Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking the generic version of Ziac (Bisoprl/HCTZ Tab 10/6.25) for over 5 years now and my blood pressure runs high (144/92)on a regular basis. My doctor has never changed my dosage. Any suggestions will be welcome.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

The doctors kept me on this crap for 11 years. I developed a severe skin condition, shortness for breath, swelling in both feet and legs. Feelings of congestive heart failure. I kept trying to tell the doctors and they blew me off. Finally, I got a pharmacist to tell me how to step down off it. It almost killed me.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/19/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jrlsoft | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/13/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angry texan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/25/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctors kept me on this crap for 11 years. I developed a severe skin condition, shortness for breath, swelling in both feet and legs. Feelings of congestive heart failure. I kept trying to tell the doctors and they blew me off. Finally, I got a pharmacist to tell me how to step down off it. It almost killed me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/18/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying several BP medications I was finally put Ziac because I have high BP and a high heart beat. I have been on this medication for about 1 year now and the two of my side effects I have are: feeling tired & dry mouth when I sleep. The dry mouth wakes me up at least 6 to 10 times a night because it's hard to swallow. I currently us over the counter sprays ect. with little to no results. Because of these side effects I plan to ask my doctor this next week about other medication options but I'm worried about changing this particular pill because it has slowed my heart beat down which I believe has helped me a great deal. Does anyone have any suggestions for options? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BISOPROLOL | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/24/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/30/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josephine13 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/24/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication a couple years ago to treat high blood pressure. I never really saw a substantial decrease in my bp at all during that time. Also, about a year ago I started having diarrhea. I had no other symptoms, such as stomach pain, bleeding, etc, just diarrhea 1-3 times a day. I discussed it with my family doctor, who in turn sent me to a gastro specialist. After several visits, an endoscopy and a colonoscopy he could not figure out what was causing the problem. He then told me to stop taking the Ziac to see if that would help. Well now it has been 8 days since I've taken it and not only have I not had any bouts of diarrhea (who knew you could get excited about a normal bowel movement!), but my bp is staying the same and I'm not getting up 2 times a night to use the bathroom. I still need to discuss this with my family doctor, but I'm hoping she will decide to either leave me off it or try another medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Biggie77 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took about 2 weeks before I had a reaction to this med. First I went Brady with a pulse of 41 then it felt like someone was sitting on my chest followed by a rushing of blood to my head that felt like mini-stroke. It did however lower my BP but I cant function on this med it feels like its killing me with an adverse reaction possibly anaphylaxis. Side effects include all the above in the warnings def. discontinuing this one but now what is the question. Came of Lisinopril 40 mg HCTZ and Norvasc to try this and all that wasn't working for beans. Can stand the cough on Lisinopril and this was doing the same thing to me also but worse makes my throat close up literally. Had to take Bendryl to stop it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momellie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/21/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is making me very tired, + I now have a rash, am not happy taking it, (to many side effects,)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/7/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bwebb9625 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/25/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had good success with ziac, even the g eneric bioprolo 5/6.25 until it was taken off the market; doctor increased my bisprolo fum tab to 12.5 because they did not make the 6.25 any more; totally elude me why my medication would need to be doubled...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PDL | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Miracle pill for me. I am 43 years old and I feel great!! Lower BP and heart rate is a lot lower. Swelling is under control now!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
macmackiess | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It gives me a very dry cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Granny | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/5/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lowered blood pressure but have experienced increase in joint pain and increase in dizzyness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/12/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bisoprolol=hctz | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take one pill once a day right after brushing my teeth. This one pill a day along with routine exercise has helped me to lower my blood pressure. The doctor was impressed with my results after only one visit. I still watch my salt intake and exercise daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
woodie | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/29/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1)cough 2)heartburn 3)gaining weight

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects, no dry cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

coughing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/27/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

insurance coverage for this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More