Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

After having a serious rejection to Embrel my doctor switched me to Orencia. I was off meds for 8 weeks before starting so it took approx. 3 mos for Orencia to calm by condition. I love it. It's convenient except for the order by phone now and specialty pharmacies limit me to 1 box a month. Sometimes they do not get my medicine to me on time and I get 2-3 weeks behind (even with private insuranc...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Have been on Orencia since Oct 2014 and do not find it that effective. After having injection within 3-4 days I am hurting. Since starting this drug, I have lost 15-18 lbs which I am not happy about. Humira had worked great until I had bleeding from the bowels and my Dr. switched me to Oencia. She is going to add methotrexate to see if that will help boost the med. Actemra had also been good unti...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did my first injection and started having an allergic reaction less than 5 minutes later. Facial flushing, severe dizziness, nausea, itching and swelling of the pallate, my evtire mouth went numb, shortness of breath. 2 rounds of Epi, 100mg of benedryl and 2 hours later I was able to stand. 24 hours later I had a milder reaction. Drug is still in my system so I’m keeping benedryl in me and an Epi pen close by.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ridenslide | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/14/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried numerous Biologics and finally went on Orencia. Finally at the 7 mo mark it started to work, however my doc had just switched me to Acterma infusions. I was on the infusions for5 months and was having horrible night sweats and not sleeping, so switched back to Orencia. After about 2 months I was able to back off the methypred and no longer taking. I do have pain but it is better. I had no side affects to this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NurseTLC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/14/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like that it helps prevent flare ups but I don't like feeling sick alot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/15/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Orencia took about 7 months to start working and I had to go off Humira for a month before so I was really struggling then one day BOOM! I felt amazing. My kankles turned to ankles and my overall health started to improve. I have not experienced any side effects (that I'm aware of as you may know having RA can make you less in tune with your body but nothing major)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/19/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Orencia since Oct 2014 and do not find it that effective. After having injection within 3-4 days I am hurting. Since starting this drug, I have lost 15-18 lbs which I am not happy about. Humira had worked great until I had bleeding from the bowels and my Dr. switched me to Oencia. She is going to add methotrexate to see if that will help boost the med. Actemra had also been good until it started to affect my blood work. Suppose next step will be onto another one. I don't think I'll try remicaid as my daughter had been taking it for her crohn's and ended up with drug enduced Lupis.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/6/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BETTER THAN NOTHING, BUT NOT GREAT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nanthegrand | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken for over 3 years. It has been wonderful with no side effects at all. However, over the past six months it has gradually lost effectiveness. Most likely about to change since this is the only biologic in its class.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fred | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/7/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Al | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/19/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maplewood234 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The self managing syringe is less painful than the forceful pen injections. Icing the area prior to injecting made it easier. After the first injection, I came down with an upper respiratory infection where I could barely talk. After treating the infection, I restarted the injections and noticed week by week that I was gaining weight. I did experience an increase in head, face & jaw pain as well as an increase in fatigue, the sweats & an overall sick feeling. My lymph nodes were swelled up under my neck, behind my neck, under my jaw and in both armpits. They also were very painful and my overall joint & muscle pain increased quite a bit. My blood pressure was also very high, my throat was sore and my face was puffy. Some of my liver enzymes were high. My Rheumy believed it was just a side effect of the Prednisone and the Cymbalta but I decided to go to my PCP regarding swollen lymph nodes. Blood tests showed that I was positive for CMV Infection (Cytomegalovirus similar to Mononucleosis) which explains the swollen glands, sore throat, high blood pressure and hot sweats. It helps to have a sharp PCP looking at the bigger picture! I am still waiting for the results on the CT scan of the lymph nodes. I do have a history of Mono/Epstein-Barr virus and I have Fibromyalgia. By taking an immunity suppressant drug such as Orencia be aware that you run the risk of pickup any kind of bug from anyone regardless how careful you might be or activating an old acquaintances including Shingles. There is no medicine for CMV and recovery could take up to a year. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lailabennett | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/4/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having a serious rejection to Embrel my doctor switched me to Orencia. I was off meds for 8 weeks before starting so it took approx. 3 mos for Orencia to calm by condition. I love it. It's convenient except for the order by phone now and specialty pharmacies limit me to 1 box a month. Sometimes they do not get my medicine to me on time and I get 2-3 weeks behind (even with private insurance) What to do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/31/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This miedication took approximtely 1 month until I felt full effect. I have been on 6 moths with minor side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 57 and have had RA since I was 21. Methx worked well for many years, but finally had to proceed on to Enbrel. LOVED Enbrel for 7 yrs., then on to Remicade. It didn't help at all; Rituxin was great for 3 yrs. but I had to make the decision to go up to 3 times per year instead of 2, and I just can't feel good about that, considering the dreadful possible side effects. Orencia is just ok....not a big difference in my condition, so I will talk to my dr. again to see what else is out there. Ugh, it's time for another giant step in RA treatment, don't you think?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/20/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have dad some recations

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More