Show ratings & reviews for

4.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

This is my 2nd cold sore I have gotten in 20 days! Once i noticed the cold sore start to turn into a blister I started putting orajel($8) on it. That acutally stopped the pain. The next day it got a little bigger and i went back to the store and got Releev ($17) and Campho-Phenique ($5). At first I put on a little campho-phenique but stop because it is like an ointment that stinks and made the sor...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have reactions to mosquito bites that include swelling and itching for a prolonged period, several hours or over night. This product did not do anything for the itching, stinging or swelling.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/2/2021
Condition: Minor Skin Wound Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from cold sores on my lips and get them about once a month. This product takes that painful tingling away and gives a nice cool feeling. It also helps dry them out quickly. I love it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great in bug bites

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading so many positive reviews I gave Campho a try & wow in just a day great improvement! Then I read positive reviews on Herpecin L and combined the two. For me they were awesome and this evening the 3/16 by 3/16 cold sore on my bottom lip has all but vanished!!...no lie. The Campho Phenique is clear so the addition of Herpecin L helped blend with my skin and cover it. From now on I will use Hepercin L as a daily prevention as approved and recommended. Will also use sunscreen SP30 regularly as well as Campho if it is approved for prevention of these nasty blemishes and eye sores. I apply like most do with fresh Q-tip each time. Will get new tooth brush and use clean straws also with winter approaching. I wish all other cold sore folks like myself good luck hoping we all stay ahead of it!!!...I'm looking into a good source of all vitamin B as well. Campho and Herpecin L triple action combined are still less expensive than Abreva!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2020
Condition: Insect Bites
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a mosquito bite, I apply this product and it does nothing to relieve the itch. Years ago I remember using this and it worked. Maybe they changed the ingredients.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morticiatouch99 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/27/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this since I was a kid, takes a couple days for cold sores to disappear and they stay clean and don’t come back for a long time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
private | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Psoriasis for several weeks on the palm of my hand. Nothing worked,1 night of Campho Phenique and it is half gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
San Diego Native | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Insect Bites
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 53 and have used this product since I was a small boy. My mom always had Campho Phenique on hand and it is amazing. It is a MUST HAVE in the summertime to deal with insect bites... a little dab, and the itching is gone! I always have some of this at home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/24/2017
Condition: Skin Irritation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am a 25 year old woman, that has been getting cold sores since i was a child; i been using this for a while now. its easy to use, the smell isnt horrible. it takes a week for my sore to go completely away. i normally have to use a pound of this and put it on a 100 time throughtout my day but its worth it. i also apply bleach water too. good luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Good stuff | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Growing up this was used for any skin irritation, cold sores, cuts and scrapes, even minor burns. I still use it 60 years later as does our son.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sidekick | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2016
Condition: Rash
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have shingles and the blistering has been soooo painful. I read comments from someone on this sight who said campho phenique helped them remarkably so I tried it. Thank God it has made incredible improvement in just 2 days. I have used this product for most all my life on scrapes, insect bites and so forth but the effect on my shingles is nothing short of a miracle. Praise God!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/23/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Campho Phenique has provided me with relief from bites and burns and scratches and even a sore throat. I put it on a Q-Tip and applied it to the back of my throat. There was immediate relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/14/2016
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this relieves hemorrhoid symptoms better than prep-h or tucks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dory | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2016
Condition: Burn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great product. Works fast and easy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Holley | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/2/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this product most of my life it helps with hair bumps, skin irritation and insect bites. I love this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this since I was young. This during the day and some toothpaste with mint dries up my cold sores in a day or two. Good cheap medicine to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SJB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2015
Condition: Insect Bites
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this product my whole life (as did my mother and grandmother) for insect bites and other minor skin afflictions. It is the only long-term relief I can get from mosquito bites, since the welt from a bite can last for a week or more. Other products provide relief for 30 minutes or so, but if I apply Campho-Phenique as quickly as I can after being bitten, the welt is reduced (together with itching) or even disappears completely! I don't find the smell objectionable; it's no worse than liniment. I know that many people say it is also highly effective for cold sores but I am lucky to never have had one so I cannot comment. For insect bites, I highly recommend this product.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/22/2015
Condition: Insect Bites
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have reactions to mosquito bites that include swelling and itching for a prolonged period, several hours or over night. This product did not do anything for the itching, stinging or swelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GamerMom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hands-down, the absolute best cold sore treatment I have ever used and a fraction of the price of all the other treatments that "guarantee" a shorter healing time. With only a day or two of this, the cold sore is GONE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MirandaH | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been getting cold sores since grade school. I am now 25 and i started using Campho about 3 years. By far the best results I have ssen from a cold sore ointment!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ItchyMe | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2014
Condition: Insect Bites
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked Great On Mosquito Bites

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More