Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

the body rash is the worst for me.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

This is the end of 7th week on incivek. My biggest problem is not having any taste for food. Sometime because of the nausea I'm not able to take it. I have very dry skin and get very weak and tired when walking in house or going out. I am trying to hang in there. This treatment (now with the incivek) for me is very hard.

Shared reviews and ratings

wyndy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/26/2014
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 1 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

april 2009 i started, Interferon, rivaferon, and incivek. a nightmare. from the start. I had low white cells to begin with because of a another medical condition. I got everything. the rash was my worst. I bleed. I couldn't wear clothing. I walked around with 400 count cotton sheets around me. and didn't go out except to go to the Dr. and then hardly dressed. I neuron tin to help. I also had to inject myself with synthetic white cells, regularly. but, in my viral load kept dropping. and since the 12th week in undetectable . Here it is 2014, and feel better than I ever have in my adult life!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2014
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like other taking the requirement to consume 20g of fat prior taking Incivek everyday was hard. I found Hagen Daz ice cream was the best treat. I would recommend not to have treatment during the cold/flu season since the immune system (white blood cells) decreases along with red blood cells. I ate lots of watermelon, red meat, spinach, lentils and pumpkin seeds to increase iron naturally. I put lots of lotion and sunblock and wore long sleeve to avoid sun which reduced the chance of getting rashes. I had short of breath and caught a cold which took more than a month to recover. My virus level was undetectable after 4 weeks until now. Oh! my hairs stopped falling one week after stop the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2014
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took incivik for three months, in conjunction with 6 months of ribavirin and interferon. It was hard to eat the oil, and I had to experiement. Walnuts worked for me. I had bad insomnia at the beginning, and nearly dropped out, as I could not work well. I was given a low dose of Xanax that controlled this. I also had some nausea at start, and I was given meds that helped to control this, and did not always need to take help. At around 2 months I developed a severe rash, like a severe sunburn. This led to peeling, and itching. It was pretty hard, but again, I persisted. After 3 months the incivik was stopped, and I continued for another three months with ribavirin and interferon. Stopping the incivik meant I could eat normally, and was so nice. The rash did not wholly subside until after treatment ended, and returned in little bursts for a few months. My viral load was undetectable within 4 weeks of starting treatment, and was still undetectable a year after starting. I feel great, my liver enzymes are normal. It was hard, but worth it. Now there are better treatments on the market with out the side effects. Try them!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DrJ | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2014
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Incivek is very effective but the treatment regimen is really tough and has a lot of side effects. Fat consumption (30 grams every 8 hours) was difficult to tolerate and requires experimentation to find the best personal solution. I found that small (personal portions) of Bryers or Ben & Jerry's ice cream worked well for me. The load of calories didn't matter in this situation - due to the side-effects of the medications. I say that because I lost 50 lbs during treatment. Thankfully I'm not diabetic. I experienced a substantial rash that required intervention but I got through it. In spite of the side-effects my Hep C was cured and I remain negative 18 months later. On that basis alone it was worth it. I'm left with late stage 3 liver disease so I don't have much liver function left to lose. I just wish Incivek was available sooner so I would not have lost so much liver function. I'd go through treatment again if I had to - but I'm very glad I don't...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris g. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 2 months, my body broke out in a rash. I had to go to E.R. and was out of work for 3 weeks. It was the worse side effect ever considering prior to this treatment, i had had 2 Hep C treatments with Interferon and Ribapk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BeeKay | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went through the incevik, ribovirin and interferon protocol. I had swelling in my legs, nasty rash all over my body except my face, weakness and anemia. took weekly injections for the anemia. The itch from the rash was so bad my legs bled, and I have scarring now. Eating the fat was not easy either. I persisted and somehow went to work through it all. Three months out my viral load was undetectable and my enzyme levels were normal. Six month checkup later this summer. Glad i did it. I would NOT do it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JET | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was forced to stop treatment in the 9th week. In one week I went from no rash to high fever, rash covering my entire body, shortness of breath, just generally feeling very bad. I'm due for a one year check in June 2013. So far all testing has come back virus undetectable. If this continues the 3 month recovery from Incivek will have all been worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JET | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was forced to stop treatment in the 9th week. In one week I went from no rash to high fever, rash covering my entire body, shortness of breath, just generally feeling very bad. I'm due for a one year check in June 2013. So far all testing has come back virus undetectable. If this continues the 3 month recovery from Incivek will have all been worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tychanel | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting my 7th week of treatment and no trace of hep c after tests. But still have to complete the treatment But the results have been very satisfactory. I was hesitent to start this treatment but am glad I did.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maureen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on incivek for 6 weeks now along with the ribavirin and pegasys/interferon shot..just had my checkup and virus is undetectable in my body..the only real side effect for me is the anal irritation..can be very uncomfortable and painful at times..but no other side effects..can be hard at times to get the 20g of fat with my pill especially if you are not really hungry..but i do it..because the end result will be worth whatever i am going through now..only have to be on treatment for 24 weeks and dr says i am responding great to my treatment so i have a good prognosis to get rid of it..i sure hope so..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
waterkelly09 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

