Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this medication almost year ago for endometriosis. In the beginning it was awful, I had the side effects. From bloating to weight gain and my moods were all over the place. I kept taking it as it's my last option to prevent more surgeries and I'm glad I did. After a few months the side effects went away and my moods are back to normal. I know you read some bad reviews but if you c...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My doctor gave me this to stop my heavy bleeding as my blood count was way down. Since taking it (since early-2008), I have turned into an old man; my skin and hair have become thin, greasy scalp and shrinking breasts. Yuck. Now my doctor says I have fibroids on my uterus and wants me to have a hysterectomy. I wish I could have my periods back and just take iron pills. If I stop taking the pi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got pregnant taking this pill. I’ve been taking it for years now. And now I’m pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Addison | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/20/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are unsure about taking norethindrone, read this first! First time ever taking birth control, I was pretty nervous about side effects, considering all the reviews I read here, on Reddit, other places, etc. If you are normal BMI, you have regular periods, you don't have endometriosis, PCOS, etc, This birth control is perfect for you. All these women leaving bad reviews have whacked out hormones, are overweight, just had a baby, etc, and having extra progesterone in their system sends the other hormones into overdrive causing tons of bleeding, headaches, cramps, etc. I have had no side effects, and at first I was wondering if it was actually working because I felt no change in my body whatsoever. My periods are a little lighter, I have less cramps during my period, sex drive/lubrication production hasn't changed. I'm hoping eventually my periods will go away or just be spotting once a month. And not using condoms?! Are you kidding?! Do it girl!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deidra | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't like This Medication because I have been bleeding for almost 4 weeks none stop.. is this designed to make you bleed, I Rather my normal self then man made Medication.. ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carin | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As if having PMS and periods our whole lives isn't bad enough, let's give women horrible birth control options that make us sick, depressed, fat, and bleed even more. If you are the very small % of women that love their birth control, kudos to you. The side effects from this one are horrible. From exhaustion and depression to nausea and stomach pain to brain fog and headaches.....I've got nothing even remotely good to say. If you suffer from anxiety and depression run!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greenery | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got diagnosed with endometriosis earlier this year and was prescribed this medication to help. When I say it has been one of the hardest things it really has been. My hair is thinner than ever, like I’m just constantly pulling large amounts of fallout to the point I’m surprised I’m not bald. Stomach issues, bloating, tenderness in my breasts, it’s a laundry list. At this point I’m almost thinking it would’ve been better to just push through the pain than go through all of this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jk | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let me tell you something, this stuff does not work! A matter of fact, if you even miss an hour you're cramping like you're about to have a baby! Not to mention, I was trying to stop my bleeding, but this stuff made it heavier! Please do not use this medication and no matter of fact take it off the shelves or remove it from the prescription board or something. It is not a good medication and it's not very effective at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Powpow | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill 2 months ago, mainly to help with my pms symptoms, it has done the opposite as I basically had pms symptoms for the 2 months, I’ve also had my period every other week since on this pill, I gained weight, and the bloating has been out of control, I’ve been so bloated I can’t wear my regular clothes because they won’t fit. But what really did it for me was my hair started falling out in clumps, so I finally stopped taking it 5 days ago, and while I’m on my period yet again, the bloating has gone down, my mood and energy have improved greatly and now I’m hoping the hair loss will stop soon. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cak | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on tricycles then I am in early menopause stages. My gyno switched me to this pill. I went from a 4 day period to zero period. No side effects. Where has this been all my life?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess w/the Mess | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found out in April 2022 that I have 3 huge Fibroids that need to be removed; after nearly passing out from what I thought was a regular period and needing a blood transfusion. I was told that this medication would help regulate my period until my initial hysterectomy. Since being prescribed this medications I have been bleeding since switching to it in April. I experienced the depression as I am normally a pleasant person but since being on the medication I am not myself. I decided to get off the medication went two days without the medication and went from light bleeding to HEAVY BLEEDING and CRAMPS that have you bed ridden. After reading all these reviews I am just awaiting my surgery for August because this medication is trash.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whitney Gaudaur | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this birth control after having my second child. I have endometriosis and have been on birth control as long as I can remember but this was a different med than I previously used. Right of the bat I started getting migraines, horrible mood swings, lethargy, and fatigue. Then my depression that I thought was no more, came back for the first time since late 2019. Then came the intrusive, suicidal thoughts. My life is amazing and these thoughts were unwarranted. I thought there might be a correlation with the medication and this severe depression. Within a couple days of quitting the medication my mental health was immensely better and I haven’t had an intrusive thought since. I stopped about a month and a half ago. Now looking back, I’ve had depression and intrusive thoughts since middle school….when I first started taking birth control. And now I realize my mental health has only been stable when I’m not taking any form of birth control. I didn’t realize how big of a role it was playing and I wish more females did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi I'm 20 and have been taking this for about 3 to 3 an a half months, im not sure if I need to wait longer for the periods to stop but ever since taking it I've been on a never ending period. 