Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

I have tried many birth control pills. This one by far is the best. I have had extremely regular periods down to the hour. Periods have been lighter and last around 3 day. The only complaint is headaches that start 2 days before my period and last 2 days into my period.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got so bloated. I was in constant discomfort and pain. Also I had wild mood swings. I started getting very depressed and anxious. I stopped taking it within three weeks. Worst one I have been on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roanhousea | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually give medications a good shot, a 3 month period, with marlissa my mood swings were horrible for the first 3 weeks. I wasn’t even myself, and now im 2 months in and the mood swings are gone but it’s exacerbated my blackheads

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a very healthy, slim, fit, 34 year old woman who doesn't take any other medication. First week on Marlissa was fine, second week I started to get gassy. Not something I'm used to since I stick to a very healthy, vegetarian diet. Third week the bloat got so bad that I was in pain, constant discomfort, screaming when trying to push on the toilet since it was so painful. The pressure from the gas also made me throw up to the point that I couldn't even hold water down anymore. Blood pressure dropped, was lying in bed instead of going to work. Immediately stopped, but symptoms persisted two more days. Horrible! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimber2016 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/25/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine gave me insane mood swings! I was depressed and would verbally communicate self hatred. Something I have NEVER struggled with. I was on it for a year and a half. It was effective, as in I never got pregnant. BUT I was not myself after about month 9 of taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rosie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works in preventing pregnancy. It hasn't made my periods lighter, but they only last 4-5 days. I'm on the end of my 4th month. I have a lot of water retention, which has made losing weight impossible. Also, I often have mood swings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jackie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/1/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had side effects, sudden sweats, stomach pain and headaches, however my period became regular

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lyds85 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was suffering from very long and painful heavy periods. Marlissa immediately provided relief and I have been very happy with it so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
andrea | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

10 pounds water weight gain in just over a month. When changed to this from Portia, no noticeable changes in mood, although more depressive at times mostly due to extreme weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rp926 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/25/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many birth control pills. This one by far is the best. I have had extremely regular periods down to the hour. Periods have been lighter and last around 3 day. The only complaint is headaches that start 2 days before my period and last 2 days into my period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jessicalynn427 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/24/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Marlissa for about 2 years, previously I was on another generic brand of Nordette, Levora, for the last 7 years (my pharmacy stopped carrying Levora). I have had no issues with the pill, its small and easy to take. I have light periods, lasting about 3 days. No cramping, I only show signs of PMS such as headaches & bloat. I have had no weight gain or crazy break outs, no enlarged breasts, etc. This is a great low dose birth control that gets the job done.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mdjones | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects horrible. pain in the feet, blood pressure went out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feeling moody, depressed, irregular periods, headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tana | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pretty straightforward and easy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2013
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More