Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

First med, I tried that makes me feel normal w/o side affects! I been suffering with bipolar for years and would recommend this med; to anyone with this condition.

Shared reviews and ratings

Feelbetter | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a total gamechanger for me MDD. Within 3 days I felt as close to normal as I have ever been. Yes, the taste is a little off but I don't think it is that bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robkenkat | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/19/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take saphris for severe insomnia. The pill works most nights in allowing me to fall asleep. I often will wake up after sleeping two to three hours but usually can fall back asleep with little difficulty. The medication is sublingual and dissolves quickly. I've gained 15 pounds since I've been on the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spice | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2018
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor gave me this medication on yesterday. I took the medication and in less than 15mins I was very dizzy and couldnt control my body functions. I could barely move my eyes. It put me to sleep for 12hours however my body couldnt move.Someone else can have this medication but it wont be me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Long Islander | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/17/2018
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a Godsend, except it is the most difficult medicine to administer I've ever had. You cannot eat ten minutes after administration (and ten minutes before according to my doctor). It's supposed to sit in your mouth for three minutes, but last night I sneezed after ingesting so who knows if I got the full dosage or not. The tin foil packaging can pop the pill out on to the floor, and at $6 a pill (depending on insurance coverage), you can't waste any. Ask your doctor about timing dosages with intimacy. Still, other medications are awful, they deaden compared to the effects of this, and I have been taking these medications since the age of 19.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crazedcat625 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2017
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even Though I Have Only Been On This Medication For A Short Time I Am Ecstatic With The Results! I Have Been Over Medicated For Years For Bi Polar Disorder Wit Several Hospitalizations Resulting From Psychotic Episodes As One Of The Side Effects. I Have Never Had Regular Sleep Patterns, Nor I Been Able To Stay Asleep For More Than A Couple Hours. This Medication Lets Me Get Uninterrupted Sleep For 6-8 Hours EVERY Night! It Has Also Replaced 6 Other Medications I Had Been Taking! I Hope These GREAT Results Continues! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZwildchild | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2016
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on Saphris a few days and first time I took it I totally crashed out sleeping... Was so confused the next morning that I literally felt like I lost a day's time. Adding to consistently sore muscles? uhhh... thanks, but no thanks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AERH | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/21/2016
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication is very helpful. But it tastes TERRIBLE and my doctor says that almost every patient that he has on it complains about the taste. He also said that him and several of his patients including me have even called the manufacturer about the taste. I wish there was either an additional form that wasn't sublingual or if they could have a verity of flavor options. Especially since you are not supposed to eat or drink (even water) for ten minutes after taking it. To be honest so I don't have to deal with the taste as much I will just swallow it or put it in a small class of carbonated-flavored water, soda, or juice. Other than the taste the medication is really helpful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2016
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/5/2016
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication ruined my life. I completely lost my appetite, couldn't hardly walk, was too weak to do anything and it cost me my career. I started doing better immediately after I stopped taking it after I complained to my doctor several times. I do not recommend this medication under any condition. It is horrid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shoshana | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2016
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started Saphris, I thought it was a miracle drug. I was prescribed Saphris 2.5mg to boost the effects of my Lexapro 30mg. Within a day of taking my first dose of Saphris, my depression lifted completely and I felt better than I had in years. Unfortunately I developed a Type 1 allergic reaction with wheezing, puffy face and hands, dry skin and mouth, incredible thirst and itching and had to stop Saphris after just a few days. Coming off of Saphris is no picnic. DO NOT drink alcohol while discontining Saphris - I had two glasses of wine one night and was so suicidal I almost drove to the hospital. Two days later, I am having vivid nightmares and "exploding head" sensations and I still feel fragile and confused. I'm taking Claritin D and Pepcid AC to help with the puffiness and itchiness and I am still not comfortable. Can't wait to get this med out of my system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
martinhersey | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/15/2016
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first month gave me some problems with side effects. After that, no problems that I can remember. I take it at bedtime along with another AP for sleep. It does a good job of putting me to sleep almost immediately. Apparently, it continues its work during the following day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Florida | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2015
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG. This was among the most terrifying experiences of my life. My doctor gave me sample to try to handle general depressing. The side effects took 3 to 4 months to kick in and no benefit meanwhile. The side effects were that my vision was so blurry that when I went to an optomitrist to she couldn't believe how fast my vision was detriorating as by the time the glasses were ready, they had to be redone. She asked if I was on any new medications and this was when I finally figured it out. It left me with permanent eye sight damage months later! To compound, it has the effect of your handwriting getting smaller and smaller until you can't write! Watch out for this stuff as if you're depressed, it could cause you to totally lose your mind when you can't see or write to compound your situation!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hsdallas | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/17/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a difficult time getting to sleep and I wake several times through the night. This medication has helped my condition. I used to always feel tired even if I'd been in bed for 12hrs. Now I can wake up and feel rested after about 8hrs. This medication is strong and I take half the dose prescribed otherwise I get the shakes and feel itchy all over.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tpj9393 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2015
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After many years of trial and error taking every new drug and having been hospitalized many times because of the side effects. Ive been using sasphris for about 4 years. If i miss adose psychotic mania looms ahead. I do get some very bothersome side effects. Facils ticks,grinding my teeth. Pacing pacing this one bothers everyone a great deal.i take klonipin to help the akathesia but if i take enough "Kpin" to even me out it causes such bad amnesia. But still a great drug for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cj | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2015
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I herd voice and seen things scene I was a kid and now with this I have a new live. I have put on weight but this seems to be the only thing that has taken the voice and seeing things away. I take the black cherry in the morning and then at dinner. I'm able to do more then I ever have and my friends notice a difference in me and it feels so good. I'm even able to listen to music again and TV or movies. So the weight gain something I'm learning to deal with and eat better meals. I can sleep also which is a big change. Now I'm getting about 7 to 8 hours of sleep and waking up rested. So I feel this med is will though the try!!!!!!!!! Cj Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2014
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

weight gain, feeling like I am dragging around a 1000 lb weight. No motivation. Worked great the first week, then began to feel as if I was in a dream. Like i wasn't really here. I swear I began to have hallucinations.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a terrible reaction to this drug almost immediately. I couldn't stand up without passing out within 2-3 minutes, consistently. I remember thinking to myself "if this is what everyday felt like, I'd rather be dead." I had to go to the ER, as it dumped my blood pressure way below my normal, which is already low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medicine for 1 week and ended up very ill. I had diarrhea and vomiting so bad that I lost 10 pounds in three days. I would not recommend this medicine at all. My tongue was numb for about 20 minutes and had a stomach ache for the first three days. I ended up in the hospital and missed 2 days of work!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barbara | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2014
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mdt118 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2014
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really improved my mood and sleep. Much more energy, feel like my old self again. Con is weight gain, been on it for 3 months and have gained 40 lbs. Thought i could handle some weight gain as long as i was back to normal, but with this much gain, i am finding myself more depressed, feeling useless, fat and ugly. See doc in a week, have to get off this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More