boy that's a tough one viral count went from 500millionto undetectable in 2 mths but must continue for 6 months.had servere anemia blood transfusions required.hard to eat that much fats.i was an early responder but still 3 mths of it.ankles swelled and itched

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sanderella | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Incivek regiment on Dec. 27,12 and developed a full body rash that resembled a 2nd degree sunburn, that eventually went away and my skin now feels like sandpaper with the terrible itching. But I felt great the first month: mentally and physically. Going on second month I became tired & weak,shortness of breath, some loss of interests. And I developed a very bad sore throat that lasted a month. Eating 20 grams of fat with each dose is becoming challenging. I do have bloodwork every week that they take from my hand with no pain. And I go see my Hepatologist today for the first time to see how things are going. Every one I know who has been through this tells me to just stick with it, the reward is at the end of the tunnel. I can do that! And I'll let you know what the Dr. says today.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
garylrein | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 2 liver transplants and have had issues with the 2nd one. Had to start hep c therapy with just the peg/interferon and ribaviron. After about 3-4 months, doctor stopped therapy briefly then restarted along with the incivek. There were a number of side effects, none too drastic (keep your eye on the ball). It was difficult at times (at night) to wake up to eat a MEAL and take med, but it all worked out. Just prior to the end of the 12 week therapy for incivek, virus was undetectable!! Still have a few months to finish the interferon and ribaviron treatment, but I feel better than I have felt in 3 or 4 years. DO WHATEVER your doctor recommends. The side effects are better than the alternative.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this was my second tme to take treatment for hep-c this time with the incevik seemed alot better not as sick but taking longer to bounce back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steelie3igrfr | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2013
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hard to take lge amount of fats had an embolism so i was taken off med hyperthyroidism side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ksemons | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/18/2012
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Into week 8 I developed a rash that spread all over my body. I had no choise but to stop treatment. Other then the rash I was able to tolerate the treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RFTGJS | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/6/2012
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began treatment in mid-March 2012. Having taken an earlier treatment during which I experienced horrific side effects, I was very reluctant to re-start the newer treatment (to include Incivik). But I did and managed to get through the Incivik-stage without too many problems; Just some minor aches and pains and loss of appetite. My first follow-up proved the effectiveness of the treatment as there is no detectible evidence of the virus remaining. I have a few more months of follow-up to go. My doctor is extraordinarily pleased at the result. For me, looking back, the side effects were minimal and compared to my earlier treatment a "piece of cake."Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
basil | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
10/5/2012
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

forgetting things stuttering tremors and hyperthyroid

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful.CB1961 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2012
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with hep C around 1997 give or take. I started the triple therapy on Christmas night 12/25/11. I just completed the treatment on 06/01/12. I took the incivek 3x daily, ribavirin 2x daily and pegasys shots once per week on Fridays. In 4 weeks the virus had cleared my body and has remained clear. Side effects for me were the rashes periodically, I had a hard time taking the 20 grams of fat 3x daily, but I did it. The anal itching and anal pain was a biggy for me. Very painful at times. I only had one episode for a week of the flu like symptoms where my body ached and I could hardly walk. I was able to take Aleve, and it solved the problem. Overall, I did not experience the horrific side effects that are talked about, but I know people that did. I am now waiting on my 6 month f/u to ensure that my body has maintained the viral load of (undetectable). God Bless Everyone, and do what you have to do for yourself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2012
Condition: Chronic Hepatitis C
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some tough side effects including hives, flu like symptons etc

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More