Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

123 People found this comment helpful

I have lived most of my life in sunny Florida, Georgia, California, and Texas and would spend all my time outdoors if it were possible. So I realize I am just paying for past lack of diligence in protecting Scottish skin. This is my second round with Fluorouracil, 5%. The first time I treated only the back of my hands and the skin is now soft with just some age spots. The whole process took...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I can only describe its use as pure hell. Imagine putting your head in a fire ant nest and you will come close to feelings I've experienced. At times I've been unable to function; driving I've even had to pull over and stop. I could go on, but this is enough for you to get the impression. I'm sure it performs its intended function, but that needs to be on someone besides me!

Shared reviews and ratings

Dee | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used the cream 2x a day for 2 weeks on my chest. My chest feels like it is on fire. Hrlps when i put a warm cloth on it. Wonder what i can use to ease the burning feeling?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paulette | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst experience since almost dying in child birth. Painful painful burning painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KC | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Inflammation of Lips due to Sunlight Exposure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1st go round was aldara on my lower lip and darn if that Dermo told me nothing of the side effects!! I was dying after 2 weeks of 3 week protocol. Blistered swollen bleeding .couldnt eat or drink except thru a tiny straw. Called him- NO return call! New Dermo now and doing flurou. 5% on chest- horrible looking!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
It worked | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2021
Condition: Inflammation of Lips due to Sunlight Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Applied to my lips for 5 days and yes, it is painful after the 3rd day of application but the end results are great. My lips took about 2 1/2 weeks to heal 100%. I was in pain for about 6 days and it’s difficult to eat, drink and brush your teeth. It’s a rough procedure but worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Satisfaction is a tough one, because it is very painful but it definitely works. I'm on my third round of treating AKs on my chest, shoulders, back and arms. The first two weeks of a four week treatment are not too bad, the third and definitely the fourth suck. It's like being itchy and on fire at the same time, and the appearance is horrible. I just finished the fourth week and my skin looks hideous. I forgot about this little trick, but just remembered last night and wanted to share: diaper cream. I slathered it all over the red, scabby areas and it's like a miracle. My skin looks about 90% better today. It still feels a bit itchy and some scabby areas, but overall I don't feel I have to wear a turtleneck so as not to scare people.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MajorBones | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2021
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First, it definitely irritates healthy skin. Second, the scabbing, weeping and peeling continues for weeks after treatment is stopped. Doctors who don't warn patients of this are remiss. But the medication is cheap with insurance and has a good track record.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed Fluorouracil to treat Actinic Keratosis. once daily for 14 days. It is working exactly as it should. Skin is red, itchy, dry and after 9 days it is very difficult to sleep. But best to tough it out and get it over. 5 years ago, Doctor prescribed Zyclara which has a two weeks on, two weeks off, two weeks on treatment schedule. That worked beautifully turning all pre-cancerous patches into scabs and then new skin. I do not recall the same itching, burning, dryness from the Zyclara treatment that I am experiencing with Fluorouracil, but I wanted to get treatment over sooner. If I have to be treated again, I think I'll go back to Zyclara.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becky | 45-54 | Female | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow I woke in the night with severe stomach pain headache feeling miserable like I’ve been poisoned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2020
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

