Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

50 People found this comment helpful

I'm suffering from DDD, Scoliosis, Shoulder Injury x 2 and neuropathic pain for 10 years (since age 21). Over the years, I've been prescribed Hydrocodone, Oxycodone, Codeine, Tramadol, Neurontin,Lyrica.....and finally something that works, the BUTRANS patch. Wow, I actually have control of my life again! My pain level went from an (8) pre-patch to about a (3) post-patch. I apply a new patch ...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I JUST STARTED THIS MEDICATION.

Shared reviews and ratings

Miseryandpain | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/2/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine comes in 2nd to LAST place. Nucynta takes first place and butran patches comes in 2nd. No relief severe nerve compression and impingement in l4 l5 and s1. For the first time in 5 years I was doing ok on oxycodone and belbuca. Well we all know the stories about how your life can go from rich to poor over a medicine that isn't covered anymore by insurance. Exactly my case. I had to quit softball and my work productivity has suffered immensely. Absolutely no relief. Like the one guy said its like putting a sticker on your body for no good reason. Belbuca doesn't have a generic so its like a ridiculous 800$ a month. I was finally getting a little bit of my life back and its now ripped away again. I think I got more relief from Tylenol then this crapRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tabitha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/10/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cervical spinal stenosis, degenerative disc disease, bulging/slipped disc, sciatica, Rheumatoid arthritis, nerve damage, and a few other diagnosis. I was on 300mg morphine a day ( 100mg every 8hrs) & 10mg Norco 5-6x a day. I got down to 200mg of morphine and 10mg Norco 5x a day and realized the drop to 200mg in morphine didn't make a difference. I'm tired of taking pills and I kinda want to live... So I asked my Dr to be taken off the morphine. By time we got to 150mg morphine my neck, back, and legs were hurting so bad I was crying everyday. So I asked about the patch. I started the patch at 10mg two months ago. The first month I took it I was taking 75mg of morphine a day and 4 10mg Norco. This month 15 mg patch, no morphine, and 10mg Norco 4x a day. It does help my upper body pain, especially my neck. But my legs are hurting so bad and nothing but cutting off circulation helps. I won't go back to morphine because it's just not healthy. I'm starting pt 3x a week next week so hopefully that helps. But I would say the patch works. Definitely helped with withdrawal symptoms from morphine. I think everyone's different and our bodies react differently to each med. I would definitely recommend trying it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/2/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started off with the 5mcg, but have since moved up to 15mcg. I absolutely hate these. They're completely useless and provide no relief whatsoever. I'm also being prescribed Oxycodone and that does so much better then the patch. I honestly feel that whenever it comes to the patch, I'm just putting a sticker on my body for no good reason. That's just how useless it is for me. Just my experience though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did 10 days of 10mcg with no pain relief. Finally removed the second patch after developing hives and terrible itching under the patch. Now I have to depend on my small dose of meds for breakthrough pain. Going to be a very long, torturous month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Quinn | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/20/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking low doses (5 mcg patch & 7.5 mcg patch during winter) for Functionality Goals rather than complete pain coverage. I'd rather balance some pain and have a clear head & be safe to drive when I can (rarely, but treasured). Many days the pain is lower, but there are still severe breakthrough pain at times or during flareups (weather related or overdoing it). Taking Gabapentin for neurological pain as well. Low dose allows me to do light chores & housework more consistently, take stairs a few times per day vs rarely/at all, bathe myself consistently, and draw & take my pets on walks during warmer months. Sleep has improved. Mood has improved. Cognition is sharper (less pain fog). Far fewer weeks/days bedridden during winter. Side effects were dry mouth, constipation, and seeping/weeping horribly skin sores (itched worse than Chicken Pox) that shed the patch early by oozing pus from the application site. Applying Flonase to the skin & letting it dry before applying Butrans patch helped greatly. However, it still leaves scabs & scars. Good skin was on of the few things chronic illness left, but scabs & scars are worth it vs. being bedridden, immobile, unable to take stairs, or draw at all. Getting some of my mobility back, ability to assist around the home, and doing art again has been a miracle.