Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this pill in the beginning of March and my period lasted for 13 days! But after my body got used to it, my period now lasts 3 days. My acne is become more controlled. It was once kind of bad now it's a lot better. I've gained about 20 lbs since I've been taking it. My mood in the beginning was horrible. I was so depressed and moody. Everyone noticed a change in me. But after my bo...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I've been on gianvi for six months and when I got my script from walgreens this month (2 weeks ago) they have me vestura. ... since taking it I've kept these crazy breakouts and I've never ever had acne like my entire life. .I just talked to Wal-Mart pharmacy abd they said they both have same active ingredient but it may be the in active ingredient causing this. . It's embarrassing and they should...

Shared reviews and ratings

Vestura | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I remember taking this last year and it was the worst birth control I have ever taken. I bled for a month, had extreme depression and suicidal thoughts and was miserable. I’m on Alyacen now and thankfully that’s been great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EN | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this birth control specifically primarily to help with cystic acne caused by PCOS. I also have PMDD and after being on a different, low-dose birth control for 7 years, both my PCOS and PMDD started getting out of control. I had such bad acne I hated looking at myself and it was so painful. It took 6 months to see actual results but I’m so happy! My skin is basically clear except for a few small bumps here and there, but those clear up within a few days unlike the cystic acne I used to have that would take weeks-months to heal. Now I just have to deal with the scars that acne left behind. It was definitely worth the wait! I also didn’t experience any negative side effects that were too difficult to handle, I just had some slight nausea for the first week or so and I was a little more emotional than usual. I did experience a little bit of bleeding in the beginning, but again, it wasn’t bad at all and stopped within a week. My periods are now very regular, my skin looks like it did before my hormones were out of control minus the scarring, and I’m no longer experiencing severe depression prior to my periods. I didn’t experience any weight gain either. I’m very thankful I decided to try this medication! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marina | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m taking Vastura for 4 month now and i started feeling anxious almost every day and depressed at times. I didn’t feel this way prior the treatment so I’m discontinuing this med and hope my feedback will help other women to decide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
b | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

iv had acne for 12 years. im 28. iv never had cystic acne or acne on my chin or jaw line just small bumps on my cheeks and cheekbone but now i feel this medication is doing this to my chin and jawline. its horrible. lot of ppl says it gets worse before it gets better but iv only taking it for one month and im misserable with my face.idk if i should keep taking it or just call it quits. its worse than its ever been :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gen | 19-24 | Female | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I absolutely hated Vestura. My pharmacy had given it to me as a substitute for Loryna and it made my sex drive nonexistent. I felt dry all the time and it made me so sensitive to yeast infections. I also had mood swings and felt emotional most of the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coolperson12: | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My acne completely cleared but I did gain about 6 pounds in 4 months and I had constant anxiety and depression. I’d wake up with panic attacks and want to cry at random times. But everyone is different

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nauseas as can be 85% of the time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had severe PMDD. Suicidal thoughts and divorce talk/fights every third week. Even when I figured out it was PMDD, I still couldn’t control emotions. This has been great. Stabilizes mood during entire month. No suicidal thoughts, still have disagreements here and there in marriage, but are able to resolve easily. I never want to go back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vestura | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am anxious

