Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

45 People found this comment helpful

I AM A 76 YEAR OLD MALE WITH METASTIC PROSTATE CANCER,WHICH HAS SPREAD TO MY BONES. I HAVE HAD CHEMICAL TREATMENTS SUCH AS LUPRON AND ALSO TESTICAL REMOVAL IN ORDER TO LOWER MY TESTOSTRONE, ALL WORKED FOR A WHILE THEN MY PSA STARTED TO RISE. MY DR TOLD ME WHEN IT GOT TO 165 SHE WOULD INSIST I TAKE ZYTIGA. I HAVE BEEN ON IT FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND MY LAST PSA TEST ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO MY PSA WAS 5.6...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Have not yet taken zytiga, but will be soon! Anyone out there using or has used this drug, please post a remark!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Nighthawk779 | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/5/2020
Condition: metastatic castration-sensitive prostate cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I starting taking Zytiga the first of February no initial side effects and my psa dropped undetectable. Continued using until June 2-3 when I went to emergency room. I was admitted to ICU and spent a week in ICU I had 1500 milliters of fluids and my potassium was real low never did get a value. Then went to rehab for a week all the time not taking Zytiga felt good. Started taking Zytaga again by the end of September values again were out of wack. Stopped taking the Zytiga. Couldn't put shoes on so much edema. Went into my docs stopped Zytiga and started taking lasix 20mg and potassium 20meg. Waiting lab resultsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Manny | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2019
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a miracle drug for me so far; been using it for just a couple of months with prednisone twice a day and it has dropped my PSA level down from over 400 to just 7.2 in less than 2 months without any side effects. I am participating in a clinical trial while using this drug and I fear what's going to happen when the study is over. So far it's working and the quality of my life has been greatly improved in all areas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MS | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After stop using Casodex about 6 months ago & Starting Zytiga 1,000 mg daily. My PSA level came down monthly from 21.766, 8.677,6.399 & in Jan 2017 to 5.308.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Concernedwithsideeffects | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/20/2015
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father in law has been taking Zytiga for 12 days. Tonight we asked the hospital staff to stop the drug as he has been miserable since taking them. In fact he has begged to come of them but he was encouraged to keep trying. He is 80 and diagnosed 2 years ago with prostate cancer. Since taking them he has been bed- ridden (almost immediately after taking first dose). He experience severe hot flashes, sweating, lack of energy, no appetite, confusion(not characteristic of him). His also complained that that his head felt muddled all the time. It's a shame that it has not worked for him. Yes PSA level reduced but NO quality of life for him.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AoW 1 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2015
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My PSA was 600, After taking Zytiga 250mg 4x a day & Prednison 5mg Tabs 2 X a day. My PSA droped to 10 in 2 months. Very little side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bhr | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
1/19/2015
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dad is currently 78 years old and was initially diagnosed in 1996 with Gleason 9 and PSA 32. He still works full time and enjoys an excellent QOL. He started Zytiga with prednisone in April, 2014 with rising PSA peaked at 214. His PSA has steadily decreased with very few side effects. .: May, 2014 PSA 125; June, 2014 PSA 26.6; July, 2014 PSA 24.3; Aug, 2014 PSA 18.8; Oct., 2014 PSA 16.4; Nov., 2014 PSA 13; Dec., 2014 PSA 7.6.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TINMAN | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/9/2014
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I STARTED ON 1000MG OF THIS DRUG 12/1/2013 WITH A PSA OF 35.8 AND BY 3/1/2014 MY PSA WAS AT 5.3 AND I REDUCED TO 750MG THRU 6/1/2014 WITH MY PSA AT 3.0 AND LEVEL. I AM NOW CONTINUING TO MONITOR TO DATE 8/1/2014 WITH A PSA OF 3.0 HC

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frisbee | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took casodex worked for 1 year. now on zytiga for 1 year. psa0,01 I started 2 years ago. psa was 500

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bhr | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/7/2014
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father has been taking Zytiga with prednisone for 13 days and PSA has dropped from 214 to 125. He is feeling great! PRAISING GOD!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Incinatus | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

