at once but about 10 pounds. Curious if I will lose the weight now that I stopped it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shayla | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this birth control for almost a year. I loved it, my boobs got a little bigger lol and the pain from my periods totally disappeared. I used to not be able to move when I had periods. After about 8 months I weighed myself and noticed I had gained about 5 pounds. I’ve always been insanely fit and then. 2 months later i’m 25 pounds heavier and i am so insecure and depressed about my body. My diet, my activities have NOT changed so I KNOW it’s the birth control. I didn’t believe I’d gain weight because I’ve always had a fast metabolism and stayed the same weight since middle school. I started at 120 and now I weigh 147 and i’m 5’8. If you don’t want to gain weight don’t take this! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crayonribbon | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On month 2 of this bc and it's been a savior so far, crossing my fingers that this lasts. No period at all--was told by gyno to skip placebo and go on to the next pack. I suffer from adenomyosis (endo's evil cousin) and was losing so much blood every cycle that i needed a blood transfusion and would be anemic as a result. Couldn't even climb up stairs---taking this meds and giving it a chance is a lifesaver---im so happy now, no anemia, optimistic and no depression. Dr told me i was anemic and only getting 70% oxygen to organs due to the anemia...now im on month 2 of lo lo estrine fe and i feel better than i ever felt in 20 years. Obviously everyone's different but my energy level, no anxiety, no depression, no cramps, no bleeding a ton = priceless. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a massive blood clot (DVT) in my left leg after 10 days of use. I’m lucky to be alive. I may need to be on blood thinners for years now. I would not recommend this medication to anyone. It’s not worth the health risk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More