Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

This has changed my life. Was on trileptal for nerve pain. Made me very tired and occasionally I would have dizzy spells. Did not have with Oxtellar.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I am taking Oxtellar XR 150mg to treat Trigeminal Neuralgia pain, so far it has not worked for me.

Shared reviews and ratings

sad_boi | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/20/2021
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It stopped my seizures, but now I suffer from extreme depression and suicidal ideation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Storchy | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/6/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Trigeminal Neuralgia for 4 years, I tried many other drugs during the first 3 months before trying Oxtellar Xr. Once the doctor prescribed the right dosage of 600 mg per day my symptoms disappeared. Oxtellar is my life saver. If you have this awful diseased give this drug a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About 7 months ago my doctor switched me from Oxcarbazapine to Oxtellar XR for absence seizures. On the old mediciane I wanted to constantly take a nap and frequently had bad dreams. On Oxtellar, I stay awake and the bad dreams are gone. It took 3 or 4 months to get through the conversion, but once there I felt like a normal person again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/18/2016
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Trileptal 1800mg a day for 12 years. I had a lot of success and only experienced 2 tonic clonic seizures a year (or anytime I missed a dose) however loss of coordination and headaches brought me to the neurologist. I have been on Oxtellar XR 1800mg for a little over 2 years. I am seizure free. I have had extreme reaction to any time in the sun and have had spells of significant memory loss and confusion since starting Oxtellar. Overall the medication has completely controlled the seizures. I am talking to the Dr regarding additional treatment for the memory issues. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angie garrett | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2016
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am hoping that someone will comment on this for. I have read all of the other comments and everyone seems to be taking this for various neuropathies/ nerve pain. I do not have this. Instead my neurologist precribed this for seizures (absence type - sp?). Has anyone else been given this med for same diagnosis? Thanks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jamms | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doc prescribed this for my 7 year old son as trileptal. New doc went to oxtellar xr to prevent highs and lows. Treatment is actually for a mood disorder to control outbursts and aggression. It is the best we have had. It at least gives us a chance so he can counsel with an ABA. Although if he gets emotional enough he still can have smaller outbursts. Less physical though. I say its worth a try if you have similar situation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimberrydaniel | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

changed from trileptal to oxtellar. its amazing! very little nerve pain now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blanca | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had until this medication; an extensively worse sort of NERVE PAIN, Limb, body, head nerve pain. I, like many people now, have our life's back honorably & gratefully. Now my medications are cut to this one and my daily multivitamin. I am a person who owns 4 separate businesses and have young kids of our own. I'm 42, I have been stuck to medications for about 15 years until now. Thank you....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Els4561 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has changed my life. Was on trileptal for nerve pain. Made me very tired and occasionally I would have dizzy spells. Did not have with Oxtellar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Artist327 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2014
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I has Oxtellar XR added to my Keppra because I was still having about 2 seizures a week. Since starting Oxtellar XR I have only experienced 1 seizure in the last 2 months. This medication has been life changing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dorothy | 55-64 | Female | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prescribed for feet and legs swelling, pain, tingling and cramping of feet and legs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gramma31 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for nerve pain. I have been titrated to 1200 mg and have not had the severe pain I did prior to taking Oxtellar XR. I recommend talking to your doctor about this drug if you are looking for a nerve pain cure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grunty | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
6/24/2014
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my 14 year old son has been on it for a year. It seems to help keep his seizures under control and more even then his last medication. I do see some differences in his moods and personality changes, whether its his age or not I'm not sure. But taking it once a day rather then three times a day is so much easier.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coping | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this med for Trigeminal nerve pain. I started this one a week ago was on different med before this and find the oxtellar less effective on the pain but makes it tolerable. But am tired most of the time and feel a little gaggy and sinus drainage with a irritating cough makes my days a lot less enjoyable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
genec | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/24/2014
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been on this medication to treat trigeminal neuralgia for 10 days so far its not working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
judzea | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this med for foot pain and nerve pain(damage). At night I am restless and in severe body pain when at rest. It feels like my whole body is cramping up and it is hard for me to function and or sleep without pain meds and or a sleep aid. To be honest I have these same complaints prior to taking Oxtellar XR but since taking the med, the complaints seem to have been exacerbated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2013
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor switched me from Trileptal to Oxtellar XR. The medicine was very effective and controled my seizures. But it caused me to be depressed and have a sudden mood change that my friends and family members noticed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AL | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication was prescribed for foot paim. I take Lyrica 150 bid. 1 dose and my whole body aches severely. I feel sedated, and had difficulty getting out of bed,feel i need to sleep it off. I have nausea,stomachache, constpation and a foggy headache.I don't understand why the doctor prescibed this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2013
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works great for simple partial seizures but when I got the third prescription filled, I had a reaction to it. I broke out in hives and itched so bad that the doctor took me off of it. That is when I found out that it had some sulphur in it and I am allergic to sulphur.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Runningallday | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2013
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from trileptal to Oxtellar and it doesn't make me dizzy and has reduced my seizures.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More