Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

Used Chateal for 6 months. Became extremely depressed and moody. Crying a lot. Angry and screaming a lot. Would just stare off into space feeling broken hearted sometimes. Not enjoying things like I used to. Stopped taking it and felt like myself again within days. The depression and the fights almost broke up my boyfriend and I!!! When will there be birth control options for men!!?!?!?!??...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

So, I was kinda iffy about taking birth control to begin with, but Planned Parenthood put me on this brand and within a month I was a different person. I was pissed off all the time, crying for no reason (literally no reason) and I didn't really have bad acne before, but a month and a half in my acne got really bad. there was one point on this pill where i was crying so hard and laughing at myself...

Shared reviews and ratings

J | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it really does vary from person to person. i personally did not experience any negative side effects while taking chateal eq. i was only on it for three months, just got switched to altavera cuz of the shortage, but i did not experience any spotting except for when i missed a day, which is of course on me, not the pill. overall, it's worked out great for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ColieMama | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/9/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried chateal for about 4 months before I couldn't continue. Aside from worsening my existing bipolar/depression, it gave me constant horrible stomach aches and the runs! I was drinking a large bottle of Pepto every couple of days as my only defense. I felt horrible and nothing got better so I stopped taking it. It made my periods stop and I didn't get pregnant, but everything else wasn't worth it! I've been off it for a year now and have been actually trying for a baby most of that time; oddly enough I haven't gotten pregnant but once ending in my first miscarriage. Not sure if the two are related, but my cycles and fertility seem to have gone down hill since trying chateal. Coincidence? Guess I'll never know. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this birth control from Planned Parenthood as most others have, and at first everything went well. However, by the second week, my breasts were aching, I've been hit with extreme fatigue, massive migraines, and depressive episodes. (I've had headaches before, but never a migraine until now!) I'm currently on the placebo week of pills and might continue for one more month just to see if my body eventually will adjust to the hormones, but honestly, if I knew I'd get these symptoms, I wouldn't have started it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K.Mac | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/25/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm generally happy with Chateal. I've gained about ten pounds and have gone up about two cup sizes, but I don't mind particularly as my periods are more regular, and the pill itself is very effective. If taken continuously so as to delay menstruation, you will experience some breakthrough bleeding, but it's manageable. As far as mood changes go, it has not negatively impacted me; I cry at films a bit more and seem to be more deeply affected by cute dog videos, but I have no issues with anger or anxiety. As I struggle with depression, this may be Chateal's big sell for me; it's especially helpful for my severe PMS. The only real downside I've noticed is the thinning of my hair; I don't have bald patches or anything like that, but I do shed more and it's certainly more prone to breakage. Overall this is is probably the second best out of MANY birth control pills I've tried (the best so far being Seasonale).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
livm | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/14/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had zero adverse effects from this pill. My boobs grew about two cup sizes but I was pretty flat before so I didn't mind lol. My acne cleared up, my periods are more regular and less painful (not painful at all, actually), and I can have sex without anxiety!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mya | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2018
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, I started these pills about 3 months ago. My honest opinion is that it really helped with endometriosis. For the last 4 months I've been having these extremely painful periods that leads to me being in the E.R, in the worst pain, can't eat or drink until I started these BC pills and it went away completely! Very small to no cramps at all now. But the only thing I don't understand is that, I'm losing weight and my breast went from B cup to an A cup.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Itchy legs, irregular period, increased appetite, mood swings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Autumn | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The reviews will give you either good or bad reviews. Mine is in the middle. In the beginning it was not easy for me. It was my first time starting birth control so my body was new to this. The first night I took it I threw up what I ate that night. Then that same week for about the first two days I felt nauseous. In two month I had random cases of nausea but it went away. I didnâ??t have any bad sidebar effects besides nausea. I do t know of this is a legit side effect, but I feel like my sex drive went down...Iâ??m not sure though, itâ??s jjst harder for me to get there before my partner does. However, this has just made sex more fun and last. Besides that, itâ??s been three months and so far Iâ??m not pregnant and Iâ??m fine. However, this is my experience-it is different for others and that is what you should be considering. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2018
