Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

major side effects are shortness of breath, low energy and stamina, muscle aches, back pain. Hope drug is working in my blood stream as designed.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

been on this hurtful mind changing,anxiety, heart skipping, dizziness, back hurting, leg soreness, no energy,cant breath right, no life drug for 5 days. This is the worst pill ever....Dont take this pill....fight your doctor on it,,,,I am stopping today as I would rather die then feel like what this drug has me feeling like....Doctors should be ashamed of themself giving this death pill to anyone ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Mathew | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/28/2021
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a CABG surgery an year ago, Dr. prescribed Brilinta and is still on it, no major complaints. Experienced muscle twitching and elevation of BP a couple of times. I don't know if it is a side effect of Brilinta. Leading a normal life so far and taking one day at a time. Thank God

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RG | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/12/2021
Condition: Acute ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had pains, super shortness of breath several on occasions constant bruising and minor cuts that bleed excessively. I've had beautiful skin all my life until now. My Skin is super dry now and easily peels back deeply with a minor rub against the door or anyting with the slightest touch and bleeds like you wouldn't believe. as of yesterday I learned of possible liver damage that wasn't there before. I'm close to 45 and I hate this drug for other reasons too but I don't want to get into. Though they Dr were all too happy to give me many 30 day sample bottles! I don't believe this is the tried-and-true drug. The next thing I'm doing is talking to the doctors next WK to try to get off of this before my next heart surgery whick I found out about yesterday as well. Plainly I don't trust it at all. I wish pharmacy wraps are just pushing on the doctors take back soon. Copious amounts of samples who cares what happens down the road to the people as we've seen with many other drugs. They just make a settlement and keep on doing it with nobody held accountable. The top of that now my condition is much worse somehow he even though I've changed everything by my diet. Now I have to have much more serious surgery and if I had listened to the first billinta pushing doctors about exercise even though I felt the pains immediately and knew something was wrong I would probably not be here I was told yesterday after another cath to check at a very reputable hospital in Cleveland which I know everybody has heard of in the world instead of one on the west coast of Florida which I will not name though happens to be in the richest city in fla....imagine that. I give brilinta and them no praises for all the mistakes they made and what I've gone through this last year and will be for another year. Nonetheless I don't recommend it and I will be off brilinta next week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alupres | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2021
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AZ notes a potential side-effect of "shortness of breath" but in realtity , it means full blown Dispnea wherein you feel as if you are suffocating, unable to breath, chest pounding and starving for air. When it hit, my first reaction was I was having another MI. Did some research through Medscape and it is a serious side effect that has been researched. AZ has attacked every study that was against Brillinta. My cardio switched me to Effient ASAP. The potential damage this drug causes far outweighs what it offers. If it effects your breathing as it did mine, get off it ASAP. I am 78 year old maleRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SL | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Non-Q Wave Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a horrible medicine! Stop taking it at once. After a week or two of use, it caused me to forgot what I was saying, mid sentence. Once driving to work, on my regular route, I came to a stop sign and realized I was completely lost, and went the wrong way not knowing where I was going. I had my gps on and it got me back on track. This medicine starves the brain of the nutrients the brain needs to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carlos | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2021
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had a mi on 4/27/2021, dr put a stent next day, was prescribed to take brilinta for 11 months, aspirin(ecotrin) for a month, lisinopril and metoprolol( i havent taken them yet for high pressure),and lipitor(atorvastatin). changed my diet radically, no fats, no sugar, no salt, wheat bread, brown rice, boc choy and vegetables and chicken. I lowered my total cholesterol from 207 to 93 and bad cholesterol from 133 to 39. have some lower back pain and upper pain but no bleeding except when i took aspirin. I will have a blood test to check for platelet count and cholesterol again. I hope brilinta is doing its job, and if is my time to die from artery occlusion so be it. I have died anyway before in 2002 and heaven is beautiful provided we clean our sins in purgatory first then we go to eternal happiness. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam T | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/21/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cardiologist prescribed Brilinta 90mg twice a day and one 81mg aspirin a day after a MI and placement of one drug eluding stent in my LAD artery. Iâ??ve been taking it for 11 months. Iâ??ve not experienced any of the side effects mentioned that I know of. However, I bruise easily so Iâ??m extra cautious not to injure myself...that is a real drawback to the medication since Iâ??m tend to be active. I do strength exercises as much as I did before the MI and I swim 1 mile twice a week. I do not run or cycle as I did before my MI for fear of a fall. I am experiencing some bladder issues but donâ??t know if itâ??s because of the Brilinta, the Carvedilol, or statin...my cardiologist may take me off the Brilinta next month and I am hoping that my bladder issues resolve themselves if they are a side effect of Brilinta. So far Iâ??m pleased that I have not had any further heart problems at this point. Hoping for a release from Brilinta very soon and will report back when that happens. My reason for the Somewhat Satisfaction rating is that I bruise too easily and Iâ??m not sure if itâ??s causing bladder problems...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fleetwood | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

