Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

When my usual Sprintec was out of stock at my pharmacy, they dispensed Mono-Linyah. I've only tried it for one cycle, but I already notice some improvements. For instance, I would always spot like crazy on Sprintec but haven't yet on Mono-Linyah. I also feel less moody with no crying fits like I get on Sprintec. Another great thing is my libido has increased a lot, and while I haven't had any ...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I am pretty sensitive to birth control so it is common for me to have side effects. I was on Sprintec with little to no problems but the pharmacy gave me mono-linyah last month. In one month my acne has flared up, my appetite has increased, I've gained about 5-7 pounds, and I feel extremely bloated and fatiqued. Everyones body reacts differently to birth controls but this is just a warning that th...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my doctor put me on this birth control over a year ago and it has allowed me to function without painful cramps or any other period side effects. it works great, cleared my acne but my only complaint is that it’s been having a negative impact on my mental health. it is manageable however something to take into account going forward

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Haley | 13-18 | Female | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps my periods but I’ve had 5-6 migraines in a week. Worst pain ever. I do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/12/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first Birth control I have ever taken I have currently been on it for a year. I have struggled with acne for over 5 years and this Birth control completely cleared my skin!! I do start to break out very badly when I am off it though. I would also like to add after I started taking Mono- linyah I lost 40 pounds. This pill helped me battle my binge eating disorder, due to the fact after taking it, I became full very very quickly. Which is great because when I fist started taking it, I was extremely over weight. Be warned when you stop taking this pill you will start to gain that weight back quickly. It also helped control my mood swings and a better sex drive. I have not experienced any dryness down there, it has been the complete opposite. The only complaint I have is my periods are LONGER and I experience more pain every once and a while. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Well not preg | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My only complaint is that i’m on day 45 of my period. I started taking this due to extreme period symptoms due to my PCOS and they have completely eased my symptoms which is the only reason I put up with the bleeding for so long. I was told that some bleeding was normal, but i’m soaking through a ultra tampon every 2 hours and after a month that takes a toll on a person. I thought it was stopping and would have given 5 stars but I started again so I’m stopping the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Slovakki | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication messes my body up badly. The first time I was on it I had terrible depression. It was borderline scary the thoughts I would have on this medication. This time around, a few days into, it I became horribly nauseated with bloating, belching and diarrhea. I had no appetite and if I did I'd get full and sick after two bites. I was absolutely miserable and couldn't imagine suffering through that for months. Never had a negative reaction to birth control before this pill, but it has admittedly been a while since I've been on any form of BC. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JASMINE C. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a totally different story to share with all girls here. My pharmacy somehow gave me Sprintec instead of Mono-Linyah, maybe it was out of stock. About a month into taking Sprintec, i started having severe breast swelling to the point it interfered with my nightly sleep( i have never felt my breasts being so swollen in the past 30 years of my life), the swelling would ONLY disappear when i am on the placebo pills, not only this, i also have severe mood-swings to the extent i was on the edge of breaking up with my partner( i am extremely guilty of mistreating him this way). all these symptoms occurred when I started taking Sprintec. before this, i was always taking Mono-Linyah, and it was a breeze, no problems whatsoever, always had great sex with my partner, was always on the mood etc. so God please help me get back to Mono-Linyah. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KS | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/24/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So this is a simple and very effective birthcontrol for me but it’s caused so many problems! I’ve been on this pill for over a year now and it’s been crappy the whole time. I have been in the ER for side effects (I had no pre-existing conditions) so I was shocked to hear it was causing a blockage in my uterus. It also make me miss periods then have 4 month long periods. My cycle is so off because of this pill. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone honestly, it’s made my life so much harder I’m happy to be switching soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kiki12 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall I like this birth control. It has caused me a bit of nausea(it does go away) my breast are a bit sore. Other than that, i haven't had really any mood swings, and or any other bad reactions. I will continue taking it. Also no spotting! I was on the mini pill and getting a period every two weeks which was awful. This has not caused me to spot. Hopefully this BC continues to work for me, since I've tried different kinds already.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/10/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using the brand name othro cyclen and I switched to genetric to save money, took mili and it was better for me, but got brown spot on face. Common with birth control. Grrh. The past 4 months I've been taking this one with horrible results-face acne, red and puffy, stomach pain, skin redness, cramps, weight gain, higher blood pressure, moods with drepression, anxiety, chest pain, waves of nauseous, etc. No more side effects after 3 or 4 months they said but not getting better. Told my gyn about it but pharmacy kept giving me this one. I told them I was getting side effects but said only doctor can change it, Publix sucks. Now I'm thinking just to stop taking birth control all together....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blueyes | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/6/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To start I've been on multiple birth controls orthocyclen sprintec nexplanon and now mono. I can say this birth control is definitely in my NOT list! i have had soo many side effect many with my face. my face breaks out in rashes in between my eyebrows that turn dark. They then burn after i wash my face and turn red which makes the rashes worse. my face peels like i have sunburn on my nose, forehead, and around my mouth. I can wash my face and within five minutes of washing and face cream my face is peeling. Recently my nose started itching like a feather was under it. Its going in the trash today! To those that are skeptical in believing it's the birth control, i was to so i came off of it for a month all symptoms went away. I however slipped up once drunk night with my boyfriend and started another pack to keep from pregnancy. oh n my acne is horrible with these pills as well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/13/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I chose Mono-Linyah for acne. At first I was a hormonal mess and had anxiety about everything. After about 4 months my hormones leveled out, and my acne cleared. Almost a year into it now and my acne is basically gone. My breasts did enlarge some and cramping in my periods has gotten a bit worse. Other than that I have had no other side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stellabella | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2019
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stay away from Mono-Linyah. My pharmacy changed its generic BC pill to monolinyah from Sprintec a few months ago. I never had 1 single unpleasant side effect from Sprintec, which I had been taking for 4 & a 1/2 straight years. On the first day I took one of the pills, within an hour I had a migraine & was nauseous. This persisted off and on for weeks and months, and got worse and worse, to the point where I was vomiting and my stomach burned. I stopped taking it and went back to Sprintec, and have felt completely normal, happy and regular periods, no mood swings, nothing. The pharmacists/ doctors claim they are the same because they contain the same hormones/dosage. but the coating on MonoLinyah I believe is what causes all these awful side effects. I would also recommend eating a good meal, taking Prilosec, fish oil & a probiotic prior to your pill, and take it the same time every day. This is what helped me with my sensitive stomach. Hope this helps !Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lmcampbell89 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control gets such bad reviews so I freaked out before I started taking it. But I gave it a chance because Iâ??ve never had bad side effects from birth control(besides implanon which caused me TERRIBLE acne.) I just started my third month on this and I havenâ??t had any bad side effects whatsoever. In fact, it completely cleared up my skin other than the occasional one pimple I get before my period. My breasts grew which is a plus for me, and I gained about five pounds which is also a plus for me. I understand thatâ??s not a plus for everyone, but for me Iâ??m definitely satisfied!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mcs | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had spryntec for a while and got changed to this when I changed pharmacist and itbdoes its job but i get nauseous like crazy I feel very grossed and honestly I stopped talong then and went back to the dr I just cant

