Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

62 People found this comment helpful

I'm a Combat Veteran suffering from chronic severe pain. Since my injuries my life has gone on a down spiral. After researching and discovering this drug I had suggested it to my Doctor. He has started me on Extended Releases. This by far, as been the most effective medicine in my battle with chronic pain. It has been years since I've felt this good. Except for a few days of stomach pain whe...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

med does not work for the pain,it takes three hours to even feel the pain to subside,very dizzy , can hardly stand, this is in the same category as opana er,wondering if they are trying to kill of the people with pain, instead of helping. the dr don't seem to care anymore what the patient says - just hang in there, it will eventually work.Even if they know what worked before, they do not care-ge...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sparks | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gave me my life back! I am a 25 year old female with CRPS after falling and breaking my tibia 2 years ago. I'm very sensitive to medications so was hesitant when my pain management doctor suggested it. I take 50mg 3x daily and it helps so much that I've been able to get back to my old activity level. The only problem I've encountered is it can be expensive if you don't have insurance but the manufacturer does have a coupon on their website. Most pharmacies don't tend to carry a lot either so I have to make sure they have it in advance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pham | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently started taking Nucynta 100 mg extended release once every 12 hours, it's been 5 days now. It's easy to take, just swallow a pill. Sadly, it barely does anything for my nerve and muscle pains. After the first three days I doubled my intake to 2 pills every 12 hours and hardly any difference. I have a lower peripheral neuropathy, radiculopathy, CRPS type condition that severely effects mobility of both legs and feet. Similar to diabetic nerve pain, but I'm not diabetic, nor do I have any tumors or any kind of disease. I've been taking pain medications for about 3 years everyday. I've tried 10 mg Norco, 30 mg Morphine, 5 mg Methadone, 20 mg Buprenorphine patches and 5 mg sublingual. The only medication that seems to work with the least amount of side effects is Percocet 10-325 mg, it dulls the pain about 60%. In the 5 days I've been taking Nucynta I've had no side effects, no drowsiness, upset stomach, dizziness, sweating, nausea, sense of feeling high or weird dreams. I might as well have taken a sugar tablet. Methadone was actually okay at pain relief, but it made me clamy and sweaty and stinky like bad BO. Morphine makes me feel heavy and sleepy and isn't very affective unless I take 60 mg per dose. Norco makes me sweat profusely during all hours, it's gross. Buprenorphine patches did nothing, sublingual made me nauseous for a solid 6 hours. Haven't had to resort to fentanyl. Percocet 10-325 mg at 3-4 pills every 24 hrs only gives me a little bit of night sweats while sleeping and can give me funky fun waking dreams (never nightmares, usually lucid), which I can deal with, so it seems to be the medication I always fall back onto after every other one I try seems to fail. Biggest downside is it doesn't last very long (4 hours) so my usage and tolerance increases. The alternative is to try a neuro stimulator, which I'm extremely skeptical of for being effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZeeZee | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pain from nerve damage in SI joints in both hips. On 50mg of Nucynta for 3 days. So far no pain relief. I think I will need at least 100mg if it will help me at all. This is my 5th pain med. The first three did not work....the 4th landed me in the ER. This has been no fun at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/2/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find the 200mg slow release is too hard to breakdown after they changed the composition, I have to have on empty stomach to feel any pain relief. It does t last 12 hours more close to 10 hours. My digestion is so fragile and slow despite my healthy efforts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fedupduragesic | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic pain, 2 failed back surgeries with l4 l5 fusion and now hernicated disc l3 l4 need another surgery. This drug is not working as it should i will be contacting the dr. I have had severe withdrawal from duragesic Fentanyl pathches. My advice is to never take it ever again. Will let you if things changed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CoachBon | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2017
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The minimal relief of pain for 3-4 hours (supposed to be 12 hours) is not worth the side effects I have experienced in the first 3 weeks. First week diarrhea, then constipation (on-going), from day 1 ears ringing, ringing, ringing loud,and I feel like I am moving in a fog with weights strapped all over my body. I get agitated very easily and that is so unlike my normal state, even living in pain from many diseases and conditions for many years. Until Opana ER 10mg was taken off he shelves, I lead a semi-active life. (although 1 every 8 hours rather than the 12 as advertised.) Yet to find an ER that actually lasts 12. Nucynta ER gives me a little relief for 2-3 hours only, but I'm so sluggish during that time...what am I going o accomplish? I'll finish out this month and pray my doctor can come up with another solution. He has already tried me on 2 other ERs prior to the Nucynta. Reading through these reviews, some people do seem to get relief others, like me, not so much. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana jedrey | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia and 3 cysts in my lower left sacrum which I had an operation to remove but the nerves were to close to the cysts may have caused a spinal fluid leak so they did a laminectomy no relief I was on 2 50 mg iron tabs and I would wake up every night in pain now I am on 100mg er it really truly does works for 12 hours have been walking alot since I started

