Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

90 People found this comment helpful

Simply put: Latuda is the most positive game changer of 20-25 med combinations my doctor and I have tried. He stopped my mirtazipine(Remeron)and replaced it with Latuda. Wow. What a difference for all the right reasons. Latuda is the very best drug I have been on during the five years I have been treated for "basic" depression, horrid nightmares, lack of focus (ADHD), chronic pain from two failed ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I am in lots of pain.

Shared reviews and ratings

Justme | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The weight gain of 30 lbs in 2 months isn't worth this drug. Suicidal thoughts gone but can barely function due to the weight gain. 5'2 at 200 lbs. Not. Good luck to everyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TAS505 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/16/2023
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been using Latuda for very long. My experience is positive. I have zero negative side effects. I am having more dreams than usual, not nightmares, just very vivid and long. I have a bit more energy and my moods have stabilized. I do not take additional meds with it. I think I found the right medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nikki | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/17/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took latuda for two years for bipolar 2. The side effects for me were nausea, tardive dyskinesia, and when my psychiatrist took me from 40mg to 60mg I developed akathesia. I HAD to take another medication such as Clonidine to counteract the tardive dyskinesia, it was unbearable. I also simply could not tolerate a larger dose from 40mg. Overall, I would rate this drug fair to poor. I haven’t had a severe depressive episode for a few years which is great because my last one had me unable to get out of bed for 30 days. I still suffer from mild to moderate depression, though. I also have some suicidal thoughts still. As for the hypomanic episodes, they have not gone away and have still made my life a little unmanageable. I sometimes feel like a shell of a person and have a low mood most of the time. I have tried a lot of different antipsychotics and even antidepressants and I have not tolerated anything other than Latuda, though. Since I still have hypomanic episodes, suicidal thoughts, and moderate depression, my psychiatrist is switching me from latuda to vraylar next week. Hopefully that drug works and I don’t have to suffer anymore. I don’t think I would take this medication again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TaylorAshley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication after a recent increase in my MDD and severe anxiety/panic attacks. I was previously on Cipralex 20mg for 8 years that worked really well, along with Quetiapine 25mg for the anxiety. I was prescribed 20mg of Latuda. I’ve been taking it only 3 days and feel like a complete zombie. I feel dizzy when I stand up, still had an anxiety attack today and get no joy out of anything. I feel like I have no personality, when I normally have a very loud and animated personality. It’s a complete shift and I hate it. Went to a clinic today, after describing my side effects was told to skip my dose tonight since it’s only been 3 days. Speaking with my doctor tomorrow to discuss switching meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was sleepy all the time and small things made not even angry but furious

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lunette | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Latuda after my new psych suspected I might have bipolar depression. I had been on Prozac 20mgs for about three years and was doing fine, but I trusted her judgement. It seemed to be working fine for the first month(took it for around 4 months), until I started with horrible episodes of akathisia. I would fall into horrible dread and felt like world was coming to an end. My depression worsened horribly and I was having thoughts of suicide. Around this time I got a new doctor and she began trying to wean me off the medication, going from 40mgs to 20mgs..this was a mistake because I suddenly gained insomnia, completely lost my appetite and would suffer from horrible bouts of panic and anxiety, not to mention the diarrhea and vomiting. Because the withdrawal symptoms were so horrible and strong I decided to go back on the pill at 40mgs but none of these symptoms improved, in fact they got worse. I became so suicidal that the doctor ordered me to lower the dose to 10mgs for 5 days before weaning off completely. Within those those 5 days of taking 10 mgs I began to see improvement. I recognize that this medication might work for some, but it was not the drug for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine caused so many seizures I have permanent brain damage. Don't make the same mistake I did, there are better medicines out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MHMan | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Latuda after a severe manic episode that led to an arrest. I haven’t felt so good in years. I feel stable and happy. My sleeping pattern is normal for the first time I can remember. I’m no longer making the impulsive decisions, no more depression, or suicidal ideations. I still experience anxiety which hasn’t become worse or better but is still the same. One thing I noticed on the medication though is if I do not go to bed when I feel tired, then I end up restless and cannot sleep at night. My doctor recommended I start taking the medication at night about an hour before bed and that did the trick. I’m so happy I found this medication. Also, side note: If you do not have Bipolar or other chemically imbalanced me STL health issues this drug will not work for you and it will cause adverse effects so keep that in mind when reading other negative reviews. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ben | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been a good drug for me. I am a very noncompliant patient usually because I had drugs that numb me but I have not been sedated by Latuda. I feel pretty stable on it usually. The only thing is that I get a little insomnia from it. I am using it in combination with low dosed propranolol which may combat the anxiety other people are experiencing. I am in a doctorate program and haven't had any loss of concentration. As a matter of fact, I think it may help my concentration a little.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sky | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awful experience. I feel incredibly restless, yet constantly exhausted at the same time. My body isn't tired, but my head is, and I feel like I can't think or do anything at all. All I can muster is laying in bed hoping for this feeling to go away. I want to be productive and move around, but I can't, because of this drug, and I hate it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen D. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Panic attacks. Trouble catching my breath and expanding my lungs. Excessive sweating day and night. Muscle pain and cramping. Muscle spasms in pelvic area. Dizzy. Nauseous. No change in mood. This drug will kill people

