Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

Well i'm not pregnant and that's what birthcontrol is meant to do. So this works great! My boyfriend and I have been sexually active without protection. All previous reviews are pretty much just whiney people in my opinion. If youre trying to protect yourself from having a baby and it's working, don't complain. It is doing it's job effectively.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I'm going to college in 3 weeks and I have a boyfriend, so we're somewhat sexually active. So I decided to ask my Gynecologist to go birth control & she gave me syeda. I HATE IT SO MUCH! Me and my boyfriend are careful but using the pill we decided not use a condom - 2 weeks later my period doesn't come - I start freaking out and a week later it comes & the cramps are unbearable. I was told this p...

Shared reviews and ratings

L | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is NOT like Yasmin. This product is HORRIBLE. I have been taking birth control for 20 years for PCOS without a problem. Within a week I started feeling bloated and very uncomfortable. It took a couple of weeks to figure it out, but once I stopped, I was better. My pharmacist has said I am not the only person who has issues with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does its job: not to get you pregnant. Reading some of these reviews, I was terrified to make the switch from Yasmin to Syeda even though they're literally the same. Nothing has happened to me, but the nausea is awful sometimes. Like, people said their appetite increased, mine literally did the exact opposite: I feel so nauseous sometimes just thinking about certain foods I once enjoyed. Buuut, it's not that bad. I'm not pregnant and, nothing else in terms of health has been affected noticeably.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasmine | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've always used the pill as a form of birth control for the past 4 years but for 2 I have used Syeda. I honestly cannot say anything good about this brand besides the fact that it does prevent unplanned pregnancies. For the past two years I have went from happily a size 8 in jeans to an extremely skinny size 4. The amount of weight loss and hair loss that came with that was and is extreme. Not to mention the fact that my depression and mood swings have become out of control. Along with that, my sex drive is completely gone. I feel terrible when my boyfriend wants to do anything with me while I cannot get my head in the game even after trying everything. Lastly, I have struggled ever since beginning to take this with passing out spells. Every week I pass out maybe twice or three times and it's not always when others are around. It's scary when it happens alone- especially feeling it happening while behind the wheel. Do not use this brand. It has impacted my life in horrible ways and I didn't even explain all of it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/25/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Syeda I contracted horrific migraines which I had never had before and don’t run in my family like how migraines are usually contracted. I had also never had issues with cramps but after taking this, my cramping got so severe I was getting nauseous. There are better options especially for bc preventing pregnancy. My emotions got really out of whack too and I couldn’t stop crying even when I wasn’t close to starting my cycle. Anxiety also increased. The risk of this pill far out weighed the pros and I advise anyone to not use this bc. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 30yo. I have been taking BC on and off since the age of 15. I have tried a total of 5 BC options over the years. Yaz, Nuvaring, Mirena and Syeda. I'd say Syeda is one of the better experiences, up with Yaz. I don't get nauseous, I haven't experienced any weight fluctuation past my usual 3lb around my period, I am not overly emotional as I was when I was BC free. I have noticed I get way worse back cramps but this is post 1.5yr medical abortion which has changed my periods. I'd say it's a good experience overall. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've finished my second month of Syeda and I'm so happy I've finally found something that works for me. I switched to this after taking Junel for over a year and half because it gave me acne and terrible mood swings where I would be crying and feeling "down" for no reason. I never got my period on it though. Now taking Syeda, I have little to no breakouts (my skin is finally clear!!!) and I finally feel like myself again. No mood swings or depression. When I finish my pack, I now do get my period 3 days after my last active pill. Don't knock it 'til you try it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amo139 | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on my 7th month and am very satisfied. my doctor recommended this to me for my severe cramps and heavy heavy flow. I only get mild cramps the first 1 or 2 days of my period and tender breast. Not all symptoms will ever go away but it's a lot better for me than what it used to be. I had awful acne prior to taking syeda and now my skin is the best it's ever been! I still get a break out here and there but again, it's a lot better than what it used to me. I have not gained any weight either. downside is that my sex drive isn't what it used to be and I had to push through a depresive episode and I find myself more anxious than I already was. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/15/2020
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Syeda is amazing. I struggle with PCOS and other brands have made me gain weight, but not Syeda. No mood swings, no weight gain but actual 20lbs weight loss. Even with a couple missed days and unprotected sex, it is extremely effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sav | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I honestly debated writing a review because I thought I was just crazy. I was switched form the generic version of Yasmin to the drug Syeda. I had been on Yasmin for over two years until they put me on this new one. I had never experienced weight gain, moodiness, and all of my acne was gone on the generic Yasmin. It was wonderful. As soon as I got put on Syeda, within a few weeks, I had gained weight, was extremely bloated to the point where I couldnâ??t fit in my normal clothes, my acne got so much worse as well as my mood swings. Another strange thing that started happening, my blood pressure would randomly drop. I didnâ??t even think birth control could cause that until I got off of it and everything went back to normal. I no longer feel like Iâ??m going to pass out, Iâ??m losing all of the weight after a few months of being off of it, and my acne has cleared up on its own. I was only on Syeda for maybe 3 months and it made everything so much worse. I would not recommend syeda to anyone I know. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kylie A | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