causes burning and itching sensation. I had to stop after one week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee dee | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Inflammation of Lips due to Sunlight Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it for 4 days on my entire lower lip. First couple of days had little or no reaction. After 4 days I stopped due to the extreme pain, swelling, blisters and rawness on my lower lip. It hurts to talk, smile, laugh and, worst of all, eat or drink! The pain is excruciating. I have to apply aquaphor all day long to numb the burning. When I wake up in the morning my lips are practically glued together and crusty and bleeding. Iâ??ve stopped for 3 days now and the pain has gotten worse each day. I am truly miserable. I hope it works!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brent | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started using this less then a week ago on my chest once a week as prescribed by my dermatologist. The tube says twice daily and reading here everybody is using it twice daily and looking like hell after. Maybe I'm not so severe, it's just rough spots that aren't red in nature in the middle of my chest so I don't know.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2020
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had this treatment 3-4 times and hate it. Skin is very inflamed and painful. I get headaches and just feel miserable. May refuse to use it again in hopes there's something else I can do instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jay74 | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2020
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well,I finally did it,day 4. The tube is a pain because to puncture it requires pressure and then when you screw the cap off it spurts out and won't stop because of back pressure! Too much waste for pricey stuff (why so pricey??). I started with forehead (worst). Decided to section off head and do parts at a time. Yes, longer treatment regimen but so far less pain (so far emphasized) and I got time. I let the cream tell me where the problem spots are after a few days and then concentrate on them, rather then the whole forehead. Will do same for rest of head. Will update as the adventure drones on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2020
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have several spots on my scalp that have been burned multiple times over the past three years. Dr. had me use flourouracil cream. No problem until day seven. I had total vertigo. Couldn’t walk or even stand. Washed it off and gradually the dizziness went away. Very scarey. I have had Mohs surgery on my neck. For me it was so much easier. Time consuming, mild irritation, but no side effects and if you go to a good surgeon, only a small scar. Iâ??m hoping to have it done on my scalp. Afraid to try the cream again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A Green | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2020
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to apply. I will leave it to others to describe the physical negatives. I learned to apply it several hours before bedtime so it could dry. It is a great idea to use an old pillowcase until the lesions have healed. Several people recommended Aquaphor, which is basically similar to diluted Vaseline, as a moisturizer. While this works well it is difficult to wash off. I was given a tube of ointment named "Lucas Papaw Ointment". I thought this was a hand cream but it is not, it is made from fermented papaya. It worked well as a moisturizer but also washed off easily with gentle soap like liquid Cetaphil. While I did the treatment due to many precancerous spots, my wife is now jealous of my youthful skin and wonders about doing a course of treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lil Cajun | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2020
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it for 2 weeks once a day. Had to put it across my forehead, on each temple, and across my nose. Towards the end I had the burning and blistering and cracking. Didnâ??t know if to let it dry out or keep it moisturized after I finished the 2 weeks. I decided to just use Vaseline and hope for the best. It was a miserable healing process for a week but I feel much better. It has been 5 weeks since I started the application and Iâ??m now fishing a lot and try to use protection from the sun but find that I now come up with little â??blistersâ?. Not sure if itâ??s some kind of reaction from the medication still being in my system then going out in the sun. Iâ??m just clueless...ð?¤·â?â??️Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bfkp42 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2020
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had BCC on tip of nose. Use F-5 as alternate to Moh's surgery, 6 weeks twice a day application. by end of week 3 its was a festering sore, continued to the end of week 4 when I cut back on dosage as it looked like it was doing as advertised. You need to read instructions at least three times to understand whats going on. Used a lot of Vaseline and sun block. I am retired and don't go out much so I could deal with the appearance, using a little make-up when necessary. If you are working for a living and out in the world, you might as well take the Moh's route. My brother had it under a worse scenario and it he came out o.k. PS had to research this myself as the medico's I saw just said Moh's surgery without giving me alternatives. Always get a second opinion and do your own research.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunbird76 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two weeks in, twice a day for scalp and pre cancerous lesions. After all these years of avoiding the sun, I never thought much about my baby fine hair and scalp exposure. Now I'm paying: scabby, plus quarter size section bleeding and weeping. Two more weeks to go. Have three more caps coming to cover it all up. Looks like leopard pattern, only red and scaly. Once this is over I will never again go outside without head gear. Especially in AZ.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SugarPeas | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had blue light therapy 5 times on my face for AKs. The AKs kept coming back, so my doctor suggested this medicine. The full effect wasn't seen until days 13 and 14 of treatment, when the red spots came out in force. Only the damaged skin cells will turn red. Some areas were just red and scaly, others were worse- red, scaly and would bleed. It's ugly, but now that the skin is healing, it looks better than before. I have more even skin tone and there is no dryness. It even feels different, almost baby bottom smooth. I used the prescribed steroid cream for one week after treatment, but I think the best healing came from Clinque RepairWear lotion. On nights I used it, there wasn't as much redness in the morning. I was able to hid some of the red areas with makeup, but others were just too raised and scabbed and makeup made them look worse. This treatment gets rid of precancerous skin cells, so the ugliness during treatment was worth it. Make sure you wash your hands after applying it or you risk getting medicine in your eyes, mouth, nose or other places. You don't want that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elba | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have now stopped using this medication on a spot on my forehead after 6 weeks as prescribed by my dermatologist. Now it's just a matter of the crust layer coming off and then use a healing ointment he gave me. The spot does look hideous at this time so I have to cover it when I go out. I believe this is just a temporary situation and I expect complete healing in a few weeks or maybe more. The main thing is that the cream did work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More