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible panic attacks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
no | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vesture is the worst!!!! I have been non stop bleeding for a whole month on this pill. The bloating and back pain is crazy and i feel tired and anxious all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marissa | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this birth control about a month ago, and almost everyday since I've woken up with a headache, sometimes when I stand up to go walk to the kitchen everything goes blurry, almost as if I'm going to pass out, but then after a few seconds everything is okay. Ive always had really bad acne, and right before I got the pill of Ventura my skin was finally clearing up, after taking this pill for a month last week my acne reappeared very badly, its starting to go away again, but I do believe it started to come because I'm suppose to start my period, well I am three days late, but I haven't had terrible cramps like I use to have before my period would start. Im not really that far into taking the pill, but over the course of time, my mood swings have been terrible, one minute I'm so happy, and the next I'm laying in my bed bawling my eyes out, I cry way more than I smile, but I'm hoping that eventually my body will adjust to being on the pill, and that things will get better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1616 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Ben using Gianvi birth control for my acne and it worked amaizing was using it for one year! Went to cvs to pick my prescription and they gave me Vestura instead saying gianvi wasn’t made anymore.. so since it’s the same hormone I took it and have been using vestura for two weeks now and have horrible acne! This birth control is awful I also get nauseous after I take it when with gianvi I didn’t. Anyways I will pay the extra for yaz. And stay away from vestura.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I was on Gianvi for around 2 years now I’d say and my pharmacy switched me to Vestura randomly. I was very nervous to take it considering all of the horrible reviews, however, I’ve been on it for around 2 weeks now and it’s been pretty great so far. My face is still super clear, I haven’t had any migraines compared to when I was on Gianvi, and my mood swings are more at ease. I’m hoping I will continue to like it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/31/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I miss this Rx so so much! Doctor swapped me out to Gianvi in early 2018 and I've been bloated ever since. I wish I knew what the closest thing was to this :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/2/2018
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Yaz and this is the generic for Yaz I am on it to treat pmdd and I have been taking it for 20 years it works great now my doctor because of my age and being prehypertension no longer wants me to take this pill because of it causing blood clots however had not had any difficulty dealing with this in the past 20 years of taking this pill the new pill they put me hand does not work at all and I'm absolutely miserable on it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kelseysalmon | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well... i originally took this for my acne. After 4 months of use, I began having symptoms of not being able to breath, loss of drive, and completely unable to do my normal things. One day i woke up and my leg was three times bigger than my right. i went to the ER and found out i had BLOOD CLOTS in my leg, lungs, and almost to my heart. I was in the hospital for a total of FIVE weeks. I was in a coma for 3, life support for 8 days, and paralyzed vocal cords. All because i was taking Vestura. This drug has COMPLETELY ruined my life. I lost my ability to walk from laying in a hospital bed for 5 weeks. Our hospital bills were almost $1,000,000. I would NEVER recommend. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/21/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although this birth control does its job (prevents pregnancies), it's the worst experience I've had with the pill. Walgreens switched me to Vestura earlier this year, and immediately thereafter I had UTI like symptoms and a ton of discharge for a few months. While those conditions cleared up within a few months, it COMPLETELY killed my libido. Not to mention I was much moodier and quick to snap at my fiancé regularly. All of this was extremely out of character for me, so I switched to Yaz this week and can already feel a huge difference. If you can afford to, avoid Vestura and stick to the name brand (or just find another generic that works for you).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
djohnson22 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2017
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I read reviews for this med before starting exactly 1 week ago. I took Yaz years ago and LOVED it! I'm taking this primarily to help with my mood/ hormonal imbalance (self-diagnosis) bc I believe Yaz helped with that before. I saw reviews for this medicine which made me skeptical and I generally don't leave product reviews online, but I wanted to weigh in bc these reviews help. I'm almost 35 years old- have only been taking for a week and I have noticed a breakout on my face! I've also felt nausea- like a couple hours after taking. I take it at the same time every day- during my lunch break. I can't really tell if the meds is helping with my moods or not yet. Sometimes I think it does, but it could be the placebo effect. My plan is to try this for a 3-month cycle to see how my body reacts. After this, I'll either continue with this or go back to Depo-Provera. Meanwhile, I've also heard that the Plexus probiotic VitalBlome is getting good reviews for really helping with moods. I'm ordering that next week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
idk | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

so I just started vestura recommended by my dermatologist. I started on the first day of my period and am starting my second week now. so far, it hasn't been too bad. Some headaches and nauseousness, but nothing too unusual. Im still lightly bleeding//spotting though so we'll see. my skin is very clear, but it usually is around now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More