Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

The complaints noted by others of this drug are frightening. The night sweats, mood swings, memory loss and others can be dismal, however, the suffering, the pain, uncomfortability and or health hazards of the disorder are just as dismal if not more so. Be informed. This website can help. Be knowledgeable. Be sensible. Be understanding. The Drs/OBs/GYNs/Phys are trying to help (mostly). But,it is ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

This drug should be taken off the market. It does not cure or treat Endometriosis. It almost killed me. I know have life long side effects. Awful POISEN

Shared reviews and ratings

dnparker87 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/4/2021
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wouldn't wish this drug on my worst enemy. I had stage IV Endometriosis. After three laparoscopies and no sight of slowing down, I started this treatment in 2010. It didn't slow my bleeding, and I bled for almost 7 months straight. I had a full hysterectomy at the age of 23 in 2011. A decade later, in 2021, I still suffer tremendously from the side effects of this drug. Hot flashes, memory loss, neurological issues, bone issues, joint pain, stomach pain. Ten years and counting of side effects. Do. Not. Ruin. Your. Life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nurlinplus | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never never never use this product it will ruin your life within a month. I took a 3 month jab after my laproscopy and then it basically destroyed my life because of my gynae's stupid decision to give me the jab. I have been to emergency roon 5 times because I couldnt breathe. Hospitalised 2 times for having problem breathing and having chronic sinus. Which i have not had for the past 45 years of living. When asked gynae about the side effects she kept on denying. She said it nothing to do with the injection. Thousands of people have reported bad effects of this product since year 1999 and some have causes death and the doctors still deny? I used to be a healthy woman before i had this injection. I used to go jogging every week and do housework and take care of my kids. But now my husband has to take care of me. I am always tired with all the side effects of hot flushes, insomnia, joint pains, chronic sinusitis, chronic gastric that went on to gerd, problem breathing and the list is endless. I am always on the bed either sleeping or feeling tired. I have not gone jogging since and cannot lead my life of doing house work and cant take care of my kids. I have reported this product to FDA but I dont understand why despite so many people have reported bad side effects yet still doctors prescribe it? It already been 5 months after the jab and i still have side effects and my period has not returned.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Penny709 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this shot for about 3 years now, and it's been a God sent for me. I had been having extremely heavy periods (one of which lasted 9 months), some months I would have more then one. The pain was unbearable. I missed a lot of work due to periods. I sometimes get night sweats now, but I can deal with that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2017
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug should be taken off the market. It does not cure or treat Endometriosis. It almost killed me. I know have life long side effects. Awful POISEN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J. SMISER | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/20/2016
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in 1995, with radical prostatectomy the same year. A return of high PSA in 2014. A body scan in 2014 showed malignant neoplasm of prostate in the pelvic area. My Oncology/Urology MD started me on LUPRON DEPOT 90-day injections in 2015. The first PSA test in 2015 showed NO reading. The no reading has continued to date. The only side effects to appear was a large number of "hot flashes", which continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annake | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/12/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this 8 years ago for endo and while my endo pain is better, my health in almost every aspect is not. I was perfectly healthy aside from the endo. Was a runner, very busy, energetic, etc. I was only 25 when I took it and 1 year later I started having lots muscle aches and joint pain. I was always tired, gained 20 lbs... My dr thought I had fibromyalgia. I was diagnosed with chronic compartment syndrome and thus had leg surgery in my right shin to relive the fascia. It took another year or so to find out I now have arthritis in my knee and spine and I also have Lupus. No one in my family has lupus. I get migraines a few times a month. I can't do nearly as much as I used to and if I try I can barely move the next day. I'm only 33 and my body feels and acts like its 60 . If I could go back in time and NOT take this poison, I would. In a heartbeat. I have no doubt that taking this "medicine" has made me worse off than before. Please research this drug and the company before taking the shot. They have lied and hidden the facts about this drug. It should not be on the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mapsworker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Praying they eventually remove this drug from the market. I have terrible joint pain two years after completing therapy. Changes on MRI showing subarachnoid cystine a partial empty sella ( which was not present on a baseline MRI years ago) in conjunction with a different kind of worse migraine than I ve ever experienced.