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first birth control experience and i have to say im very satisfied. Ive been on this pill for 4 months now perfect timing. I didnt really have any side effects other than my breasts gettig a little larger and gaining a little bit of weight in the butt area (no complaints). I had some spotting in my 3rd month but it was due to another medication and i havent had it happen again.this pill made my period regular, less painful cramps. I did not gain any actual weight but i am very active and eat relatively healthy. Only complaint is that i get very sore breasts right before my period. honestly i was really worried to start taking this pill because i saw so many bad reviews, but thankfully its been really great with me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kellyb28 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on it for 3 weeks now and my mood swings are out of control like never before. I cry for no reason, I spend all day in bed depressed, and I get angry at my friends for no reason. I’ve also had an increased appetite and have gained a few pounds. Getting off ASAP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/3/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible! Actually, it helped with my heavy periods.. That's it. I got bad acne, and I was basically a different person, horrible depression and anxiety! It's never been like that before.. it ruined my relationship.. it was a new relationship and I was a total crazy person.. It also gave me really bad discharge. Like constant all day everyday. Buuuut, I didn't get pregnant.. Lol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
misssssmegan | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As far as birth control goes, Chateal does its job. It definitely kept me from getting pregnant and was very easy to use as long as you can remember to take the pill at the same time everyday (setting an alarm on my phone helped me). However, it gave me horrible acne. I would say if you have cystic acne (as I do) or are acne prone in general, do not use this product! It will only make your acne worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jill28 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/8/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Chateal since I was 16, once Planned Parenthood's funding changed I was switched. When I was first on this pill I had extreme nausea. It only occurred on the first day of the new hormone pill. This was for about five months, other than that it was great and easy to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasmine08 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first time ever taking birth control pills but so far I am pleased with Chateal. I read reviews and at first I was too afraid to even try it, but I did and so far I haven't had any symptoms. No weight gain, no acne, no mood swings as of yet, if anything changes I will come back and review it again. As far as "effectivness" I only rated it 4 stars because my husband is currently deployed so I'm not sure how effective it is yet haha. But as far as my periods BEFORE the birth control I had HORRIBLE cramps and I was always so heavy I'd have to wear a tampon AND a pad and switch out the tampon every 20 mins! it was so bad I couldn't go to work or school the first 3 days but AFTER the birth control it's made my periods and cramps lighter! I'm very happy with this pill. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Currently ok | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
12/29/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently using this product. I'm on month two. I have decided after the next month I'm switching to another. The last week of the pills was just terrible for everyone around me. The mood swings are no joke. Slight weight gain. Not anything major. I just hate being angry and not being able to have complete control over that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/22/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to Chateal after having the implant for a horrible year. I have not tried any other pill. I usually take it as directed. By Wednesday of the "no pill week" (4th week) I start bleeding like a regular period, but by Saturday it is just light bleeding/spotting. I usually stop bleeding completely after about 8 days. Very nice in its consistency. The only time I spot in between is if I skip the "no pill week" for some reason (ie, big event was happening that week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had mental side effects with birth controls. I was afraid to try BC again, but did because I really didn't want to get pregnant. I have had little to no mental side effects (just a little emotional on the last week of pills). I also got a bonus of my debilitating cramps being knocked down to slightly annoying. I highly suggest this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allie | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/7/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this birth control for 6 months to help my painful heavy, long periods, and horomonal mood swings that I had developed since entering my 20's. It has changed my periods from a chaostrophic event to something that maybe lasts two days and is hardly noticeable. This birth control has changed my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects or issues except hair shedding! I've tried many different bcp in the past and never had hair thinning. Switching to a new one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me Myself & Insane | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As far as its intended purpose (birth control) it seems to be working but the side effects have been a problem for me. I was on trinessa for 2 years with no problems but switched due to insurance / provider issues. I've only been taking chateal for 1.5 months but I've already noticed that my moods are out of my control. I get very angry very quickly, I cry for no good reason and these are unusual experiences for me. I'm usually very level headed and easy going but this past month I have yelled at my kids, vented to friends & co-workers and cried over ridiculous things. I will be switching because I need to have better control over my emotions.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More