Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

82 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Xarelto for one month. For the first 2 weeks I had no side effects but the longer I stay on it the more I have noticed that I am exhibiting symptoms I have never had. I am having muscle spasms around my eyes and eyelids. I have seen an opthalmologist and all is fine but they continue and are very annoying. I see that a side effect of this drug is muscle spasms. Also, I am itching a...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

My family member suffered a fatal cerebral hemorrhage related to xarelto use. This drug should be banned!

Shared reviews and ratings

Julie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn’t complete the full course due to strong side effects. 6 months since I stopped taking them I am still suffering worrying side effects, nausea, loss of appetite & burning stomach sensation.,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennett | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Xarelto 20 mg. for 5 months, after having a blood clot in my heart, and having a pacemaker implanted. So far no obvious side effects to report. Have had a unusual rash on my right forearm which doesn't seem to go away, but not sure what that is about. My heart doctor suggested a "Watchman" procedure if I want to get off this medication, but not sure that is a good thing for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention in Hip Surgery
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extensive subcutaneous bleedings, dizziness (difficulty getting up in the morning), horrendous itching of lower legs, sudden, very strong piercing pains in lower legs and progressing leg weakness. Some of the side effects (itching, leg weakness, piercing pains) started appearing after a couple of weeks of using Xarelto and lasted for several months after stopping use of that drug; I still (year and a half since the operation) did not regained full leg strength. Before taking Xarelto I never had any negative side effects after any medication. After I had told the surgeon about all of those side effects he got mad, started yelling at me and ran out from the room. I believe his behviour indicated "strong financial interest" in prescribing Xarelto. This was a hip replacement revision. Before I had two hip joints replaced without any blood thinners, just compression stockings. Previous surgeon stated that I did not need any. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coach Lab Rat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
11/10/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lost my husband to a massive brain hemorrhage due to this drug. PLEASE do NOT take this!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clasmind | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/2/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. Take it at bedtime. The times I have cut myself, the bleeding is minimal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mister M. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/10/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Warfarin and took it for 12 months. Then I switched to Xarelto and took it for about 10 months. This summer as temperature hot more hot I started having major rashes kind of like Jock Itch. I felt like a dog scratching non stop. I thought it was my water filter, the detergent, my underwear, you name it. I purchased medication, changed my clothing. The Xarelto was causing these big painful pimples around my crotch area. After doing all that I figured it was Xarelto causing this. I experienced terrible symptoms for about three months. Sure it was, right after I stopped taking Xarelto a week later all the itching was completely gone! Thank God! Second side effects I started feeling: Lots of joint pain in my wrists and knees. Don't trust these newer medications I'm just going back to Warfarin. Is simply safe and reliable It has been for a long time from what I've been told. Why fix what's not broken.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mctommy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/15/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate xarelto. It gives me painful joint aches and ruins my mobility. I feel hobbled by it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Done | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bleeding in leg after only two weeks use plus edema. Withdrawal problem, leg clot moved and there was extreme muscle knot in upper back with pain on breathing. Also felt other problems could quickly occur given the drug's record. This was anxiety producing especially since my original problem was fairly minor i.e. clot in superficial leg vein. Caused a cough, irritableness, narcolepsy, fatigue, depression. Feeling of being used for profit by doctor, who ostensibly used a sledgehammer to kill a fly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pain and weakness in both legs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg in Mpls | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I starting taking this med, I have had numerous incidents of rashes and swellings on arms and legs. Docs thought gout or rheumatoid arthritis, but since I had no problems like this until AFTER taking Xarelto, I'm inclined to believe this is a side effect. Right leg at ankle and foot have been swollen 10 days now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigfootsc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2019
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First started after a PE, have used for the past 6 years with no ill affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Duke | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/10/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dysfunction | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xarelto (rivoraxaban) caused severe erectile dysfunction and sexual dysfunction 2 weeks into the treatment. The side effects have remained unchanged 2+ years after discontinuing the treatment. Apparently, many other suffered similar issues as seen here: rxisk.org/xarelto-and-sex/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First 3 weeks on 30mg (twice daily) were fine. After switching to 20 mg once daily I have been getting episodes of heart palpitations, noticeable heart beat, shortness of breath, heartburn. The episodes often happen at night so it makes it hard to sleep. It's leading to anxiety attacks since I'm waking up at night gasping for air. US websites do not acknowledge this as Xarelto side effect but European ones do. I guess I'm happy that its helping me with blood clots but hard to live with it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KAIZER | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NOSEBLEED! I lost so much blood! Bleeding for over 8 hours. Had to go to ER and have my nose cauterized and packed. Had to check me for DVT. Along with other side effects, I will never use this medication. EVER! Patient beware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/10/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on Xarelto 5 years ago after Afib diagnosis and have had absolutely no side effects. Any bleeds just stop normally like before. No pains or weakness. Of course it is costly. Hoping for a generic in the near future.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sissy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/22/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

aches in joints,tired ,hair falling out in clumps,bleeding gums,eye problems,pain in back and throat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashi | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/24/2017
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this from last 6 months, but no progress still sweling and pain is there in right leg, little running made leg swelling . There is no side effect though

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrfiggie | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/5/2017
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for a little over 5 years without any problems. I had a knee replacement 2 years ago, I was taken of the med for 3 days before the surgery. all is good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willy | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/4/2017
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 20mg a day and have taken it for a full 4 years with no side effects. Have had 2 occasions where I was cut badly and the bleeding took a while to stop, but nothing too excessive. I have had 4 cardioversions and with a past history of chronic heart failure am not suitable for any other medical intervention. I am as active today as I was in my 20's, I work a ful 6 day week, am a part-time racing driver and I walk/run/cycle a minimum of an hour every day. Only serious change to my life is I have taken the limited salt option and now have almost no salt in my diet, but still 3 or 4 regular cups of coffee each day. Compared to a few friends on Warfarin for a variety of reasons, I am super happy with Xarelto , having no side effects and a simple one tablet a day dose. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More