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/1/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works as far as keeping periods regular, not painful, and good birth control. However, I have gained weight. My libido is at an all time low, along with vaginal dryness when I do have sex. Iâ??ve been on this brand for about 2 years now and recently have been having break through bleeding. Iâ??ve also been extremely emotional lately. The smallest things can make me cry and they never used to. It does the job, but Iâ??m not happy with the side effects. I will be switching to the Nuva Ring soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nope | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/11/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had side effects from this and I have regular and normal periods. The only thing that I don't like is the packaging, but nothing can be perfect. I just am happy that it does its job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amber | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has helped with my acne tremendously. My skin is FLAWLESS. Havent had any over side effects. I am pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been using sprintec for a few years now. With a mix up between my GYNO & pharmacy, i was dispensed mono-linyah. I’ve never had any problems with sprintec and always request it over this version for several reasons. Mono-linyah has given me major negative side affects. I received my period 6 days early, I have been breaking out all over my face and my mood goes from 0-100. I’ve never had acne in the past. I get mood swings for no justified reason. If you are sensitive to birth controls, please read reviews and use precautions when using this product! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good medication. Poor packaging. I dont know hoe many pills I've lost to the ground or drain because the packaging is so difficult! Over all it works though with minimal side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kylie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my second month of this product and it is helping with the birthcontrol portion and keeping my period regular, but my breasts continue to stay sore and sensitive along with my acne is actually getting worse. I have also found myself gaining weight and I have had body image issues in the past that had pushed me to the brink of anorexia, I just feel like I'm constantly gross.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More