Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this pill for 2 months and I have been satisfied. I am not pregnant, and my acne has cleared up beautifully. I do still get painful menstrual camps, and my period is heavy for the first 3 days but then is extremely light. It is also more regular than before. I recommend this pill! Also in the beginning I was worried because my acne got worse, but after the first month It has ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

While I have not gotten pregnant since using this medication, I have noticed a lot of unwanted side effects. The main one is that if I miss a pill, even ONE (whether I take it ASAP the next morning or not), I start spotting. Sometimes it's a regular period or close to it, other times it's light spotting for a week +. This still happens even when I HAVEN'T missed a dose... I feel like I either have...

Shared reviews and ratings

AR | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this birth control for almost 5 years now and I am truly satisfied. My period comes regularly, I know the exact date I’m suppose to get it, my cramps are not as bad as before. I might have gained some weight but I am not sure if that is because of the birth control. It cleared up my acne SOOO much. I don’t really get mood swings while on it, sometimes maybe a be emotional the week leading up but to it but nothing crazy. Definitely recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ShyD | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ance has calmed down but I've had spotting for well over 2 weeks now since starting this, it's annoying cause it feels like I'm on an endless period. I'm not sure if will continue to take this BC, it might work for others but not for my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mariaelena26 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/12/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking birth control for my acne. I had been breaking out really bad out of the blue and nothing helped so I decided to get birth control pills to regulate my hormones since I was breaking out badly sometimes multiple cystic pimples and small ones around my mouth and chin. I was so depressed and desperate so I research the best pill for hormonal acne is ortho tri cyclen so I got the generic version tri linyah. After 3 months I pretty much have no acne, unless I eat dairy. I only got one cystic pimple in the first 4 months of use. Now I just have scars that are fading quickly. As for other symptoms I have none. I never experienced any negative side effects. It made my boobs bigger for the first 2 months and now theyâ??re back to normal and I only gained like 5 lbs which I donâ??t mind since Iâ??m so skinny I prefer to be thick. I did notice that my mood improved I donâ??t feel as depressed or emotional. I think it regulated my hormones so my skin is a lot better and I believe in 4 more months it will be crystal clear it gets better each month so far. For me this pill works as contraceptive as well. I just started having unprotected sex with my boyfriend and so far no pregnancy. I do make sure to take it the same time every day I believe thatâ??s important key.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
techgirl17 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this birth control for awhile now, and the only negative thing I have noticed is my acne. I didn't have acne until after I started this bc. I can't always remember to take my bc at the same exact time every day, so luckily my bf and I have other forms of bc as well. This pill has definitely shortened and lightened my periods as well as reduce cramping. Unless there is a drastic change in my physical well being, I will definitely continue taking this bc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cierra | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked as in me not getting pregnant but this was by far the worst birth control pill that I’ve ever taken and I’ve tried quite a few. I was on TriLinyah for 3 months and everyday that I took the pill, immediately after I felt bloated, hungry, and I spotted. My hormones were crazy. I just don’t recommend it but everybody’s body is different. So to each it’s own but I’m no longer taking this birth control pill EVER

