Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

Was prescribed this during the first semester of college and Experienced Depression, anxiety, couldn't sleep, nauseas headaches and I've always had clear skin and my back chest and face broke out (not severely) but noticeably. I was very moody and did not feel myself at all. Cried all the time. I only stayed on it for about 4 months. Felt like it took 2 months to have it completely out of my syste...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I have been switched to this medication from Levora and it is exactly the same except my new packs DONT come with the reminder stickers. Why is this? I dont start my pack on Sundays and never have and unfortunately have always relied on these stickers. I really wish the company would still provide them.

Shared reviews and ratings

Kai | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall, this birth control has been great for me. I’m 30yo, very active, and have been diagnosed with anxiety depression. The side effects have been minimal for me and hasn’t effected my mental health in any way, I have only experienced breast pain about mid way through my cycles, but it passes after a couple days. I had a lot of ongoing breakthrough bleeding for the first 2 months, which was frustrating, but by month 3, I only spotted for a few days during my placebo week. Great birth control overall. I would recommend, especially if you’re active, which I think makes a difference. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to have extremely clear skin and this made my acne absolutely horrible!!! I also had horrible cramps with my period every month and am so glad to be getting off of this pill

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
H | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading the other reviews, it’s safe to say that the pills do vary from person to person. As per my experience, I’ve had chest pains, headaches, cramps & nausea every single day. I hate that I received these pills as a substitute; They literally made me question whether I really needed to take them even though I know I do. SMH.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasmine | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally don't do this, but when I was just about to start taking altavera, I decided to read the reviews and they are awful! it made me really nervous to get onto it myself, but it has been no where near as extreme as these people have said. everyone has different experiences, but mine were very mild in comparison. I had some headaches, a couple of mood swings, and a little bit of nausea but overall it has worked great! my acne cleared up quite a bit and it is fantastic at preventing pregnancy. just as long as you take it correctly and don't miss any days, youll be fine. the one thing I noticed that freaked me out a bit was that my periods came within the reminder weeks, but not til the 3rd or 4th pill, but I always got them. i would highly recommend!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HIC | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/2/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mean I guess it’s alright if you take it as you should and don’t miss any days. I missed one day and my cycle started immediately lol it was absolutely horrible. I was bleeding longer than my usual cycle but now I’m not skipping any days however I’m not taking at the pill at the exact time but around the same time. With that being said I’ve been depressed like a mf. Like literally don’t want to do anything so maybe I should take it at the same time lol it also makes sex so painful for me so I guess that’s another plus for not having kids lmao but fr I’m fighting for my life but that’s on me. Just letting y’all know.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hgprocks | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

im suprised to see all of the negativ reviews because this birth control was a god send for me. If you have pcos i highly recommend . Within the first few months my depression was erased almost entirely, my acne on my face, chest, and back cleared up, my periods regulated, my boobs got bigger (more shapely), and i became so confident! The only downside would be an increase in appetite so some small weight gain, but chewing gum, drinking water, light exercise, and eating fairly healthy has helped to keep the majority of that at bay! :) i hope someone who has pcos tries this medication out because it sincerely saved me Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Altevera | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/22/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good! Acne has clearned up within the first week and no weird side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
guest | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst side effect of this pill, it makes me explosively angry all the time. I can't wait to switch back to my previous pill. I would rather pay for a different pill than to take this one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Letícia Xavier | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel like sh** taking this pill. I had headache, nausea, diarrhea EVERY DAY! I do NOT recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KawaiiAngel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps to not keep you pregnant. Was switched to this after taking levora for a year and just in the first month I have had a headache for at least two weeks straight with little help from nsaids. Not just a little headache I mean severe headache like throbbing aching pain. It has even made me nauseous which never happened to me on levora. Don’t take this birth control ever. I’m not even taking the other two packs I have of this birth control because it is THAT bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ava | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was origonally on levora(best one ive used) for three months before they put me on altavera because they were out of my normal prescription. This is a generic for levora that they same is the "same thing" but no the heck it is not. I only took this pill for 9 days because I WAS LOOSING MY HAIR. I already have thin hair to begin with, and now after nine days I have several bald spots. not to mention I gained 6lbs in 9 days which is A TON considering I weigh 105 normally. this drug also made me very emotional, it was literally like depression in a pill. I was feeling so tired, constipated, and dehydrated. Unfortunetly ontop of it all my skin broke out horribly on my forehead and keep in mind I have never had forehead acne in my life. lastly, I now have a nasty yeast infection. overall this medication was terrible in my experience. I stopped taking it four days ago. sadly im now 6 pounds heavier, and going bald. please do not use this birth control EVER. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/3/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally started taking birth control for my acne problems. I was prescribed Altavera after the other one I had been taking was â??discontinued.â? But it was the same exact thing, so they said. I immediately started breaking out all over, cystic acne on my face, bacne, even on the chest. Sure I had acne on my face before, but this pill caused it to worsen and spread to other places. I am 6-7 months in now and Iâ??m going completely off the pill. I am having horrible mood swings, I donâ??t feel like myself anymore. I get awful headaches almost every day and sometimes nausea. I donâ??t recommend. My body feels like an absolute mess. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/25/2021
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It caused me to get lightheaded and made my depression worse. It also made me gain 20 pounds in 3 months. It did help with my periods becoming lighter.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MyersC | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great for not getting pregnant but the side effects are bad for me. My depression is starting to come back, a lot of crying, lower sex drive, some times even headache. Though some good thing are I have a very light period and no weight gain, might have even lost some weight. Been on it for 3 months, will see if the symptoms get better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2020
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was a good fit for me. On it for 4 years and I am older 47. As far as birth control, if you experience break through bleeding, the pill is nit the right dosage fir you. With birth control you may need to switch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
courtneymarie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2018
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this for my ovarian cysts and painful periods, and it has worked wonders for me! Periods have gotten lighter and barely any pain or bloating during my cycle. No acne, or weight gain. I've actually had weightloss!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/7/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for over 2 years. Helped alleviate my PMS & cramps. The problem is when I would be stressed out with school and work i would spot bleed. Every month it was like I’m periododically spotting due to stress in my life. My breasts get tender before my period too. Overall it worked well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MotherofCats28 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weight gain, yeast infections and mood swings. that about says it all. didn't really affect libido much going off birth control all together

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RubyRue | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this drug for a month now and I love it. I had an abortion before I starred this drug and this lessened my bleeding. My skin is fine, it never was unclear. My weight is actually going down but I'm open to that changing later. No vomiting, headaches, random nausea, or mood swings. My sex drive has been the same, through the roof. Only thing that I've noticed is my sensitivity to salty foods. I've always gotten sodium headaches if I've eaten to much salt through out the day but now it's a bit more sensitive to alot of chips, too much gravy, and popeyes chicken. Either than that... I LOVE IT! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YellowZ | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this during the first semester of college and Experienced Depression, anxiety, couldn't sleep, nauseas headaches and I've always had clear skin and my back chest and face broke out (not severely) but noticeably. I was very moody and did not feel myself at all. Cried all the time. I only stayed on it for about 4 months. Felt like it took 2 months to have it completely out of my system. I hope no one else takes this, getting off of it was the best thing. The benefits are not worth all the bad side effects of altavera. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More