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mamaofthemtns | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my first experience taking any type of antipsychotic/mood stabilizing medication, I honestly think it was too intense for me, I have GAD and was diagnosed Bipolar II with Major Depression. I feel like this medication did help with the overall “bipolar” issues but I had major side effect problems, the first was is what I would describe as a “foggy brain” I got confused when driving and totally disoriented which is not typical of me I am only in my twenties and I could not for the life of me figure out where or how to get home which was scary. The second was this medication made me physically sick, I was nauseas and even threw up a few times. However the worst side effect was the intense restlessness this medication made me feel, I was crawling out of my skin and so uncomfortable, I was literally crying because I felt so uncomfortable in my own body which was absolutely awful. After a month I quit taking it and found a good therapist and haven’t had any medication since, could I probably use some meds to help with my depression? Yes, but I have managed to find coping skills and more help from therapy to keep me in a good place, I have my ups and downs and if I ever need to, I will try meds again, but as of now I am having children and breast feeding so I’m staying away from the meds for now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist, if you could call her that, prescribed me Latuda during my most recent massive depressive episode (that started around October of last year). She figured I had bipolar depression and immediately told me to go on Latuda and being a complete fool I listened to her (she's recommended a myriad of medications for every little problem that I've come to her with, everything from benzodiazapine for sleeping to anti seizure medication for sweating). My depression got progressively worse over the next few months and I could not sleep at all. I couldn't even get into bed without having massive panic attacks. It got so bad that I had to sleep in my clothes (like jeans and a sweater) on the couch in my living room because the thought of my bed made me disgusted. This was when my doctor told me to take benzos to knock me out at night which I of course did not do. I kept taking Latuda and she kept raising the dosage to try and get me out of my depression but It wasn't working. Finally one night I snapped and couldn't take the depression anymore. I was suicidal and took matters into my own hands. My course of action was to change my life situation and go off of the medication. I moved back home and weened myself off of the Latuda. I rebounded really well and am feeling much better. My doctor was skeptical and kept trying to convince me that I was bipolar, she would call me and my parents and make me question my sanity. I stopped talking to her recently and decided to go off of all my medication because I have no faith in the established psychiatry field anymore. TLDR Latuda is a massive waste of time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WorriedMom | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been a living nightmare for our teenage son who struggles with mood disorder due to severe ODD. We had hoped to take him off of Abilify even though it has worked for years because Latuda works as a mood stabilizer PLUS an anti depressant. Our 15 yr old son has been on Latuda for just over a month. Started on 10mg and worked up to 30mg. Just 2 weeks into it he started experiencing nightmares that always ended in him committing suicide (which he never had prior). Then I had to abruptly pull him off of it this past weekend because he blacked out which also has never happened before. While he was blacked out he had visions of him murdering his father and all he could do after he came to was cry to me and ask what was happening to him. Within the next hour he was in full hives so we took him straight to the ER. They agreed on taking him off of it immediately which I had already planned on. We will transition him back to Abilify however that does not help with depression. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JTD | 35-44 | Male | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have neither had a good experience or a bad one. I simply do not believe latuda does anything. I'd be better off with a placebo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First you all I have Bipolar & Anxiety was on sequoia & Zanax ER for years They had to change my Sequoia to put me on another blood thinner. I didn’t realize that my brain was frogged over the many years that I was on Sequoia. But since I’ve been on Latuda my brain is more alive than it has been for years. I will tell but for me this is a life changer. I’m 62 years old & my husband didn’t know when I would I would go crazy. I really believe n this medicine but I know that when we get to draw Medicare it probably won’t cover it. It’s so freaking SAD what we do to older Americans!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amar N Muhtaseb | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/1/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying different antipsychotics to treat Bipolar Disorder and Substance Use Disorder, Latuda (120mg) was the most effective medication I have taken so far. My mood swings are much better, I can focus again and do not need ADHD medication, and my cravings for drugs and alcohol have substantially gone away. I began taking this medication when I was 26 years of age. Today, I am 29 years old, clean and sober, and doing much better because of Latuda.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medicine for schizoaffective bipolar type, at first it seemed really bad but once it balanced itself I was very sharp. I was allergic to captyla and Seroquel but this is a related family but not in the same family. You will need to takea stimulant to produce dopamine. Alot of uneducated schizophrenics think just take one antipsychotic and get a horrible doctor. No. No. NO. Get A STIMULANT W/ this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SchizoInSD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst medication I’ve ever taken for my condition. I couldn’t function the following day while taking this medication. Not only was I tired, I was lethargic, confused and completely lost. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone with schizophrenia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lory | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It make me wake up After 4-5 hours and i can t take sleep another time. Severe insomnia. Horrible sensations at legs. Now i take tolep, very better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More