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thedreamer | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/7/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, my periods habe been so terrible that i would be crying. It was bad. Now that pain only happens for like a day. And then I'm good.I also have good skin! But, I'm always very moody, I'm naseous, gained weight, and my boobs have gone from a c to a double or tripple d. I get super terrible migranes. The most i dont like is the weight. Its terrible. I feel fat and ugly. Ive gained like 17 pounds. :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/4/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it gives me more discharge, it’s a normal discharge but it’s more than i had before i switched to this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tynx2015 | 35-44 | Female | Patient
9/28/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get to the 3rd week and the migraines I normally got have gotten worse. The cramps were/are worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Megan2020 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/8/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I haven't become pregnant, I find this birth control to have several negative side effects. I am bleeding much heavier and longer on this pill compared to others I have used in the past and have had pretty severe cramping which radiates into my lower back. One month my period came early which is NOT supposed to happen on birth control, and this month it is still going 3 days after I have started the next pack. I will be switching soon. I do not suggest this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Treaves62 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this pill for regulation of my heavy periods but instead I bled for the intire two months I was using it. I was also having anxiety, nausea and vomiting plus insomnia. Since stopping them I've stopped bleeding and all symptoms have gone away. Use something else!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I was on birth control, I was taking one called Tri-Sprintec and I had no issues at all. Then I ran out so my mom had purchased me a year supply of these instead. Which I thought was fine, birth control is still birth control and I still need to be protected. For the first month taking these I was fine and it works with not getting pregnant but I keep spotting in between periods every single month!! It's driving me insane. My sex life has gone downhill because of it and boyfriend keeps wondering why its happening. I spot for like a week or more and I never had these problems while taking any other pill but this one. I am thinking of switching back to other ones soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KW98 | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/12/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has been mostly effective with regulating my periods (a lot more regular compared to before) and lightening the blood flow. However, the cramps got worse. I have had most of the side effects such as depression, anxiety, bacterial infections (yeast infections), slight weight gain, and CRAZY mood swings. On the plus side, it has put the weight I've gained on my hips and boobs and it has helped my acne. I have gained about two cup sizes. When I started I was in between a 36 B/C now I'm a 36 C/D. I had slight anxiety, depression, and mood swings before, but I feel as if when I started taking Tri-Linyah, it heightened these to an extreme. I would recommend it though because it has done what is has promised to do--regulate periods and no pregnancy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this for 6 months. Having a lot of dramatic mood swings, and puking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/31/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm currently pregnant with my 4th child due to this medication failing me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/4/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I have not gotten pregnant since using this medication, I have noticed a lot of unwanted side effects. The main one is that if I miss a pill, even ONE (whether I take it ASAP the next morning or not), I start spotting. Sometimes it's a regular period or close to it, other times it's light spotting for a week +. This still happens even when I HAVEN'T missed a dose... I feel like I either have my period or I am spotting 80% of the time, which is making me extremely tired, moody, and just not very sanitary. I feel like I am almost always bleeding and It is gross, and I am getting sick of it. My boyfriend has even said "Why are you always bleeding? Birth control or not we can never even be intimate anyway." I will be switching off of this the next time I see my doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 35-44 | Female | Patient
11/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I went on this because my other pill was more expensive, I've been using it 1 1/2 months and it has made me have horrible acne, and big acne bumps under my skin that hurt. I'm switching and do not recommend this at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
willowB | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a teenager growing up I never had any acne issues or weight issues. I am in my early 30's and have recently began breaking out. My break outs have been pretty bad, so my doctor recommended I take Tri-Linyah. I take it with a full meal and milk. But I have very bad side effects. This drug has made me very tired, lethargic, I feel sick like I am very nuatious, vomiting, weight gain, depression, and chest pain. I have been on this for 2 months and thought my body just needed to get used to it. But it hasn't. The only improvement I seen with this drug is, it has helped control my oil balance on my skin. But my acne, I am still breaking out..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for almost 4 months now and haven't had a single side effect. All the reviews I read terrified me but I'm totally fine. I thought I'd gain weight but I've stayed the same as I've been the past 3 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JeanieGold | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2016
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not the worst but not the best either. I've been taking it for 2 years now and plan to get off this pill. It got the job done pretty well at the beginning but now I have long periods, terrible bloating and no sex drive at all. It sucks really bad. But it helped me with my ovarian cyst problem. They haven't come back since 2014 so it's pretty good. This was my time trying birth control so it's strong at the beginning; really bad headaches, nausea, dizziness. I got over it in about three weeks. But it's time to move on. Not terrible, but not the best either. I am sexually active and it gets the job done well (but my sex drive is in the pits!) So yeah, not sure what I might change it with but I'm definetly saying good-bye to this pill. At first my periods were about five days long and it was really great, because they were heavy the first two days and the last three were really light. My face is clear, but I gained about 13 pounds that I cannot lose. So it's up to you and your doctor, but yeah I tried to be as precise about my experience. I hope it helps you come to a decision and whatnot.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leah | Female | Patient
2/25/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It prevented pregnancy, but I experienced bloating, anxiety, depression, mood swings, migraines, and bad acne. I felt like I was enduring puberty from hell. Upside, super sex-drive and bigger boobs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More