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JulianneT | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Morphine for 6 years and couldnt get my levels below 7.Iam on the Butrans 10mcg and my pain levels have been the lowest they have been in years. My pain management doctor told me I do need to increase the dosage because it isnt being effective for the full 7 days, by the 6th day it starts wearing off. Overall, I am pleased with it. The side effects I have is weight loss, chills and headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boo boo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I throw up just about every day , so then I quarter them .. then I go through chills , shakes , glittery ... does anyone else have this ? Is there something else I can take to keep me off pain pills ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried both the 5 mcg and now the 7.5 mcg. The patch does nothing to relieve pain. I get more pain relief with my oral pain medications. I would never recommend this medication. It is totally useless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/29/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a while I was using tramadol 50 mg 3times a day. I did not hepl much. Even norco couldn't heepl enough. So I was put on Butrans. 20 mgs/h. The pain relief came after 3 days! But it came. After a month my dosage was increased to 40 mcg = 2 patches at one time. And switch after 96 hours. My pain is constantly low. 2/10.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes this has helped me not need the regular pain pills. But the withdrawl is really bad. I had to cancel my regular appt due to a COVID scare and I had my last patch on but my Dr couldn't get me in until way after I had to take it off. And I was miserable. I think it's worse than withdrawling off regular pain pills. Need to talk to my Dr about something else. I wouldn't wish that on anyone. And they say Ins companies want the Dr's to use this instead of giving out pain pills. You still can get addicted to this patch. Like I said it works and helps but if you can't get them like your suppose to it horrible trying to deal with it. And the withdrawl is longer than with regular pain pills. And it's probably because of it being a continuous release into your body 24 hrs everyday unlike pain pills you can just take them as needed. So I think I'm going to ask my Dr to switch back to my regular medication because I do not like this at all. And my Dr tries to tell me this will be better for me, I'm thinking he's wrong. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Some Old Guy | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/9/2020
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does absolutely nothing to ease my pain. It is supposed to have a synergistic relationship with the oral morphine sulfate I take but even at the 20mg dose, I don't feel any additional pain relief compared to taking the morphine alone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/26/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have constant dry mouth, skin irritation and trouble sleeping but most of all no pain relief. I've also noticed weight gain, has anyone else gained weight with this patch? I personally wouldn't recommend this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jthawk101 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/6/2020
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a disabled veteran with total spine injury and I also suffer from painful Polymyalgia Rheumatica. I was on Hydrocodone and Morphine for pain and PTSD. The Butrans patch works great but in my case it is only affective for 5 days and I go into withdrawals 2 days before the next replacement. I no longer take either Hydrocodone or Morphine I only use 15 mcg of Butrans patch. HELP!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daisy's Dad | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is simply and awful drug that is shockingly being misrepresented as a front line pain managment, pain control, pain reduction drug. It was originally develop pre 1970 and introduce as a pain Mgmt drug, but ulitamately from what I can tell failed due to the higher performance of truer opioid Meds that such as Brand names drugs like Percocet or base Morphine products. In or about 2000 it was relaunched as a "ruling" class Opioid, safer addiction treatment alternative and just as effective. In truth it's nothing like anything that is reliably effective. Case in point; 86 reviews on it with all of us requiring a fast action Opioid like Morphine IR or 10/325 Oxy vs 1565 Oxy reviews with a better overall and effective rating. Dr's like mine are being either scared or bullied into writing scripts for this trash and people like myself with MS, 11 invasive surgeries including multiple cervical fusions, multiple thoracic disc replacements and once of my fusions is broken. Further, the pressure in Dr's is so high by the states and the DEA that they are not even communication what this garbage really is a in my case it was equitably compared to a fentanyl patch in performance expectations and ease of us. It was my pharmacy that actually told me what it was and how it would or more so would work. I had no titration down from 100 Morphine Equivalents and was started on a patch of 7.5mcg. This medicance is so misunderstood; that when I went into withdrawal, then became dehydrated from the