Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

Absolute poison, do not take for any reason

Shared reviews and ratings

Septraisthedevil | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you ever wanted to feel like you got hit by a truck and were about to die, Septra is for you. After 3 days on this medication, I had severe insomnia, bad heart palpitations, muscle weakness, chest pain, swollen tongue, heavy sweating, chills, and was convinced I was going to die. Ohh, and multiple panic attacks. I stopped after three days. Insomnia finally cleared up after 3 nights off this drug so if you're wondering if it will end, it should. Just drink plenty of fluids and report the side effects to your Doctor. Septra should be banned.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
codip | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on a 3 day dose twice a day. Absolutely sick to my stomach ,profuse sweating, dizzy, headache, stiff neck, pain in lower back,a cold feeling kept going down my arms,legs and back,slowed my heart down and then my heart kept fluttering,felt like I was getting a cold then felt like I had stomach flu. NEVER WILL TAKE AGAIN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ms bell | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. I have been on this medication (the generic version) for 4 of 7 days prescribed. The first noticable side effects were leg cramps last evening. I think I hadn't had enough water. The uti symptoms have disappeared. I will

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2016
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had to take this a couple times for skin infections, including an abscess/boil after incision and drain. It worked to clear the infection and I don't really notice any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Welby | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/12/2016
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 54 year old male with medical experience. I have had a lifelong history of uti's. One or two per year on average. Used Septra most of my adult life. Works faster and better for painful urination than anything else for me. Asymptomatic after 12 hours of taking it. Used to work great. Hadn't taken any in a couple of years. Got a uti, took one pill and within 3 hours had horrific stomach pain. Another hour later my throat closed up and my lungs swole nearly shut. Drug myself to the bathroom gave my self a shot of epinephrine and chewed up 50 mgs of immediate release prednisone tablets. Difficulty breathing, fever spiked at 102, and my bp dropped to 80/50. Laid on bathroom floor for 45 minutes with 911 punched into my cell phone fearing that I might go into full on anaphylactic shock. Symptoms eased and I was fine the next day. I had developed an adult onset allergic response to this drug that I have used throughout my life. Don't use it. Refuse it. Not worth the risk. It's a really, really old drug. Recommend one the newer quinolones like Levaquin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joywriter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2015
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I alternated taking high doses of probiotics with Septra DM, so did not experience the anticipated candida problem the Doctor mentioned. I did, however, experience extreme diarrhea for several days, along with a delusional high fever, within a few weeks of taking this drug. In reading up on the possible side effects, this apparently is a possibility. I have little memory of those few days and I have a swollen retina in one eye, with a subsequent blindspot ever since. :/ In addition, I have been getting ocular migraines. Until that time, I have always had healthy eyes and perfect vision. Very concerned for others taking this; I feel it is a real risk for further health problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fuck you | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/19/2015
Condition: Chronic Slow Progressing Ulcerative Granulomatous Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2015
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I reacted to this drug. Nausea, vomiting, headache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane doe | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2014
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication multiple times for cystic type acne, works great. I have had mild (if any) side effects from it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dayven | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug almost killed me. I have no idea why the FDA would approve this or a Dr would prescribe this, especially for a possible cold / infection to a patient with GI issues caused by another antibiotic. flush, fever feeling chills diarrhea extreme shortness of breath flu like symptoms - joint pain, back pain - full range, aches, tired loss of appetite nausea abdominal pain headaches skin burns from only moments of sun exposure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meera | 25-34 | Female | Patient
9/8/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a uti for about a week and was told to use this medication by my doctor. Within an hour of using this pill I started feeling like I had glass shards in my lips then it started to swell until it burst and inflammation oozed out of it for two weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rmv | 25-34 | Female | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one pill and had breathing problems chills sicker then a dog the next day I was fine I didn't take anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2014
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A toxic venom catfish spike got infected, red and swollen. Dr Prescribed Bactrim, Pharmacy gave me Septra. Couldn't take the side effects which began almost immediately. lightheaded, dizzy, nausea, vomiting, sweats followed by chills and shaking. Stayed with it for two more doses and couldn't take the side effects. It worked in that the redness and swelling went away from the infection, but may return since I stopped taking the medicine. Just couldn't take the side effects. They aren't joking about sensitivity to light either. Don't understand the dosage on the bottle, says 800MG/160MG. Tablets are way bigger than an 800MG Motrin. If you can handle the side effects, it works. I couldn't.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rah26 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug can be DANGEROUS! Took the first pill & within 20 minutes itching, burning, swollen (completely shut) genital area; itchy chest and face; swollen tongue; back ache and head ache. Found out I have a sulfa allergy... If you don't know whether you have a sulfa allergy, I recommend asking for another drug than this so you don't go through the same horrific experience... I am lucky my reaction didn't turn in to something more serious (accounts can be found anywhere about that). Had to stop immediately, take Benadryl and Allegra and there is still no telling when these side effects will go away. Now i"m on a different med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littlefoot | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got very sick, shaky, muscle weakness, couldn't sit up for more than 30 minutes. Absolute worst medicine I have ever taken, five days after stopping still having side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nascarfan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the 5 time I have been on long term doses of this antibiotic due to MRSA, STAPH and Cellulitious infections from open wounds that will not heal after breast reduction surgery 4 years ago... This time around it is the strongest I have ever taken and I am itchy from it. But they tell me I have to keep taking it till it is completely gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saseas | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2013
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for an infected cyst on my leg, I have been sick to my stomach for 3 days, itchy and fatigued. I feel worse then before I went to the Dr.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cc | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug gave me the worst reaction. Started with diarrhea within 2 hours. Next day had 103 fever, chills, difficulty breathing had to go to emergency and get breathing treatment. After 2 days of discontinuing drug I got mouth sores around lips. All this after 2 pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crippled | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2013
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolute poison, do not take for any reason

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mellbell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/12/2013
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Morganella Morganii
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has had repeated uti the last 6 months and her dr prescribed septra ds as a last resort - within 3 days she was vomiting, had chills, severe pain in her arms and legs, she was exhausted but couldnt sleep and yesterday developed a rash on her arms and legs-her dr said to take her off for 24 hrs because she might have an intestinal flu and then give her one and see what happens- after being off it 24hrs the rash spread to her face and she developed intense itching-even though she hasn't taken it in over 24 hrs she says it feels like pins poking her arms and legs -the dr says she must be allergic to sulfur - this is a terrible drug - the warnings the pharmacy puts in the bag do not adequately warn of the dangers of this drug - its a terrible drug and should only be prescribed with 24hr medical attention and stopped immediately with the 1st side effect symptom - once enough is in your system it lasts long after you stop Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More