-2001 AGE 53 PSA 6.0, Neg. biopsy. -2004 PSA 833; biopsy+ (Gleason 7..3+4) Hormone therapy... -2007 PSA eventually down to 1.4; rising to 6.0 -2008 orchiectomy...PSA 1.34, -2013 PSA 145 START ZYTIGA 1/2014 PSA 2.36 Largest complaint is "NO energy"...NO "T", since this drug has stopped the "new source", the cancer itself. Some facial flushing, overheat really easily, weight gain, occasional/rare nausea. Just before starting on this I had a met to a lymph node I my neck. Possible bone involvement. Current age: 66. Grandfather died from MCRPC. Father died with it. Hope it keeps working. Very expensive ($7500/mo.) Johnson & Johnson and PAN have helped with cost, as long as my adjusted gross income is low. I just hope it keeps working Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oldbull123 | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/29/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My PSA was 22 when I started this drug. At last check in Nov. 2013 my PSA was 0.013. I also get Lupron shots esvery 3 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rolflindy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed in 1995; PSA 83. Radiation, Lupron, & casodex worked till recently when PSA went from 9 to 19. After 3 weeks on Zytiga, PSA is 9 with minimal side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uga1 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/27/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking 250mg 4 tablets per day for 2 months with no apparent side effects. My psa went from 3.45 to my most recent of 0.40. Very pleased so far except for the cost. Estimated an approx. annual cost of $6,000-$7,000 with Medicare part D.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Endinsight | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/3/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

83-years-old. Have had Pca for 17 years. Have been under treatment at MSKCC for most of that time. Tried a number of drugs, all of which worked for short time but made me ill. Best results were with Lupron + Casodex, but Casodex ultimately failed. Have been on Zytiga + Lupron for one year. Excellent results. PSA down to below 01.0.Not wealthy so received the drugs from J&J assistance program for that year. Must renew application for assistance every year. This time around, J&J is not renewing my prescription (I'm not indigent enough). Many thousands of dollars for a one-month supply are not possible for me or most of you. J&J's marketing plan is beyond understanding. Patient must either be indigent, very wealthy or has to face dismantling his family's economic well-being so as to gain the possibility of a year or two more of life. There are millions of men with Pca throughout the world, only 10% of them can afford to pay the retail price of Zytiga. Wouldn't J&J do better selling its great product to many more men at a lower price? But who needs common sense (or compassion)? So, beware. JOHNSON & JOHNSON, DO TAKE NOTE: FOREIGN SOURCES (Israel, Canada, maybe India) are becoming available--but still around $1,000 per month. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BCC/99 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a result of continued PSA elevating my doctor started me on lupron injections quarterly. The lupron initially worked for about six months and thereafter failed to address the rising PSA which went up as high as 135. My doctor started me on Zytiga which I have been on for over six months. within the first 30 days my PSA went down from 135 to 3.5. 60 days later my PSA went down to 0.3.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ksf | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/15/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has been taking zytiga for about 5 months, and I cannot say enough good things about the drug (so far). It has been a literal life saver. He has had no side effects and his PSA has gone down from over 1000 to 62 in such a short time. It has given him back a decent quality of life which was quickly eroding when he was on chemo. We have been treating his stage 4 cancer for about 11 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fred | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Zytiga for 19 mos.PSA dropped immediately from 300 to 25 and has remained there.I have had a cough since beginning zytiga which has since become chronic.Clinical trials published by developer Jannsen Pharmacerticals list cough as the number 1 side effect at 17.5% of 1088 trial participants with castrate resistant prostate cancer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Molly's 4th | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEWARE! after taking the second dose (1000 mg + prednisone) my husband started having tremors and then uncontrollable muscle spasms. I started in his left leg making it spasm, and jump.Soon it was his whole lower body and then it spread to his upper body. For 10 hours this went on and then slowly eased off in the next couple of hours. We called the DR. who said he didn't know what was wrong, or what we could do about it. Told us there was nothing HE could do about it and to stop taking it if we wanted to and see him at his next appt.(Feb 2)This seemed like he could care less. All the time my husbands arma and legs are jumping all around. I called the pharmicist, who was very helpful,but also said she could'nt find anything that may have interacted with it. It finally completly wore off after about 15 hours of misery and now he feels OK, just tired. We won't be taking Zytiga anymore!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dw | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/30/2013
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2012
Condition: Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I AM A 76 YEAR OLD MALE WITH METASTIC PROSTATE CANCER,WHICH HAS SPREAD TO MY BONES. I HAVE HAD CHEMICAL TREATMENTS SUCH AS LUPRON AND ALSO TESTICAL REMOVAL IN ORDER TO LOWER MY TESTOSTRONE, ALL WORKED FOR A WHILE THEN MY PSA STARTED TO RISE. MY DR TOLD ME WHEN IT GOT TO 165 SHE WOULD INSIST I TAKE ZYTIGA. I HAVE BEEN ON IT FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND MY LAST PSA TEST ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO MY PSA WAS 5.6 I HOPE MY FOURTH BOTTLE BRINGS IT DOWN TO .1 I HOPE, IT IS A VERY EFFECTIVE DRUG..ONLY THING IS YOU HAVE TO TAKE PREDNISONE TO KEEP YOU FROM GETTING HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, WHICH HAS CAUSED ME TO GAIN A FEW POUNDS..I HAVE NO PAIN ANY MORERead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More