bowel distress and vomiting our little country hospital didn't know what to do and was to scared to help - on a Sunday afternoon. IF GIVEN THE CHOICE, please don't agree to it and save yourself a ton of unneeded misery and suffering. Best of luck and find a doctor you trust Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daisy's Dad | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is simply and awful drug that is shockingly being misrepresented as a front line pain managment, pain control, pain reduction drug. It was originally develop pre 1970 and introduce as a pain Mgmt drug, but ulitamately from what I can tell failed due to the higher performance of truer opioid Meds that such as Brand names drugs like Percocet or base Morphine products. In or about 2000 it was relaunched as a "ruling" class Opioid, safer addiction treatment alternative and just as effective. In truth it's nothing like anything that is reliably effective. Case in point; 86 reviews on it with all of us requiring a fast action Opioid like Morphine IR or 10/325 Oxy vs 1565 Oxy reviews with a better overall and effective rating. Dr's like mine are being either scared or bullied into writing scripts for this trash and people like myself with MS, 11 invasive surgeries including multiple cervical fusions, multiple thoracic disc replacements and once of my fusions is broken. Further, the pressure in Dr's is so high by the states and the DEA that they are not even communication what this garbage really is a in my case it was equitably compared to a fentanyl patch in performance expectations and ease of us. It was my pharmacy that actually told me what it was and how it would or more so would work. I had no titration down from 100 Morphine Equivalents and was started on a patch of 7.5mcg. This medicance is so misunderstood; that when I went into withdrawal, then became dehydrated from the bowel distress and vomiting our little country hospital didn't know what to do and was to scared to help - on a Sunday afternoon. IF GIVEN THE CHOICE, please don't agree to it and save yourself a ton of unneeded misery and suffering. Best of luck and find a doctor you trust Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. L | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Female, >50, euro decent; FMS-Fibromyalgia, CFS, Reynauds, hypothyroid, severe OA in my spine, had a PE last winter. and so on and so on. So I’m a hot mess of pain, exhaustion and was in bed most of the week trying many many meds over a few years. Then came Butrans, 5 did nothing, 10, meh, but 20 was enough to get me up and start cleaning the house with breaks. Trust me, I have 4 children, 2 young busy ones at that- this patch allows me to semi keep up in life. So much so that I am in school again FT studying plus running the household with all the kids. My only strong gripe about this patch is that it is NOT WATERPROOF! I suspect this is why it does NOT last 7 days as advertised. This med allows me to control severe FMS pain fairly well. But as another poster said - but as I said, it’s effective for 5 days. Not 7. I’m not sure if it’s wearing it in the shower- but it peters out at day 5 and I have to take double my backup med for breakthrough pain -Percocet 5/325. I’ve tried covering it with duct tape and other tapes- but by day 6, I am slowly feeling some withdrawal and by day 7 I’m a hot mess of withdrawal if I forget to double up the Percocet. Butrans has allowed me to live a fairly normal life, without the need to remember to take the Percocet every few hours. I have a lot of memory problems with FMS and was not controlling my pain well at all just with the percs. For anyone else out there with Fibromyalgia or CFS, I’s Also like to suggest using Baclofen. Not a narcotic . It’s a CNS drug, but it seems to help severe FMS well in the sense that if you take one 1-2x during the day, plus a couple before bed, it helps with the muscle stiffness and exhaustion in the mornings at least. That feeling of “got hit by a truck” we have on waking. Also I suggest Naltraxone. That helps a lot too for some reason- not with the pain really, but the tiredness. Hope I’ve helped someone :-) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BlueLava | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Roxicodone for 8/yrs, due to all the new regulations my PM Dr changed me to Butrans 10...this thing is a pain to put on and keep on your body..makes me feel totally lethargic all day, cant get anything done..it only controls the pain about 50%, dry mouth, nausea and trouble sleeping..I am going to try to get on an ER medication such as Kadian.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hurtling | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2018
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Expensive, and does not work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aldo | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On lowest dosage and seeing good results after 3 months. Very encouraged. Patch irritates skin after 6 days for some reason.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2018
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It hasn’t helped my pain at all. I can no longer tolerate the nausea and headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More