Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

This drug will either make you a fire breathing mad woman OR a clear skinned, big tittied angel... Test your luck...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I just started taking this pill and now that I know after reading some reviews that I'm not going crazy!! I have terrible nausea, bloating, and my emotions can change in the span of a half a second -- I can go from being okay to just completely bitter and rude to crying uncontrollably the next. I hate it. I thought there was something wrong with me. I've stopped immediately. I just want a pill whe...

Shared reviews and ratings

Hanna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recommended this pill from my doctor to help with my awful period cramps, and the last pill I was on (I forget what it was) worked fine, I just gained a few pounds and was bloated so I wanted to switch. The first month on Loryna was fine, I felt ok and I didn't notice anything other than being a little bit agitated sometimes. My period came 1 week early, and did not stop the rest of the time I was on the pill. The second and third month were horrible. While on the pill I hated myself, and I was having very depressive thoughts, none of which I had before starting this pill, and this effected the people around me because I would always be in a horrible mood. I gained (I swear) almost 15 pounds, which I lost after getting off of the pill, and I am guessing it was water retention. My face was always swollen, I had horrible bags under my eyes, my stomach was always bloated, and I had no energy whatsoever. The pill helped with my cramps and was fine when it came to preventing pregnancy, but the side effects for me were horrible and I did not feel like me while on this pill, but more like a sluggish, angry, depressed monster. The first day of not taking the pill I immediately stopped bleeding, and within a month of stopping I lost most of the weight I gained. overall, I had a horrible experience with this pill, and I know it isn't the same for everyone, but I would not recommend this pill for anyone that does horribly with hormonal side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SamanthaBruce | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/20/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on loryna for four years now. It cleared up my acne within a few weeks, my sex drive dropped a bit but not too bad long as I kept on a schedule my moods or body didn’t change. I was also put on it for weight gain. I did have changes in appetite that went back to normal. And I have way less cramps than I ever had before. But all in all it has been the best BC I’ve ever been on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/25/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Gianvi for almost a year until CVS gave me Loryna. I read online that they had the same active ingredients but different inactive ingredients so I wasn't too worried. About two weeks on the pill I began to bleed and was not expecting my period to start for three weeks. I bled for the entire 3 and a half months before I finally went to my pharmacist. In those three months I had random dizziness (even when I was just sitting down) and I had horrible chest pains. I was so scared I went to the doctor and had them run a bunch of tests that came back normal. I got my blood drawn, an echocardiogram, and multiple EKG tests. I will say my skin was clear and I never one had a pregnancy scare. When I switched back to Gianvi I immediately stopped bleeding. I no longer had chest pains and dizziness. Unfortunately, Gianvi was discontinued and I am hoping that Vestura works out for me. But do not let me persuade you, everyone's body is different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samantha | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on the medication for only 3 days and let me tell you this is the worse birth control you can ever be prescribed. Last night I had so much pain in my chest , nausea , & very dizzy. Here I am at the hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Li9684 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/12/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This specific medication for me is very effective and I did have less cramps while on my cycle. The downside of the medication is it has really done a number on my sex drive, mood, and weight gain. After sticking with the medication for about 2 years, I’ve realized it was the medication that was the actual reason I didn’t have a sex drive or why I was very moody.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nat | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The downsides to this drug—slight weight gain and decreased interest in sex—are outweighed by the tremendous positive impact on my mood, effectiveness in preventing pregnancy, and that it improves my skin. I feel much more even keeled than before I took this and my PMS is much improved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve tried basically every birth control under the sun. I’ve had horrible acne, depression and anxiety, insomnia, weight gain.. basically every side effect. I was really hesitate getting on loryna because of not only my past experiences but the reviews of blood clots and spider veins. I am just starting my fourth pack (about 2 1/2) weeks in bc I skip the placebo. But my skin has cleared significantly, no change in mood and I’m feeling amazing. The first month I had weird chest pain and horrible breakout that I had never had before but other than that everything has been amazing! Definitely recommend if your derm tells you that your acne is hormonal! It really clears it up!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alyssa | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading reviews, I was super nervous to start this birth control. I couldnâ??t afford YAZ due to it being a $300 a month, so I figured Iâ??d try Loryna. Iâ??m so happy I did. My acne has cleared, I havenâ??t gained weight because of this birth control, and it works just like any other BC; youâ??re not getting pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hey guys, I’ve been on this medication for almost 4 months now and am happy to report that I no longer have any active spots. All that’s leftover is hyperpigmentation! Also have not gotten pregnant nor used and other forms of contraceptive. Win win!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helpwithpilll | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/26/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I had started the Loryna pill for my acne my skin cleared up perfectly and it was absolutely amazing. This time period was for about 2 years. Then somehow my pharmacy switched me to Nikki which is another brand and it broke my face out. So I talked with my pharmacy and switched it back to loryna and then started the problems. I started getting cystic acne all over my cheeks and I have no clue what to do next about it. I may switch to another birth control or I may try accutane which is my last resort. