Show ratings & reviews for

1.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Went to ER last nite, thought was my MS (have had optic neuritis in past) but also have severe reoccurring migraines. Dr said would treat me for migraine when eye exam was normal calling this a migraine variant due to severe eye pain after eye exam to check for damage cornea etc(it was same eye as I usually get bugged with both with my migraines and MS) but felt different this time. So I was given...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was given this as treatment for a migraine at the ER. I helped the nausea but did absolutely nothing for the pain. Even after two shots, given through an IV, I left the hospital still in pain. It also made me feel really weird and restless. After getting home from the ER I still couldn't go to sleep where I was so restless.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ash | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the WORST medication I’ve ever experienced in the ER, with compazine at a close 2nd. Dr knew I couldn’t have compazine but gave me this - without explaining anything about it. I came in with a migraine and nausea. This “medication” instantly made me violently uncomfortable in my own body, so badly that I considered pulling out my iv. It instantly gave me the zaps up my neck into my head. No position was comfortable or okay. I wanted to leave my body. They let me drive myself home (I live just a few blocks from the hospital in a small town) but I definitely shouldn’t have been driving. I struggled to sleep and the next day needed a nap (which never happens) and I didn’t regain my appetite until almost 24 hours after. Going to bed the following night I still felt some zaps in my neck but I take a benzo at night for anxiety and sleep so luckily it helped. I have never had a medication make me so physically ill while also triggering my panic attacks. It was horrible! Take this garbage back off the market!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leander | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2022
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was administered this via IV during an ER visit for pain, nausea, and vomiting. I was told it was a sedative because I was having a panic attack due to my fear of IVs. It immediately caused me immense mental fog and a restless discomfort I cant even put into words. It's like nothing I've ever felt before. It felt like every inch of my body was suddenly doing the wrong thing, in the wrong place, etc. It felt absolutely horrible. I had another panic attack and couldn't stop shaking. I was in a very bad state of mind, but I made them discharge me, and I barely was able to make it back home afterwards. When I did get home, I couldn't fall asleep for hours and was having mild hallucinations. The discomfort lasted hours. This may be a personal experience for me, but it's caused me an irrational fear of going to the doctor/hospital ever since and horrible flashbacks to the feeling it caused me and the horrible dread it made me feel. DO NOT take this drug. It's not worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AidenP | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2022
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE WHATSOEVER! There are better anti nausea meds out there. I had read the horrid reviews and that people allergic to Reglan like me shouldn’t take it but the ER dr practically forced it on me and this was one of the worse and most traumatic experiences of my life! It makes you feel like you’re not in control of your own body and everything is cramping and seizing. Not only did it do that, make me feel like an enraged animal and make my nausea worse, I literally became suicidal because death seemed like a better option than what I was feeling on this medication. I know it all seems over dramatic but I promise, it’s not. It truest should not be on the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bliitts | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I checked myself into the ER for severe abdominal pain. They gave me this drug intravenously to help with the pain. The first 10 minutes felt great, until it took a very sharp left turn. Heart rate spiked, intense sweating and the worst anxiety and sense of doom I've ever experienced. I kept pacing back and forth in my room and felt like I was never going to be normal again. I begged my doc to sedate me with something so I could drown out the unclean thoughts. It was THAT bad... Thankfully a supervising doc came into my room and immediately gave me Benadryl to cancel out the effects. He said this was a normal side effect of the drug and wasn't sure why they gave it to me in the first place. Must be a last resort drug. Never again. Ever.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will NEVER ever have this drug administered again. Had IV injection after I was suffering from bad nausea due to a stomach condition. Within minutes my heart rate shot up from 90bpm to 130bpm and stayed like that for the whole day. At one point heartrate was 150bpm. Had severe dizziness anxiety and restlessness and felt so diabolically unwell. My nausea was worsened by this drug and it didn't settle until the evening 14 hours later when I had drank 1.5 litres of water to flush it out of my system. The doctors at the hospital later admitted that I had a reaction to this drug. Next day some improvement but I have still not returned to normal with the symptoms as I am trying to flush the drug out of my system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SmiLeYBeaR | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2021
