Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

74 People found this comment helpful

First 30 days stopped the need to urinate at night, and improved flow. I did experience back pain, reduced sex drive, and some depression. The last 6 months I only take it every third day with fewer side affects. I am 65 years old

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I take my Tamsulosin at bedtime, my first really adequate micterition is around 6-7 AM and that is about it for the rest of the day

Shared reviews and ratings

Dave | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for having to go very often. Took it at 4pm. Didn't notice much till about 4 hours later. Made me feel a bit relaxed. Woke up at 4am with sever headache. Totally stuffed up nose. And next morning I feel drugged up and still can't breathe through my nose. Not sure if I'll take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prof | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Tamsulosin while trying to get rid of prostatitis. After taking ONE capsule, I had severe dizziness, mental confusion, and depression, and my sinuses were so stuffed up, I had to breathe through my mouth for the next 24 hours. It's too bad, because this drug is effective for improving urine flow. But the side effects are just too awful for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/4/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are the biggest problems from sexual problems, headache, and stuffy nose. I really do not like this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/23/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The flomax worked great until insurance not covered anymore. Then got to get this drug in PLACE of it!! Not thrilled with it since. The enlarged testicle on 1 side won't go away. GOT Drained? Still not normal! Pain Only decreased by a little bit!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan P | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ll be 70 next month and have had BPH & ED since 47…was put on Flomax but expierenced no ejaculate after a year or two…DR then put me on TAMSULOSIN and was fine up to about 2 years ago…started having difficulty with maintaining an erection and has only gotten worse…lucky if I can keep an erection for more than 5 minutes and forget having intercourse…it will not stay erect long enough for penetration and even during masturbation my erection doesn’t last and seems forever to ejaculate, if I’m lucky…have an appt with my urologist in a couple weeks and intend to discuss the situation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Omer | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found something interesting while taking tamsulosin 0.2 mg. Because of my anxiety, sometimes there is a constant battle of thoughts in my brain. Tamsulosin at a dose of 0.2 mg calmed my brain and helped some fears. I have a fear of heights, but getting up high has never been a problem while taking tamsulosin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weak orgasm and no ejaculation. I hate this drug and will cease taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor put me on this medication to alleviate "symptoms" of BPH and enlarged prostate, plus to help me better empty my bladder more effectively. Now I am awake 3 to 4 times a night to urinate, plus frequent trips during the day while at work. After urinating, I experience a weak dribble which stains my undergarments (and pants occasionally). I never had that happen to me prior to taking Tamsulosin, and I do not like this happening now. I don't think I should be experiencing incontinence from a medication that is supposed to help with my urination problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Is not working I have been taking it for two weeks now and I still have the same pain I pray they remove marketing rubbish period

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KDH | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/6/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it everyday and love it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Santiago | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin Fox | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/28/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About a month now I've been trying this drug. And to no surprise it has done absolutely nothing, very disappointed, I would of loved this drug if it worked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Big | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for my bladder not emptying. I have a good prostate just was having stomach pressure. I found out after my appointment with a urologist that I have cirrhosis and the fluid came from that.I told my doctor that I had cirrhosis and did I have to keep taking he said yes.Why? Not sure but I have been having bad side effects.So probably will stop taking along with Bathancol.I think in my case it was just a money making issue so I could keep coming back to him.Also I have high blood pressure and I read it can have side effects with this also.Hope my decision is a good one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't cure a thing but brought all side effects to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bernie | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/20/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a burning sensation every time after urinating, I taught it was a urinate infection so I did go to the specialist they did do a lol finger exam and I do have a enlarged prostate so he recommended this medication I been taking it once a day for 3years I never felt that burning sensation again I did try to stop for 3 days to see if burning doesn’t come back but it did so it works great if there are side affects it weighs out of the benefits I get from it I’m 51

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
larryao | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stuffy nose, Eyes Pressure, Gasping for air when sleeping, Headache in the morning, Constipation/Pile, Occasional dizziness, Tooth sensitivity, Ringing in the right ear, Difficult time falling asleep at night, Lack of sexual desire, Erectile dysfunction, Retrograde ejaculation, Body weakness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bravoseven | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/1/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
job | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/7/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking for approx 2 years. Not really noticing improvement, so doc doubled dosage, but after a month still not much help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ryan | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I�ve been on tamsulosin for about 3 years to help ease start up of urinating. Also struggling to empty bladder. I�m only 49 now but have family history of swollen prostate and high psa levels. I�m also a kidney transplant recipient so I take several medications. This causes dizzying, unsteady on feet, and greatly decreased amounts of semen. My sex drive is all good although I can�t typically climax more than once. Finally I�ve decided this drug isn�t helpful so I just quit it 3 days ago. No stuffy nose dizziness, or unsteadiness and I can DEFINITELY climax more semen now. (Already). It just isn�t worth it for me to continue. I�ll visit my nephrologist and urologist and see if anything else could be helpful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Problem of stuffy nose, and itchy eyes most of the time. Have been taking it for 2months now and first 2 weeks was very effective, but now it's becoming less effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More