Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

82 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Xarelto for one month. For the first 2 weeks I had no side effects but the longer I stay on it the more I have noticed that I am exhibiting symptoms I have never had. I am having muscle spasms around my eyes and eyelids. I have seen an opthalmologist and all is fine but they continue and are very annoying. I see that a side effect of this drug is muscle spasms. Also, I am itching a...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

My family member suffered a fatal cerebral hemorrhage related to xarelto use. This drug should be banned!

Shared reviews and ratings

Judy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
6/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5 days after getting the Pfizer Covid booster my mom went into Afib. By the time she got to the ER her heart went back into normal rhythm on its own. They put her on a heart monitor for 1 month and was told she needed to be on a blood thinner to prevent blood clots and they started her on Eliquis. Within 24-48 she started having severe joint pain and swelling in her wrists and ankles. The heart monitor showed no signs of Afib. After 6 months of dealing with severe pain the doctor switched her to Xarelto and put her on a heart monitor again for another 2 weeks and also ordered a stress test. Still no sign of Afib on heart monitor and stress test came back normal. Blood work also normal. The doctor finally agreed to let her off the Xarelto. It's been 1 week and she is starting to feel a little improvement. I hope this continues. She was always a very active, on the go person. The Eliquis/Xarelto knocked her down and the pain was unbearable. She was in tears because the pain was so bad. So glad she is off this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Myocardial Reinfarction Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reason for use is atrial fibrillation. 1st pill woke up next day total loss of use of left leg. 2nd pill resulted in total loss of right leg. That's all I took. After quitting my leg function returned. Physical therapy was over but subsequent to this experience it was extended for 3 months so insurance must know about these types of side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 64 and have had 2 episodes with DVT and PE. Dr. put me on Xarelto and it has worked for my breathing. 20 mgm a day 1 pill. Better for me but, I have had this feeling in my foot like a pressure building and two of my toes feel weird. They are not completely numb but are like they are wrapped with something. The real problem is the knee pain and mostly the muscle pain in the leg/groin area like I have been doing a ton of squats. Dr. said I could switch to Coumadin. I have reservations about that but right now I feel 90 years old. Never had this pain before Xarelto...never. Reading all these comments I see the same problems. I want off this stuff. I am told I need to be on thinners the rest of my life but I can't take this stuff any longer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for three months. I am very pleased with it. I have not had any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard Condon | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Blood Clot in the Lungs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Several months ago I was diagnosed with my 2nd pulmonary embolism, the first having struck in 2011. At that time I was put on Warfarin (coumadin), which bore the burden of mild muscle weakness and severere bouts of fatigue. I discontinued use and took my chances. With the 2nd embollism,I knew I would have to go on anticoagulant medication, this time for life. I was utterly dismayed by the reviews of Xarelto, which painted a very bleak picture indeed. However, I am happy to report that after 3 months of use, I have experienced no discernible side-effects. (The Warfarin made me fatigued within 24 hours of use). In hindsight, I think there is more motivating for people who have terrible side effects to write reviews. I wanted to add my voice to the mix in order to say that, while clearly this drug can cause with miserable side effects, it is not a given! If you need to be on Xarelto, I hope you, like me, are amongst those who can tolerate the drug well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karin | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have excruciating pain in my both legs and feet. The pain is now in my arms and neck. Have had check ups for everything possible and sadly I think it’s the Xeralto I won’t touch it ever again take a chance as this pain and weakness is unreal. I hope it eventually stops???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn’t complete the full course due to strong side effects. 6 months since I stopped taking them I am still suffering worrying side effects, nausea, loss of appetite & burning stomach sensation.,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennett | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Xarelto 20 mg. for 5 months, after having a blood clot in my heart, and having a pacemaker implanted. So far no obvious side effects to report. Have had a unusual rash on my right forearm which doesn't seem to go away, but not sure what that is about. My heart doctor suggested a "Watchman" procedure if I want to get off this medication, but not sure that is a good thing for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention in Hip Surgery
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extensive subcutaneous bleedings, dizziness (difficulty getting up in the morning), horrendous itching of lower legs, sudden, very strong piercing pains in lower legs and progressing leg weakness. Some of the side effects (itching, leg weakness, piercing pains) started appearing after a couple of weeks of using Xarelto and lasted for several months after stopping use of that drug; I still (year and a half since the operation) did not regained full leg strength. Before taking Xarelto I never had any negative side effects after any medication. After I had told the surgeon about all of those side effects he got mad, started yelling at me and ran out from the room. I believe his behviour indicated "strong financial interest" in prescribing Xarelto. This was a hip replacement revision. Before I had two hip joints replaced without any blood thinners, just compression stockings. Previous surgeon stated that I did not need any. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coach Lab Rat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
11/10/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lost my husband to a massive brain hemorrhage due to this drug. PLEASE do NOT take this!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clasmind | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/2/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. Take it at bedtime. The times I have cut myself, the bleeding is minimal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mister M. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/10/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Warfarin and took it for 12 months. Then I switched to Xarelto and took it for about 10 months. This summer as temperature hot more hot I started having major rashes kind of like Jock Itch. I felt like a dog scratching non stop. I thought it was my water filter, the detergent, my underwear, you name it. I purchased medication, changed my clothing. The Xarelto was causing these big painful pimples around my crotch area. After doing all that I figured it was Xarelto causing this. I experienced terrible symptoms for about three months. Sure it was, right after I stopped taking Xarelto a week later all the itching was completely gone! Thank God! Second side effects I started feeling: Lots of joint pain in my wrists and knees. Don't trust these newer medications I'm just going back to Warfarin. Is simply safe and reliable It has been for a long time from what I've been told. Why fix what's not broken.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mctommy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/15/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate xarelto. It gives me painful joint aches and ruins my mobility. I feel hobbled by it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Done | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bleeding in leg after only two weeks use plus edema. Withdrawal problem, leg clot moved and there was extreme muscle knot in upper back with pain on breathing. Also felt other problems could quickly occur given the drug's record. This was anxiety producing especially since my original problem was fairly minor i.e. clot in superficial leg vein. Caused a cough, irritableness, narcolepsy, fatigue, depression. Feeling of being used for profit by doctor, who ostensibly used a sledgehammer to kill a fly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pain and weakness in both legs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg in Mpls | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I starting taking this med, I have had numerous incidents of rashes and swellings on arms and legs. Docs thought gout or rheumatoid arthritis, but since I had no problems like this until AFTER taking Xarelto, I'm inclined to believe this is a side effect. Right leg at ankle and foot have been swollen 10 days now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigfootsc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2019
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First started after a PE, have used for the past 6 years with no ill affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Duke | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/10/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dysfunction | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xarelto (rivoraxaban) caused severe erectile dysfunction and sexual dysfunction 2 weeks into the treatment. The side effects have remained unchanged 2+ years after discontinuing the treatment. Apparently, many other suffered similar issues as seen here: rxisk.org/xarelto-and-sex/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First 3 weeks on 30mg (twice daily) were fine. After switching to 20 mg once daily I have been getting episodes of heart palpitations, noticeable heart beat, shortness of breath, heartburn. The episodes often happen at night so it makes it hard to sleep. It's leading to anxiety attacks since I'm waking up at night gasping for air. US websites do not acknowledge this as Xarelto side effect but European ones do. I guess I'm happy that its helping me with blood clots but hard to live with it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More