Show ratings & reviews for

2.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Through first 21 days, scans were positive and seems to be doing alright with pills. Dosage keep to 3 pills, get sick when taking four. Back for more scans in a few weeks.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I am writing this as a data point for those who may be considering this drug. My mother was recently put on this and it was literally the worst drug she's ever taken in her 6 year journey battling cancer. I read the reviews and begged her not to take it, but she went through it anyway. The drug caused her to be lethargic to the point where she could not move, she had a severe loss of appetite, she...

Shared reviews and ratings

Loved one | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother started this oral chemo on the 1st of May. That night she already started having side effects. There were so many side effects that she was experiencing. On May 24 my mother passed away due to a tear in her colon (side effect). I read and researched this drug before my mother started taking it. I did not want my mother to take the Stivarga.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my mother's third line of tmt. I did extensive research on Stivarga and did not feel good about my mother taking this. I voiced my opinions to my mother's doctors. Against my wishes my mother started this chemo on May 1st and died at midnight on May 24th (her birthday). Mom started showing side effe to right away along w/severe pain in her stomach again I voiced my concerns w/her Primary doctor and w/Oncology. Oncology did not even do any blood work until the 18th of May. Mom had so many severe side effects from Stivarga. On May 21st Mom was in severe pain she could barely moved. Had to call the ambulance. At the ER a CT was performed showing a tear in her intestines. (side effect) Emergency surgery was performed and the surgeon also did a colostomy. My mother was on a ventilator. My mother was 79 yrs. old.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2020
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects knocked me down in 5 days. It gave me a 4 hour bloody nose and I lost use of my left leg and arm. No, I am not kidding. I was unable to be on my feet for 4 days after I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Survivor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2018
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for 18 months. Tried Lonsurf first, but it was only minimally effective. Never did IV chemo. Aside from slight fatigue and mild to moderate foot pain side effects are mild. Effective at keeping CEA low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/28/2018
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother took Stivarga to treat metastatic colon cancer. Obviously she was very ill to begin with, but the side effects of this drug were torturous. Her oncologist's words were that, rather than slowing growth, Stivarga appeared to have "seeded it everywhere." The oncologist said that that was the experience of every patient who had tried it. Stivarga did not change the outcome of my mother's illness, but it made the last months of her life much more miserable than they had to be. If we had only known then, we would have opted not to try it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bballzgem | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/17/2017
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing this as a data point for those who may be considering this drug. My mother was recently put on this and it was literally the worst drug she's ever taken in her 6 year journey battling cancer. I read the reviews and begged her not to take it, but she went through it anyway. The drug caused her to be lethargic to the point where she could not move, she had a severe loss of appetite, she broke out in hives, she lost a significant amount of weight and could barely walk/clothe herself. She literally could not function. She took it for two weeks and by the end of it was so incoherent and weak that she collapsed inside of our home. And this was from taking 2 pills one week, 3 pills the next. Imagine if she tried taking the recommended dose of 4. By far the scariest experience we've dealt with. She was taken off the drug fortunately and is in recovery. She now has another option with Mekinist (which sounds promising), but I genuinely do not see how Stivarga drug was FDA approved. This drug took her down faster than the cancer ever could, AND on top of that it's a maintenance drug. It doesn't even shrink tumors, just keeps it from growing. All those devastating side effects isn't worth taking this drug. If a doctor is recommending this for you or your loved one STAY away. It does NOT work and the pharmaceutical companies should be ashamed of themselves for even allowing it on the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Speechie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2017
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My needle phobia precludes many cancer drugs. This is easy to take. I am only in my second week on this medication. 2 tablets daily. Few side effects so far other than faigue and some slight hand/foot soreness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fxckcancer2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/25/2016
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused hyperbilirubemia, hepatotoxicity and extreme high blood pressure leading to the death of my spouse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
5/18/2016
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is a torture drug. how this type of medication could pass the FDA?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Padenlee | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2015
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am starting my third cycle and my CEA numbers have gone up

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/8/2015
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do NOT take stivarga for the love of God you will have liver failure in a few weeks, especially if you are older and have to take 4 pills a day. THIS DRUG IS FATAL. My father had liver failure because if this DO NOT TAKE. DO NOT!!! Take your chances with a naturopath that does vitamin C IV's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/8/2015
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do NOT take srivatsan for the love if God you will have liver failure in a few weeks, especially if you are older and have to take 4 pills a day. THIS DRUG IS FATAL. My father had liver failure because if this DO NOT TAKE. DO NOT!!! Take your chances with a naturopath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Porter | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/28/2013
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Through first 21 days, scans were positive and seems to be doing alright with pills. Dosage keep to 3 pills, get sick when taking four. Back for more scans in a few weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More