Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

I get bad heartburn and this is the best over the counter medication. it works fast and without any side effects.

Shared reviews and ratings

Tary diaz | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/30/2020
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using zantac until they took it out of the shelves and my doctor put me on this medication generic name famotidine (pepcid ac) it works wonders but sometimes I feel like me knee is giving up and it says that you can eat after 15 to 60 min after taking it, but that's not true because I have done it and the next day I wake up seek with diarrhea and vomiting the food I eat the day before after 15 to 30 min after taking it, other than that sometimes I dont have to take it for a week or 2, but I noticed that when I wake up to smoke at night it gives me acid reflux and I have to take it in the middle of the night, other than that I'm very satisfied w/ this medication, I only have to take it only once a day, or night.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bbdoll | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2016
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always have heart burn I tried pepcid the hospital put me on and it's worked quite well I'm amazed I always took zantac before and that's great to either one one works well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
5/30/2016
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get almost instant relief with Pepcid tablets, and find other brands less effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pepcid | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seem to have had a metabolic reaction to sulfites that resulted in nasal passage blood seepage and crusting. I also experienced palpitations in the solar plexus area. I was unable to eat anything suoices again.lfited or drink beer or wine due to sulfite content. Taking Pepcid AC 40MG before going out to dinner allowed me to enjoy menu choices again. This makes no sense phamacologically, to me, but it works. Perhaps Pepcid AC could help others with sulfite problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MarieZ1621aol.come | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Heartburn
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still having heartburn - and gas when eating some foods - I have only used the Pepcid for two days - so I think I might have to wait on better effects. The last time I used it about a year ago - it worked very very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2012
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pepcid works quickly to reduce heartburn. I have notice a reduction in my blood pressure, could pepcid contribute to this ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Copper | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/27/2012
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had allergic reaction to previcid,when I was having a big episode with acid reflux. doc switched me to pepsid. Said use every day. I rely on it now although I don't use every day.Heard too many horror stories of friends using the other options daily,where they couldn't get off without great pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lois E. | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
6/12/2012
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Pepcid AC along with Protonix for severe Gerd. It worked very well. The Pepcid was discontinued and I was just on the Protonix until my prescription plan no longer covered it. So, I now take Nexium which doesn't help at all. I plan to take OTC Pepcid AC from here on in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
harry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/6/2011
Condition: Prevent Indigestion
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/9/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Dr. prescribed Prilosec but went back to pepsid,One thing it is cheaper and does work better for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/26/2010
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my gull bladder out, so if I eat anything greasy, (bacon, sausage etc) it comes back on me big time. Pepcid works amazenly well. Both my husband and I swear by it. Right now we can't find it in our local stores. We want it back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/15/2010
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pepcid AC Complete works great to stop heartburn symptoms. It contains an antacid for immediate relief and an H2 blocker for longer term relief. My experience has been that it is effective for almost 24 hours. One disturbing side effect when I take it on a daily basis for a week or more: DIZZINESS. I have even been wakened during sleep because of the dizziness. It was scary but the dizziness stopped when I cut back on the Pepcid AC Complete.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/9/2010
Condition: Zollinger-Ellison Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

grate

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dianezettler | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/27/2010
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been satisfied with results. My concern is--is Pepcid AC a Proton Pump inhibitor(PPI)? There have been news reports of problems with this type of drug. Please advis if Pepcid AC is one of the drugs causing these problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/16/2009
Condition: Stress Ulcer Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works fast.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2009
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I havent been to the doctor yet, but lately have been experiencing acid indigestion that I think may be acid reflux. I have been taking it when the pain occurs, which takes about 10 minutes to start working. I am definitely going to try to take it in the am and pm as another reviewer suggested.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2009
Condition: Prevent Indigestion
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's not a 100 percent cure but better than 3am wake up and a glass of alcaselzer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/12/2009
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/26/2007
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get good control taking two tablets a day, morning and evening. It's available at Sam's Club in their store brand for only 6 cents a tablet, much cheaper than Pepcid brand or Nexium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/18/2007
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get bad heartburn and this is the best over the counter medication. it works fast and without any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More