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nucynta ER | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medication,,so far the sharp needles that I feel from my pain has slowed a bit,,,but I'm starting to feel in more up my leg,,,I hate this sensation..I also get a lite stomachache so I'm going to try eating with it,,,I don't feel hazel or wired I think this is the right choice for ME,,,it's only been a few days...I'm Happy to read reviews on this drug..I've had RSD in right foot since 2008...it's hard to be my old normal..I'm not ready to throw in the town and just sit the rest of my life because NO DRUG OR CONDITION IS GOING TO STOP THIS 49 YEAR OLD NANA..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Good one | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic low back and neck pain. I have tried may different pain medications over the years Nucynta ER has been the best for even pain relief without feeling high, my head is clear and I can concentrate on my work. The side effects are much lower than on other medications. I have IBS also and Nucynta ER has been the easiest on my stomach of any that I have tried.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tsell | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/11/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from chronic pain from degenerative disk desea in my neck, right shoulder, right arm and hand. I use to take Oxycodone and hated the high feeling. I've taken Nucynta ER

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TLC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia and was prescribed Cymbalta but my pain wasn't controlled enough to function daily. Once this was added I get relief and function in my job where pain is at a tolerable level. This has been a life saver. I have had no side effects and even sleep much better! Way better than needing to go on disability. I mostly have my life back!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
searanger | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2017
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over priced and pharmacy never carried it in stock so it would take up to 4 days to get. Actually increased foot pain. This med has serotonin to help with depression which always has a negative effect on me. I don't recommend this drug for chronic pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vic M | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on hydrocodone and morphine ER for nearly six years, and when the doctor suggested I try this, I was leery as the other two still worked well. However, the day after I took my first pill, it was amazing. I was able to get out of bed without any pain and was able to move around much easier. I no longer have shooting pain that I had with the hydrocodone and morphine, and I only have to take two pills a day, compared to the five I was taking previously. This also cuts down on the amount of acetaminophen I'm ingesting because it is not used as the carrier. I highly recommend this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allen | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/25/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spinal Stenosis due to scar tissue from previous surgery at L5/S1. Worked better for my chronic pain at higher doses 200 to 300mg 2X/day. I been on it for just over a year, but a doctor recommended taking me off as it is still an opoid narcotic and not recommended for longer-term use (if a non-narcotic substitute can be helpful). Glad to have received the pain relief when I needed it most. I was recommended to have a lidocaine pump so hoping it will keep me going like nucynta did!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jojo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started but so far no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maslin | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2016
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was terrified to take this drug. All it talks about is how it can kill you and you'll turn into an addict. My pain Dr. Was very persistent and we went through my panic attack. It is extremely hard to find, so if this is new to you it can take up to a week to get it. It worked the first time for only 30 minutes, it took longer to work. When it did finally work, I forgot I ever had pain issues. It was like nothing was wrong ever. Then my stomach erupted with gas and pain and I couldn't expel gas. I found the next day it is a separate issue. IBS-C. So, I took it again at 12 hours and aside from the gas pain this is an amazing drug. *****Adult content**** I started it Thursday afternoon and was able to have actual interactive sex by Saturday morning.**** I hadn't had that in forever. I am very happy with this medicine and am thankful to my pain doctor for staying strong. Sometimes in the evening a break-through drug is required. Only sometimes. I will update in a month when I really really know.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jannetskee1 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/18/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially caused headaches; I struggled to take it twice a day as ordered for my chronic lower back and neck pain (epidural lipomatis, disc degeneration, and was born with an extra disc in my lumbar spine). I'm trying to not to have surgery right now, so am on narcotics. Anyway, the headache went away after about 3 weeks, but my the rest of my body hurts SO BAD now!!! I have been getting trigger point massages to try and get some pain relief (I now have big muscle "knots" on my thighs, hips, shoulders, neck, jaw, even my forehead, and chin). My right and left flank have also stiffened up and you can feel some little musclular "knots" along my lowest ribs. I told my pain providers this and he thinks it's because my dose wasn't high enough, so he increased it from 2x day to 3x day and I agreed to try it for one month (into my 2nd week now). I really feel like my muscles are getting even tighter and it is not helping my deeper/original pain issues. This medication is not for me! No nausea/vomiting but no pain relief whatsoever.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rza | 25-34 | Male | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

300 mg daily. Was prescribed this from my doctor about a month ago for my severe bi lateral foot pain. I have multiple torn tendons and need surgery on both feet to fix the problem. I get very little pain relief at this dosage. After an hour of walking or standing I am in severe pain and must lay down and apply ice. I was hopeful that these would help me sleep more than 3-4 hours a night without waking up with pain,but no such luck. I have read mixed reviews about this drug, it works great for some and does little for others. I fall in the later category.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/13/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the WORSE PAIN MEDICINE I have ever taken. It did nothingfor my pain. It made me dizzy, nauseous, I couldn't breath. It made me sick. It was horrible & my son had the same reaction. I have chronic pain & thought it may just be reacting to the other meds I'm on so my son took one for his back pain& had the same symptoms as me. They were 50 mg tablets.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jardamon | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/6/2015
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was useless for my pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More