4/25/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched birth controls back In January and started taking Syeda then. My weight has gone up so much and my breasts have gone up two cup sizes. I am always very moody and always bloated no matter what. I will be switching birth controls very soon. Syeda sucks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fuckedbysyeda | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2020
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been hell for me. I've been on it for 3 weeks and have had horrible depression and mood swings. I am not a crier, never have been but I think i've had more emotional breakdowns in 3 weeks than I have had in my entire 19 years of life. I've felt so upset and angry out of nowhere. I'd be okay and then suddenly off the rails. Also, I've noticed extreme bloating which i'm scared will end up being weight that stays on me. This stuff is poison and anyone who tells you otherwise doesn't care for your wellbeing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 6 weeks I have gone from happy, smiley and a total optimist to grumpy, feeling tense, annoyed by everything, and now have resting bitch face 24/7. Gained 10 pounds, which is unheard of for me because I always struggle to gain weight. Also bleed really heavy on week 2-3. Needless to say Iâ??m done after this pack. Not worth the side effects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was previously on Estarylla my first month of taking birth control 3 months ago. I ended up having a 30 day period and had to switch to a higher dosage and was given Sydea. It has definitely been better than Estarylla for me, but I constantly have a burning pain in my intestine area and my acne has gotten a lot worse. I never had acne until I started taking this pill and it sucks :( It’s not the worst but it’s not the best, don’t be afraid to try it but if it doesn’t work for you, don’t be afraid to switch! My nausea got a lot better after the 1st month of Sydea, but I wouldn’t say completely better. It works as a birth control and it has lightened and shortened my periods, but the constant burning pain and acne definitely isn’t fun! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tami | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my 2nd month using for birth control. First 2-3 week I was nauseas almost every day to the point I really considered stopping but pushed through. My first period I had barely any cramps! I get horrible painful and heavy periods usually, Flow was also less. So far so good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/18/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What I thought was going to save me from my horrific past experiences with birth control, actually made me way worse. I started taking Syeda in October of 2018 and after about 2 months, I swear I started morphing into a different person. Mood swings, all the time. I generally do not have a short fuse but with this medication, it made me angry all the time. Cramps got worse on and off periods. My flow was even heavier. My sex drive decreased dramatically. The only thing good that I can honestly say came out of it besides no unplanned pregnancies, is the fact that it cleared up my acne. But other than that, it made me an anxious, angry, and miserable person. I am currently working on switching methods again. Every medication is different for every individual, but I can definitely say I will never resort back to Syeda again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Onlyfoolsandhorses | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible weight gain. Iâ??m a very thin person, size 2 and this pill made me gain 10lbs in less than 2 months, thatâ??s a lot for me. It was all water. My breasts were so swollen and went up 2 sizes. My belly looked popped like when I was 3 months pregnant! hated it. I tried to report that horrible weight increase to the company but they werenâ??t exactly receptive. I have taken Yaz and Yasmin in the past with no problems. Never again would I take this medication. Anyone who says that BC doesnâ??t cause weight gain, even if itâ??s water, is not being truthful. Thankfully it all went after 6 weeks. Iâ??m back into my jeans. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AQ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the first month i had crazy stomach pains almost to the point of nausea but i had no period symptoms before i got my period such as mood swings or sore breasts. i did have some cramps during the first day of my period though. however, as i started using these pills more the cramps lessened. my flow was also less heavy than usual and didn’t last as long. my skin was always nice and smooth. I feel myself hungrier than usual though not sure if it’s because of the pills or just me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/9/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love Syeda. It has completely cleared up my acne. But i’ve been on it for about 3 or 4 years now and every year I’ve gained 10 pounds and it hasn’t done much for my periods. Considering switching even though I got on it for acne and it cleared up amazingly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betty | 35-44 | Female | Patient
2/16/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my third month and I'm considering stopping it. I've had non stop break through bleeding. Sore breast and cramps the entire time. I take it every day with in the same hour. It has however not effected my moods to bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tmarie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2019
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive always taken ocella and it was great! I have to take birth control due to ovarian cyst and endometriosis. Ive been on Syeda now for a week and I have been nausea every day, I'm extremely irritable, i'm mean and want nothing to do with anyone. Im pissed off most the time and have no sex drive. This is not gonna work for me or my family.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More