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Al97 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was nervous to start back on birth control because I had such bad experiences on 2 others (nexaplanon and microgestin). But Iâ??m on my third pack and I really like it. I havenâ??t had any weight gain, if anything a few pounds lost, no acne. I donâ??t have any head aches and stomach aches like I experienced with microgestin and it has not messed with my moods or depression and anxiety like nexaplanon did. If youâ??ve had bad experiences with other birth controls I recommend trying this one. Iâ??ve seen a lot of bad reviews on Loryna so I was scared to start it but Iâ??ve had a good experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Belle85 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/17/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m on my 3rd pack of this medicine. I actually love it. I havenâ??t had any mood swings, weight gain, low libido and my skin is actually glowing. Iâ??ve suffered from acne my whole life and besides a few cystic breakouts my first month I have the clearest skin ever. My breast grew about half a cup and are perky. I suffer from constipation and this pill has actually made me regular. I have no bloating since Iâ??ve been on it. My stomach is actually flat. The only downside on it i have is that I am spotting quite frequently on it. I will talk to my doctor about it, hopefully it will subside and I wonâ??t have to switch. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In a word, disappointed. It was helpful when it came to controlling my cycles and acne but I definitely gained weight on it and was constantly bloating. My periods lasted longer than normal. I felt crazy on this pill, constantly irritated and upset.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prttydani1004 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/12/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over the years I've had so many issues with birth control with headaches weight gain constipation nausea spotting being over emotional.. a total nightmare... until I got out on loryna... I'm in love now 2 years later still on it and love it. I have no headaches no weight gain no loss of sex drive no weight gain nothing.. it was temporarily on back order and got switched to something else and it was horrible... as long as they manufacture it I'll never get off of it! I urge people to give it a chance for too yourself, dont ne too quick to hide based off of someone else experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cml24 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being scared of taking any form of the pill due to the horrible acne/weight gain, my obgyn convinced me to try Loryna. Although I have only been on this for 3 months, I have had no problems with acne, weight gain, etc. My breasts definitely got larger, and could be a factor for an increased appetite (although college students justify anything to eat ha). Very happy with my experience. Although there are horror stories, I have had no problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have the opposite reaction of most of you ladies. I have been on this for about 5 months to help me easily transition into menopause. It has worked WONDERS for that. This month my CVS ran out of it and gave me Gianvi instead and I am a MESS - insomnia, anxiety, mood swings, I feel like I did before I started taking the Loryna. I am going back to that pronto and telling them NEVER Gianvi again. Also, not sure if it's an age thing or what, but I haven't gained weight and moods have improved instead of gone downhill. I will probably cross post this review to the Gianvi site just to give my experiences of both drugs.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/2/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Loryna for a couple of years now (maybe 3 or 4?). I absolutely LOVE this pill for controlling my acne. It is the only other thing besides daily antibiotics (doxycycline) that have controlled my acne. I tried Sprintec prior to this and it did nothing for my acne. Short term, I have had no side effects from Loryna. No weight gain, no extreme mood swings, nothing. My only complaint and reason for considering switching is that after taking this long term, i recently developed spider veins on my thighs. I have NEVER had such a thing so it was very concerning as i am only 25 and in very good health, and as I know there are increased risks for DVT while taking this drug. Recently the areas on my thigh where the spider veins developed have become somewhat painful at work (as I stand all day). I attribute the development of the spider veins directly to Loryna as this is only medication I have taken the past couple years. It is such a shame because I absolutely love what it has done for my skin (flawless even during the time around my period), but the veins cause a large concern for me so I am heavily considering switching. Overall, I love Loryna for the shorter term, however if you plan to be on it for a few years, it may be concerning. I also know someone else who was on Gianvi (another generic for Yaz) and the same thing happened to her regarding spider/varicose veins. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aar94 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for about a week. I take it in the morning. I changed from junel fe to this pill for acne. the junel was not helping with the acne at all, just pregnancy prevention. So far my skin hasnt done much clearing up, but I've noticed some back ance / white heads on my back. I have never had back acne and just experience face acne. Hoping that this won't continue or I will have to switch. I'll keep you up to date

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
20 year old female | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good brand, first one I tried. My side effects: Breasts got larger, hungry all the time, possibly helping with acne? The instruction manual is very clear and it seems like pharmacies like CVS always have it (it's popular!?) because I've ordered it last minute twice and they've had it ready for me within the hour. It's a good one to try but ask your doctor as always :-)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
k1993 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on birth control for years. I was having break through bleeding with my last pill so my doc switched me to Loryna bc she had previously used it and loved it. Ive been on it for 4 months and the cyst acne, bloating, headaches, hot flashes, and mood swings/fatigue are horrible. Super lite and quick periods, but I feel like Im going crazy. Switching to an IUD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More