dizzyness,shortness of breath,persist after 2 months following stent placement. unsure if combo of this med and losartan. taking both. both have save side effects. will continue few more months and reevaluate. still alive. must be working. dont know if any other options will be better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
billm | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/3/2020
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for 8 months. I experienced nose bleeds, easy bruising, and difficulty urinating after 2 months. My cardiologidt switched me to another anti coagulant and ALL these symptoms went away within one week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sjvmke | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/28/2019
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stent put in 10-15-19..shortness of breath,confusion,unexplained depression and obsessive thoughts

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
widow | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/30/2019
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband used this drug for 4 months after receiving 2 stints in his heart. Brilinta killed him approximately 4 months later of an uncontrolled upper GI bleed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smokejumper | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely Expensive. The doc switched me to Plavix.. Their Drug cost assistance program is a sham.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smokejumper | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely Expensive. The doc switched me to Plavix.. Their Drug cost assistance program is a sham.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
foxblood | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/23/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

shortness of breath, bruising, epistaxsis,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lance | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/21/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband had a hemorrhage in his brain from Brilinta and almost died. I would be very cautious taking this medication. He was on it for 21 months after having two stents put in. The neurologist said it was the Brilinta that caused it. Just know the risks if you are going to take this drug. It can cause an uncontrollable bleed. Wish we had known the risks more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lance | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/21/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband had a hemorrhage in his brain from Brilinta and almost died. I would be very cautious taking this medication. He was on it for 21 months after having two stents put in. The neurologist said it was the Brilinta that caused it. Just know the risks if you are going to take this drug. It can cause an uncontrollable bleed. Wish we had known the risks more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2019
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medicine for a month it has horrible side effect I could no breath at all I would walk a few step and be out of breath if you are having the same effects get off of it ASAP there are other drugs that can be used This medicine is horrible!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2019
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in a Vascular Stent
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication in the doctors office on 3/20/19.. on my drive home had a lot of confusion and about half way through my hour drive I didn't even know how I got where I was ... severe shortness of breath and panic attacks... I will not take this drug again ... I'd rather take my chances of having another heart attack...this medication is awful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Acute ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme fatigue and shortness of breath. I feel worse than before my stent placement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2019
Condition: Acute ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an SCAD Patient. I have a tear in my artery. Doctors in the hospital put me on Brilinta because I was allergic to Plavix which gave me a rash and terrible itching. So far all Brilinta has done is give me an upset stomach and diarrhea everytime I eat anything. Very winded just walking around the house. Rash went away but the itching everywhere continues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MR.Z | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2018
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although this medication has done what it was made to do, I am having awful side effects to include severe shortness of breath, headaches, occasional stomach pain and diarrhea , I have read many reviews of this medicine and agree with others who claim this medicines is like a poison. Tried talking to cardiologist today to switch to possibly plavix after a day of severe breathing difficulties just my luck he's on vacation will be seeing his stand in next week if I can make it that long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More