Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

123 People found this comment helpful

I have lived most of my life in sunny Florida, Georgia, California, and Texas and would spend all my time outdoors if it were possible. So I realize I am just paying for past lack of diligence in protecting Scottish skin. This is my second round with Fluorouracil, 5%. The first time I treated only the back of my hands and the skin is now soft with just some age spots. The whole process took...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I can only describe its use as pure hell. Imagine putting your head in a fire ant nest and you will come close to feelings I've experienced. At times I've been unable to function; driving I've even had to pull over and stop. I could go on, but this is enough for you to get the impression. I'm sure it performs its intended function, but that needs to be on someone besides me!

Shared reviews and ratings

Wells B. | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just finished my six week treatment after only a small amount of cancer remained after removal. Redness and itching along with tenderness. Scales now present, but all of this was described as the result of use. I can put up with the small discomfort which was not uncomfortable. Been in the sun all my life. Now go out with long sleeve shirts that have UV protection. Bald head always has a hat, and will wear bucket for extra for head and ears. Sunscreen on ears, nose and anything exposed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenny Beck | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Age 73 going on 50 lol. Just finished my two week treatment. I was given a choice of the Blue light treatment again or using the cream. I’ve done blue light on my face 4 times and the burning and itching that followed during and a week after the treatment were very painful. When my doctor gave me the option of the Blue light again or told me I could use the cream twice a day for two weeks and be done, I chose the cream. He forgot to tell me about the burning after day five. With the light treatment I always had to spend 3 days in the house with lights off and blinds closed, I was told not to go outside. With the cream, he said I could do everything I normally do outside, which is playing golf twice a day. Whichever of the two treatments you choose there is going to be pain, itching, and burning. With the cream I’m able to wear a very wide bucket hat outside and function normally. A lot of years vacationing in Mexico and playing golf without a hat is what you get later in life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ghia Guy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/19/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this for at least 10 years as needed. This round, I waited too long and am doing the full scalp treatment. As others say, it is painful, but believe me it works. I just wear a hat when I leave the house so folks don't have to see the process. After this treatment I will spot treat areas as soon as I notice dry, scabby patches. This is the best way to stay ahead of the overall treatments.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spottyteacher | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with DSAP about 8 years ago, in my mid 30’s. I was told this is very early onset and it could get worse. After having my daughter, it really did get worse, especially on my left forearm. The doctor prescribe this and told me to wait until after summer when I would be out of the sun. She was very helpful and explained exactly what would happen, so I was prepared. The process was painful, and I did look pretty scary, but overall, the product did what it was supposed to do. Short term pain, for long term gain. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was unlucky to have pre-cancerous spots on my lips thus began the F. Cream. It has been a nightmare because the lips are a burning mess, weeping with yellow and red marks all over this very sensitive part of the body. It feels like fire. Eating, drinking, smiling are almost impossible. One more week to go and I hope this will resolve, although the Dr. told me that my lips will still be very sore after treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daryl | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this product for about three weeks on my forehead, face and neck area. Everything has become dark red and now the scabbing process is occurring. Aside from the horrendous appearance, the itching has become almost unbearable. I have applied unscented skin cream (Cetaphil, Eucerin), which only temporarily alleviates the itch. Don't mean to whine, but this past week I have been downright miserable. I'm curious if this is normal, or whether perhaps I am having an allergic reaction? I am hoping that once this phase passes, the cream will have done its healing work. I for one, however, will never use this cream again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
William | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read most of the reviews and I am absolutely perplexed as to the negative comments. I rubbed a small amount of the cream over the basal cell spot twice a day for three weeks. The spot turned red, scabbed over and then went away. It was just like putting lotion on the spot. No burning, no itching, no side effects, nada...........easy to use, painless and avoided mohs surgery. Quick and easy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tara | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Basal cell carcinoma on my forehead as well as many precancerous areas that were rough. I have fair skin and was out in the sun too much growing up. I started the fluorouracil cream on June 30 and applied it twice a day until last night July 17th. It took about five days before my skin started to get really red and irritated. Then it went through various stages of scabbing, peeling, dryness, crusting etc...I stopped using the cream three days before my three weeks were up because new skin has started to grow so I was able to stop the cream. It has been extremely painful during the treatment. I felt like needles were being jabbed into my forehead along with constant burning twenty four hours a day. When I would have to leave I bought really wide headbands to cover my forehead so I wouldn't scare people away if I needed to run into the store. The only thing I was told to use during the treatment period was wash with dove soap. Now that I am off of the cream I was told to use Aquaphor cream. I applied it for the first time today and it was pure heaven. It immediately took away the burning. I still have a few weeks before I will know if the spots are gone. Then September 16 I have to have Mohs surgery on the cancerous spot on my forehead. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Indiana Man | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fluorouracil 5% Cream My experience with using this medication is very similar to a lot of others. In a nutshell, (for most people) this treatment is both physically tough and mentally challenging. Finished approx. 2 weeks ago - 2 weeks/2x per day treatment on my (whole) face for Actinic Keratosis. My dermatologist said absolutely nothing about any of the possible side affects, or explain what this medication does to the area(s) it’s applied to...AND NOW I KNOW WHY!! All I was told was dab a little on the areas of my entire face (but not to close to the eyes or lips) and gently rub it in. I was curious what was prescribed so I started researching Fluorouracil 5% cream myself as soon as I got home and to a point wish I hadn’t, but wanted to know everything about this medicine that I’d never heard of. But honestly wasn’t too worried, since the dermatologist didn’t “elaborate”, I just thought it would be something similar to a RX “steroid” cream/ointment I would put on and it would eventually heal after that….WOW, was I wrong!! My face does look a lot better but still have some healing time to go. HINT- do it in the winter months if you can and save your vacation time (if you work), so you can stay at home - if you decide to. The cooler temps are a plus in case you do have to go out, as being out in the heat tends to aggravate the treated area(s). You are “probably not” going to want others to see you, if treating your face, because you will eventually look like a character out of a horror movie! I was lucky enough to take 3 weeks of vacation time and did not leave the house. The medication started really kicking in at approx. day 5-6. Whole face getting very red & tight all over- sores started appearing-and NON STOP ITCHING! The itching (for “me”) was the worst part. No matter what I applied (anti-itch cream) or took orally (Benadryl) didn’t help much. Then there are the other side affects I dealt with….fatigue, nausea, loss of appetite, irritable, and trouble sleeping, even though I was exhausted. Sunscreen and a Hat are now a HAVE TO!!!- And I never liked wearing hats much. Heck, getting a sunburn back in my day, was….well…..just a sunburn and quite normal for a lot of us when we were younger. We’d give it a couple days and right back out into the sun we’d go. I pray I never have to use this medication again!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication several times. On face I pick a spot about the size of a quarter. When the skin starts to break you can cover the area with a bandaid. After skin starts to heal use light cosmetics. Then move on to next spot. This takes a while to do the face but there is no pain, no ugly splotches and result is great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished a 21 day treatment on my legs ,forearms and chest. I have done my face 2 times in the past with great results.I actually did my forearms last year however, I still have quite a bit of redness and sores this second time too. I think I am one of the few people where the medication doesn't really bother me. Besides the hassle of applying twice daily. Although sometimes I would only use it once a day. I have minor itching on occasion but that's about it. I have spent my youth working on the ski patrol in Utah and teaching tennis in the summer..and I an fair skinned. I think it is a small price to pay if I can avoid trouble down the road. With someone like me it's all about being proactive because as far as skin cancers go it's not a question of if but when. Do it in the winter months to avoid the sun. If you are thinking about doing this just do it! The results have been more than worth it to me. I even get compliments on my skin now. Good luck !Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crustina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day 14 of 21 applying to my forehead. Wow, this stuff certainly works. My entire forehead looks like I have the measles. I'm super fair, and this is a result of growing up in the SW before sunscreen was really a thing. Hurray! Anyway, I'm very uncomfortable. The burning and itching is fierce. Aside from the dermal discomfort, I have horrendous inflammation and joint pain, and my hair is falling out in droves - thank goodness I have a thick head of hair. My forehead darn well better look like a baby's bum when this is all over, because this sucks, and it's terribly awkward in public, telling people I don't have some weird plague during the pandemic. I'm getting Aquaphor in the morning to see if it will help me get through the last week of this hot mess. But I will say, it's doing its job, it just is a painful process that I have to force myself to continue on with every night.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fluorouracil 5% cream for topical treatment of actinic keratosis on my face. By the third day my skin was red and sore. I use a CPAP which has a silicone mask, and the sin under the straps across my cheeks were very raw. I discontinued after one week and am using colloidal oatmeal moisturizer to help healing. I will have to discuss other treatment options, perhaps photodynamic therapy (PDT).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This evening I finished my last application (14 days 2 times daily) of Fluorouracil to my face and forehead. The pain is so bad, I was tempted to skip this last application. The pain started around day 7 which is when I began counting down the days like a student at the end of a school year. It feels like the worst sun burn I have ever had x 10. I have trouble opening my mouth to eat, cannot smile or laugh without feeling like my face is going to crack. Shaving in the morning is another new experience in pain. I had no idea what I was in for, guess I should have asked a few more questions when my dermatologists prescribe this treatment. Hope it is worth it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimmy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 56 year old woman blued eyed fair skinned texan that lived half my life oblivious to very real danger from sunburns. After a successful mohs surgery on my nose.. I'm now 11 days into my fluorouracil treatment. Ugh! I'm miserable. My doctor and pharmacist did not warn me about side effects beyond the discomfort and itching. The nausea, dizzy and exhaustion hit me hard around the 6th day. I have no other health issues or medications. Determined to finish my 2x a day of 14 days of treatment. The discomfort of the skin is really manageable I have a high tolerance for pain but the other side effects are very disabling. There should be a warning about this. Hoping it gets rid of my squamous cell carcinoma on my face. Praying this is worth the misery. Skin cancer is deadly and I encourage everyone to see a dermatologist and never ignore any questionable spots of concern. I ignored them ?? and regret not being more proactive with my health. I'm hopeful that this will help resolve my issues but right now it's pure misery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5 stars. Using this stuff is hell. But, it is ABSOLUTELY BETTER than all other options. I've been using fluorouracil, and now fluorouracil with vitamin D, Mohs surgery, freezing, and frequent clinic visits for over 30 years. Get rid of basal and squamous cell carcinoma before they get rid of you. Friends have thought it was not a bid deal; they are dead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ace | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not much until day 8, now day 12, lots of red patches forehead and temples. Only doing 1x/day per Dr. instructions, I am in the midwest winter and retired so homelocked for 3 weeks until treatment over. Just starting to itch, know the "worst" is yet to come but thats the price of stupidity of 100s of rounds of gold in my 30s with no hat or sunblock, feel lucky to have precancerous (so far) issues only.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had to use this product 3 times. It is absolute HELL. I was in so much pain by the forth week of use. My entire chest was looking like raw hamburger. I couldn't even let my shirt touch my chest it was so painful. I have to drive for my job and I had to have one hand under my shirt to pull it up and keep it from touching my raw skin. I had to do this treatment 3 times. If it had worked the first time, that might not have been so bad, but 3 times was too many. I hope something better comes along. I will try Diclofenac gel the next time. 5 FU is mostly just...FU, this hurts.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This definitely works! Although the 2 weeks on/ 2 weeks off/2 weeks on schedule was a little painful- and the the unsightly breakout appearance during the healing process was rough. BUT the great news is for me- new skin regenerated after 4 weeks...very smooth and lesion free! I definitely recommend using Aquaphor cream available at drug stores to help relieve the treated skin afterwards... product worked for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
USNCWORet | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never again use for facial treatment! Strongly recommend you ask your dermatologist for other options. I erased 8wks of my life going through application of cream to face, ears, and neck, followed by recovery only to recognize a small improvement. If you have a sedentary lifestyle, it may be OK (other than continuous sleepless nights). If you are an active, outdoors person, standby for "hell"...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More