3 months of back and forth heavy and light periods. Great news is my cramps are nonexistent and it has kept my face and blemishes from coming up everywhere. I was prescribed this because I wanted a birthcontrole that didnt interfere with my depression and my imbalanced hormones. My depression is same as normal and my hormones have pretty much balanced out, the only problem, the constant period. I would like to not be bleeding 24/7 even if its spotting. I think it's sad that the pill is causing this even though I'm strict with taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Srd444 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only side effect I regularly experience is headache but I have them anyway. I've only been taking it, this time, for 5 days, and I already have zero acne which is rare for me. It's awesome not to have acne. Minus the headaches, I've had no issues otherwise with norethindrone. I am coming off DEPO so I've still had no menstrual cycle. While on it previously I did have some breakthrough bleeding but not this round.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaclyn | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Norethindrone 5 mg for a little over a year and a half. It has been effective in stopping my menstrual cycles completely, and in return, saved me from anemia due to heavy periods and days upon days each month of debilitating pain. I have PCOS, endometriosis and suspected adenomyosis. Starting this medication, I had red flags off the bat - hot flashes, night sweats, constipation, mood swings/anger like never before. I stuck with it because I was desperate and these dude effects didn't go away, but rather I got accustomed to them and justified how awful I felt because at least I wasn't having horrific periods. Long-term, I've gained the most stubborn 20 lbs, experienced rapid cycling bipolar episodes for the first time, my hair loss worsened and hair texture completely changed. I no longer feel like myself, I don't recognize the person I've become. My anxiety has never been so heightened and I've never felt such rage, which I've directed entirely at myself. I looked at literally everything in my life trying to find anything else to blame but the Norethindrone, I just wish I'd been honest with myself sooner and gotten off this crap before it turned me into an empty shell of who I once was. Since everyone is different, I think this could be a game changer for some, but I don't recommend forcing yourself to be on it until you've become a zombie. Here's hoping I can find some semblance of joy in life again when I ditch this at long last. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began using it for hot flashes. It helped with that BUT after a year with no period it started again in spades while on these pills! Horrible cramps also, face breaking out, bloating and tired all the time! I’m gonna stop taking them TODAY!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for about 4 months now. Im 32 and I het migraines with birth control pills so my doctor suggested a pill with no estrogen. I am not having a good experience. I have been on my period for 31 days now. It starts heavier, then gets lighter like it may stop, then picks back up. I havent had any headaches since starting this pill, but my face has been breaking out terribly and I cant seem to lose any weight and my hair is coming out more than usual. I think ill just suffer with the headaches instead. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bre Bre | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I tried to ignore the reviews… thinking if I take it at the same time every single day I should be good bc clearly everyone that is complaining probably isn’t taking it correctly. Wrong, I took it promptly everyday on the min, super long periods… 7-8days. Constant spotting between period, I tried it for 3 months and I honestly can’t take it anymore. I. The 3 months I’ve been on it there’s probably been a total of 10 days out of the 90 days I wasn’t bleeding or spotting. No thanks, I don’t even want to wait it out anymore, it’s too inconvenient. Plus it’s made my face break out soooo bad with dry skin patches !! I’m 30 and was using this for period cramps/heavy periods. No cramps and somewhat lighter periods but it’s just not worth spending all this money on hygiene products! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this pill to help with my with my periods. I ever since I was 11 I had bad periods. When I got older they got worse. I went on the birth control when I was 25. When I got into my late 30's early 40's they did not want me to take the pill anymore. They gave me this one but at first the higher dose 5mg. The 4th day I was on it I had such a bad mood swing. I cried for no reason at all. Then I would get so mad I did not know why, I felt like I was going crazy. They put me on the lower dose and I felt like a zombie, I did not care about anything or anyone. I stopped taking it and was back to my old self. I would never take this pill ever again. I would rather bleed to death. I feel bad for the ones that have to take it. Recently I was lucky I got to have a partial hysterectomy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keisha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed to this medication in May 2022, I only had a chance to take 3 pills out of the 90 prescribed. I instantly notice my hair loss (bald spot) severe mood swings and irregular bleeding that was heavier than my normal period. I stopped taking this medication and wouldn’t recommend this medication to anyone. I will be having Surgery (hysterectomy) soon. I am never taking a pill that take control of my body mind and soul. I rather do things naturally because these birth control will mess up your life mentally and physically. The mood swings are no joke I found myself yelling and thinking negative thoughts to harm my kids, I couldn’t see myself harming them, so immediately stopped taking that medication. I was taking it until I have my surgery for adenomyosis. Today I am still bleeding and not sure if it’s my regular period or not and I’m just. Ow getting back to my normal self.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tara | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for a couple months because I struggle with depression and my doctor suggested I take a pill with no estrogen. So far I’ve become extremely bloated and I’ve had severe mood swings. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMO | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this everyday for 3 years. I do not enjoy being a woman, having periods made me miserable and pms on top of my regular depression always put me in a really rough head space. Cramps had me nearly in tears every month. I stopped having my period completely a few months after starting this. I take it within the same hour every single day and have never had an issue. As a contraceptive, I am not a careful person at all and this has always prevented me from getting pregnant. 3 years, no positives. No complaints. I didn't gain weight, my acne didn't get worse, it helped stabilize my mood, it got rid of my cramps and my period as a whole, no bleeding, and I don't get pregnant. I will never be trying another form of birth control and would highly reccomend giving this one a chance. My family has a history of blood clots which is what led me to this option and I've also had no issues in that regard on it either. This is the best medication of any that I've been on for anything. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More