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having extreme sharp pain in my upper abdomen and right side areas (liver and gallbladder areas) at 2am in the morning. The pain wasn’t subsiding so I had to be rushed to the ER. After administering me with the Droperidol, within the first two hours, this drug made me feel very groggy and sleepy, in which I fell asleep. Once I woke up, my legs and arms were so restless I couldn’t keep still. I couldn’t stay in one spot. I was pacing and constantly moving. I felt extremely anxious. I was having very hard time breathing and l felt like I was going crazy. My heartbeat was elevated (about 95-105 bpp). I continued to feel some of the side effects later that day but more intense. My husband called the hospital later that day and told them my symptoms. The guy went to go ask the Dr and came back on the line and told my husband that all of those side effects were from the Droperidol and for me to take 50 mgs Benadryl. After about an hour, my body finally calmed down, heartbeat calmed down, and I fell asleep. Then later, come to find out, I researched this drug and found out it has interactions with 2 other medications I’m on. Both my husband and I were furious that the medical staff and the Dr didn’t check the records before administering the Droperidol. I will NEVER take this medicine again and I DO NOT recommend it! If I could give it 0 stars, I would. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HannBonn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2021
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wholeheartedly agree with the last post, ***TAKE THIS OFF THE MARKET BEFORE YOU RUIN SOMEONE'S LIFE!!!!*** I went into the ER on a Saturday morning with a bad hangover, vomiting stomach bile, nausea, cold chills, dehydration. I'm a senior in college so I've been through the alcohol poisoning, ER visits many times. The Dr had me on a saline IV with this medication in about 35 minutes. It relieved my nausea and vomiting though I was now extremely tired. From then (about 9am on Saturday) I slept until around 6pm Saturday evening. Feeling so tired I couldn't communicate, walk or literally open my eyes. This began to ware off towards the later evening so I just tried to sleep it off the rest of the night. I woke up feeling much better Sunday morning, even made plans with my family and drove 45 minutes from home to meet them at the pool for the day. Within 10 minutes of leaving home I began experiencing SEVERE anxiety, to the point my boyfriend was coaching me through breathing, asking me if he needed to turn the car around. I kept telling him I was fine and the medicine just needed to flush out of my system because it had barely been 24hrs. Fast forward 20 minutes into the pool, my entire body was tingling/shaking, my tongue felt 30lbs and I felt like I was tripping out of my mind on the verge of blacking out. I immediately started panicking and crying causing my boyfriend to rush me home. He asked if I wanted to go back to the ER, I kept resisting convincing myself it just had to run its course. This was Sunday around noon. By Sunday evening I was on my wat back to the same ER, furious and miserable. Feeling literally insane and completely clueless as to how I'm going to explain my symptoms to the Dr. but I tried and told her everything. From feeling extremely restless and unsettled in my own skin to feeling like I was stuck between reality and a psychedelic induced, trip world. I had EXTREME, intrusive thoughts. Including the feeling of hopelessness because what if it didn't go away? I wanted to do anything to make it stop. By far, the darkest, scariest thoughts I have ever had. The physicians assured me everything I was experiencing was NORMAL side effects of the drug and that's why it's not common. Then informing me she has no idea why I was prescribed the medication off jump for just nausea. She explained it's something normally given to patients who are allergic to almost all other medications, as a LAST RESORT. Going on to tell me the drug's recent history under the "black box label" within the medical field, telling me the just began prescribing it again 3 months ago. I was sent home again to allow it to fully flush out of my system with fluids and rest. It is now Wednesday and I am still not myself. I have been drinking nothing but Pedialyte and been sleeping all day everyday. I have new found anxiety leading into breathing issues and panic attacks. I constantly have a tingly feeling over all my body like when your foot falls asleep. And I feel my body tighten out of no where a few times every hour. This should NEVER be prescribed or allowed in the medical field. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

****TAKE THIS OFF THE MARKET BEFORE YOU KILL SOMEONE*** I went into the ER with a terrible headache. I advised the doctor I cannot take anything in the compazine, raglan or even close to it. They reassured me I’ll be okay and it wasn’t . As it went into my veins I immediately felt restless, anxious, scarred, terrible intrusive thoughts. I ripped my IV out and left. I got home where I tried everything I could to come out of the hell. 12 hours later I went into a severe panic attack and I had never felt something so scary in my life. I fear now none stop it will happen again. There is an article from people who had this same experience from trials by Dr. David Healy (Wales). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenna Marie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given droperidol back in August 20th, 2020, and to this day, I’m still experiencing symptoms from this drug. When I was given this medication through IV, I immediately was nauseous, sick, very unstable for many hours. I asked the doctors “What the hell did you give me. I’m sick to my entire body. Am I gonna die?” All the doctors said were “You’re fine. It’s just anxiety.” I knew I wasn’t fine. I was scared out of my mind, and I knew I was feeling a severe reaction to this drug. I am still experiencing symptoms of nausea, muscle spasms, severe neck and head pain. My muscles will tighten up everyday and all day long. There’s never been a day where I felt normal in my own body. I still feel like I’m dying everyday. I wish this drug was never put on the market. I will never ever recommend this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gram | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Want to know more about this Drug they want to use for Chronic Migraines.....before they use it on me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xxxx | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/30/2013
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting After Surgery