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miller | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/29/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug should be taken off the market. IT is like putting posion into your body. It has been a year since I took my last shot and I am still suffering from the side effects of the shot. I finally had a GI dr that would agree with me that this med is terrible. He said he would only use it on cancer patients. I still suffer from VERY BAD anxiety and panic. I am always thinking something is wrong with me. I have to take a sleeping pill every night just to sleep. I have avoided getting on any anxiety meds, but I am about at my end. I am only 38 and have been rung through the mills with test. I also suffer from high blood pressure now. I NEVER had any of these symptoms until that shot. If you do not have to, do NOT take this shot. It is not worth it at all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have Endo in my bowel post hysterectomy. Was given this poison to see if my one ovary was affecting the endo. As a result of the shots I have had Hyper ventilation syndrome, anxiety attacks with de ja vu for the last two years after just three shots!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have stage 4 Endo. I have had problems with ovarian cysts for over a year. My doctor finally did laparoscopic surgery and removed a "chocolate" cyst that was inside one of my ovaries. After the surgery my doctor highly recommended lupron. I was hesitant to take the shot, but I was willing to do whatever to help with the pain and to help get pregnant. I am in my third month of the shot and it hasn't been too bad. I have night sweats, hot flashes, mood swings, occasional bleeding, and I forget a lot of things, BUT I am not in pain and the other symptoms are not constant. All in all I feel the same as I always have. I would be willing to take this shot for however long my doctor recommended if it meant that it would help my chances of getting pregnant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jmurray | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/21/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad mood swings, forgot every little thing, did not feel any better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/13/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in the worst pain in my life. And I still believe it is the cause of the problems that I have continue to have. All relating to the Lupron. I would not use again for any reason.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BigRo63 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Uterine Fibroids 27 years ago, poly cystic overaries, adenomyosis, you name it. I have had extreme pelvic pain and wanted a total Hysterectomy. My doctor recommended Lupon Depot 11.25 injections (3 months. I have been on this medication since 2006 and had no pains, no periods, etc. Now the insurance company says I cannot get it anymore since the FDA changed the regs. Its been 2 weeks and the pain is starting to come back: back pain, heaviness in the pelvic region. I am not a happy 51 year old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
V-Roni | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2015
Condition: Low Red Blood Count due to Uterine Fibroids
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a fibroid larger than a softball and am due to have a partial hysterectomy later this year, but my symptoms are unbearable. I discussed Lupron with my doctor and he said I'd be a good fit. I read all about the side effects, and like a good practitioner, my doctor told me that I could get all or none of the side effects, or anywhere in between, that it's a gamble and that I was responsible for understanding that there is risk in everything. I told him I can't live with the symptoms anymore and he agreed to Lupron. The day I got my first shot my symptoms began disappearing one by one. No more debilitating cramping, headaches, back aches, mood swings. I feel like a normal person again. I can't remember the last time I felt this great. That's not to say everything is awesome. I do get dizzy spells and hot flashes, and my bloating is SLOWLY decreasing but it's getting there, but the trade-off is SSOOO worth it. My relationship with my boyfriend has drastically improved because my mood has improved. I don't get down on myself anymore and my general outlook on life is brighter. I think that has a lot to do with the symptoms being mitigated. Finally a doctor who listened to me and attacked the issue and not JUST the symptoms. I am grateful to my doctor for prescribing this medication, but also for preparing me for the side effects that I may experience. No doctor in their right mind should tell you definitively that you'll ONLY have this side effect or that side effect. That's just bad form. And if you do have a doctor that does that, find a new doctor. Do the research. Understand what you're getting yourself in to. Ask questions. This is your health. Do what's right for youRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mmmgold20 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/25/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had stage 4 Endo and had a mass removed from my colon that turned out to be Endo. I took 4 of the 6 shots and said I cant do it anymore. Please be aware of ALL side effects. I was told I would only get hot flashes. That is a LIE! Lupron is like putting posion in your body. I suffered from hot flashes, anxiety, panic attacks, high blood pressure (150/107), muscle aches, vomiting, blurred vision, dizziness, stomach pains, vaginal discharge, and more. I am only 37 and have never had any health issues or been on any meds except birth control until now. I would NEVER recommend this drug. I wish I would have just had a total hysterectomy. Please consider all options before taking this poision. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uninsurable | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2015