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was given this in recovery room after vomiting after her surgery. Worked like a charm....no more nausea/vomiting. I do understand now though why she didn't sleep afterwards as I had though she would what with getting versed before her case, and general anesthetic during it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texasmom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst drug for migraines ever! Got rid of the headache but was super high anxiety, couldn't for more than 3 hours at a time, sweaty, irritable, wasn't worth the trade off! Take something else.... Not a good choice

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this as treatment for a migraine at the ER. I helped the nausea but did absolutely nothing for the pain. Even after two shots, given through an IV, I left the hospital still in pain. It also made me feel really weird and restless. After getting home from the ER I still couldn't go to sleep where I was so restless.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/17/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to hospital with migrain they gave me this medication for a migrain ?? I was totally out of it for 3 days sleeping the whole time .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to ER last nite, thought was my MS (have had optic neuritis in past) but also have severe reoccurring migraines. Dr said would treat me for migraine when eye exam was normal calling this a migraine variant due to severe eye pain after eye exam to check for damage cornea etc(it was same eye as I usually get bugged with both with my migraines and MS) but felt different this time. So I was given 25mg bendryl as well as this IV push. It seemed to work. It just made me SOOO tired that couldnt even send my hubby a quick text to tell him that I was ok (he took the kid home as he wouldnt handle waiting in the ER waiting room for hours easy). It left me exhausted though but not truly so sure how much was treatment vs pain during day exhaustion or combo). Eye pain coming back now, figures its 24hrs later. I have taken compazine and reglan in past and both caused extreme anxiety attacks. Glad this didnt now that I've read other reviews. I do believe that we should get informed choices whenever possible but not everyone will react to every drug same also. This med also toned down my tinnitus (which is thought could be migraine related as well) so will go ahead and try another med that my ENT neuro specialist recommended at my last visit also now. Yeah yeah know I am a neurological mess.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iridaeza | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to ER for severe headache, night sweats, feverish feelings. Recent trip to remote areas of Mexico, sprung thoughts of possible Malaria. Was given IM Droperidol to relieve headache pain. Within 3 to 5 minutes symptoms of extreme anxiety, crawling out of skin, bright lights, hot flash-extremely horrible feeling of being out of control, wanted to leave, heartrate by monitor was in the high 130's(before shot was in the 80's). Dr. and nurse did not seem alarmed by my reaction to the medication! IV of normal saline was then started and I was given an IV push of 25mg Benadryl. Still felt weird the next day and will NEVER take this medication or anything related to this med ever again!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/16/2012
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KMC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug in the ER for a migraine with nausea and vomiting and had an adverse reactaion of high anxiety, restlessness with inability to sit still. It also didnt help with the headache or nausea at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Indiana Jones | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in the ER for heart arrhythmia, pain, and a severe headache. The doctor thought I was anxious, as well, but I am just normally a fast talker and I was in pain. The ER doctor gave me this medication and said it was for pain. Apparently, this is not a pain medication. Within 5 minutes, I was having difficulty breathing and became out of touch with reality. I became very agitated with restless leg, tachycardia, and confusion. I felt I was going to pass out or die. This medication was derived in Hell. My ER doctor was not being honest in why he administered this medication. Patients NEED to ask "why" before medications are administered. We have the right.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/8/2011
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been given this med at the ER and Urgent care for severe migraines both times I had a addverse reaction that lasted days I was anxious, drowsy but couldn't sleep this med brought on diarhea I couldn't eat or get of bed for days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More