Condition: Low Red Blood Count due to Uterine Fibroids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like the other women in my family, I had uterine fibroids. The one inside my uterus was 4cm and was causing heavy bleeding and cramping during my periods. Because I also have a history of uterine cancer in my family, I really just wanted a hysterectomy. Doctors want you to try everything under the sun before they'll give you a hysterectomy. My doctor told me about the side effects like hot flashes and night sweats (neither of which I actually got). It didn't affect my libido either but I did start getting migraines again and I've been very moody. She said I might have one more period before they stopped altogether but that it would be "light." She didn't tell me anything about what actually happened. I got my first shot of Lupron and two weeks later I had the worst period of my life. I was hemorrhaging blood for 24 hours. After that, the blood flow slowed down, but 7 days later I'm still bleeding with no end in sight. The Dr. office told me there is nothing they can do to stop the bleeding but that I should get the 2nd shot as planned! I told them that's not going to happen and that I would find another doctor. I don't know how the doctor could have been so completely wrong about how this drug would affect me, but I don't trust her anymore. I will be looking into getting a hysterectomy. I'm done trying alternative remedies.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cc37 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will never recommend lupron depot to my worst enemy. I have not been the same since I got my first shot. I am not planning on getting the second one. My anxieties has turned into panic attacks and my depression got so bad that now I have to be on antidepressants. I have not had a good night sleep since I got the shot and my pains are worse. it is going to be 1 month since I got it. I cannot wait till it is completely out of my system, so I can have a life again. i prefer to live with the endometriosis than try anything that will cause menopause.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tues | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/21/2014
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have endo, fibroids, and ovarian cysts. First time I took it (monthly injection for 6 months), was symptom free for five years. Hoping for great results again this time (3-month dose taken twice). Get some hot flashes and night sweats but a small price to pay for the pain relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luvdatq | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2014
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 35 years old and suffered from chronic pain on my right side that would radiate to my back. After about 5 pelvic ultra sounds I had one bad episode that sent me to the ER where they found that I had a cyst the size of a grapefruit on one of my ovaries. I had surgery to have it removed and once the doctor opened me up he said it was a mess inside. My inside was filled with a bunch of blood. Once I had the ovary and all the blood removed I started to feel pain on the other ovary, but within a month I started Lupron and my life changed! Since I've been on it I haven't had any pain. The down side to it is that I do get the night sweats, and hot flashes. The worst side effect is the loss of sex drive. I went from having a very active sex life to not wanting to have sex at all. Luckily, my boyfriend has been very understanding. I just got my second (last) shot last week and I'm nervous that the pain will come back. I'm confident my new doctor is doing all he can to treat me because I couldn't imagine where I'd be if I was still seeing my same OBGYN. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2014
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been dealing with increasing pain and bleeding during menstrual cycles for the last 6 years. I thought that it was a normal process of getting older (my mother had similar issues). After developing a mass in my groin I decided to seek advice from a doctor. They told me that I had a hernia and that it was not a concern for treatment at this time. I sought advice again when I started bleeding from my bowels on a monthly basis with excruciating pain. It has taken over three years (from the first time I sought advice) to finally get a diagnosis of Endometriosis. Even as I went in for surgery, my surgeon was not convinced that I had endometriosis and he thought I had a hernia causing all of my symptoms. After surgery, they said that I was in advanced stages of Endometriosis. I have already started Lupron (1st shot in July) and it has been a blessing. Yes that hot flashes, night sweats, uncontrollable emotions, and irritability are overwhelming; but I not have a control over the pain and bleeding. The best advice I have is to listen to your body. You know it better than anyone else and if you are concerned about something then seek advice and don't give up until you are comfortable with the diagnosis. It may take 6+ years and 20+ different doctors; but your health is worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More