Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

This shot was very painful and my knee hurt worse after the shot then before. This was the last option before having knee replacement. It took 4 weeks but it finally made a difference and now I have returned to my previous activities. I have Osteoarthritis, bone on bone. MD said I have 80 yr old knees and my I am several decades younger than that. So while very painful to receive the shot... ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I have used both Synvisc and Orthovisc with great effectivness. I tried the Gel One three weeks ago iand the injection hurt and my pain level increased and has remained increased. I would not have another injection of this again. Worse off than be gore the injection.

Shared reviews and ratings

Iam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Gel-One in 2018 and worked like a charm. I had one on late Feb. 2021 and helps the same.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my first ever gel injection and the relief was almost immediate. Within 24 hours my pain was gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unknown | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went for my first gel injection tbis morning. My Rheumatologist did it and had very little to no pain. First step ultrasound to see the exact injection site, next lidocaine spray, lidocaine injected and then gel I felt a little coldness when lidocaine was injected but then 0 when gel was all over not a bad experience at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grt8woman | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2021
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my second (or third?) injection, every six months! I am bone on bone on my right knee. I get shots in both knees, very little discomfort as my PA uses numbing freeze before the injections. No side effects and I will continue to use this product for as long as possible. I do not want knee replacement. Cost is $6,000, of which I paid nearly $350 to $400 out of pocket. Worth it to me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2020
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn’t work at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2020
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The shot has allowed me to play doubles tennis twice a week and golf once a week. I can walk with no pain in the knee. I am on my first shot and getting my 2nd shot in after 6 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ERM | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2020
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received the generic Gel one (the worst insurance plan at my job) and it did nothing in fact I feel worse off. I'm going back to the cortisone shots they work for me. I'm so disappointed that I wasted my time and money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First of all, the injections were quite painful, and the relief was mediocre at best. The minimal relief i experienced was very short-lived. After about 3 weeks my knee pain was back to where it was prior to the injections

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Gel One before and never seems to help me all that much.Mine are a series of 5 once a week for 5 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cave | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had Synvisc One injections for nearly 4 years - worked for about 9 months each. Had the Gel One about 45 45 days ago and it has done NOTHING. Of course insurance will no longer cover Synvisc so basically, I am screwed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/16/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

osteoarthritis of knees could not take nsaids creatinine levels to high gel one worked almost no pain had first injection 6 mos ago had second yesterday great drug for problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJA | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no success with cortisone and bone on bone knee pain was limiting sleep and activity. After a Gel-One injection, and a period of about 3 weeks, I have had significant pain reduction. Obviously, the problem is not gone but it is easier to tolerate, at the moment. I am approching 3 months post injection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Need Prayer | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the one injection (not the 3) however this was the worst experience of my life. I have had cortisone injections which work, this gel injection left me in severe pain, my thigh was swollen, and my hip in great pain for 4 days, I use ice most nights, took 2 tramadol and 800 ibuprofen for pain, did not help much. I was told it takes 7 days for this gel to work. Today is has been 13 days, and the knee pain is extreme, worst than before they gave me this injection. I asked if the gel went to the wrong place and was told that was not possible. I am taking 2 tramadol 2x daily and 600mg ibuprofen 3x daily. My pain level remains at 7-8. I don't know what to do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
im4golf | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 77 years of age and the first injection lasted 8 months and I am now on the second injection. It has allowed me to continue to play golf.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been receiving a Gel One injection in both knees every 6 mos for 5 years. It greatly reduces the pain. Without the Gel One, I would need an operation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BAP | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the past I received the series of 3 injections, each a week apart which worked great and gave me full movement of my knee without pain. Last year I got the Gel one shot and it didnâ??t work at all. The pain in my knee is worse than it was. I am not able to exercise at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bronx gal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couldn’t even get out of bed the pain from the shot was terrible. Had a much better experience with just cortisone and reaction is nonexistent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BeesKnees | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/21/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After several bilateral knee injuries I damaged the knees to the point that the knee cap no longer rotates properly causing wear on the cartilage underneath and ultimately ended up to the point of bone on bone rubbing. I've been getting Gel-One injections for about 2.5 years and have felt a tremendous amount of relief. Unfortunately, sometimes the relief only lasts 4.5 - 5 months and I have to wait until the 6 month mark to get re-injected. I believe it is well worth it. Without the injections, I was taking pain meds almost daily just to sleep. Now, its very rare.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Louise | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered anaphylactic shock after my first treatment in both knees. I was hospitalized for two days after passing out on the street minutes after leaving the doctor's office. I realize it is a very rare allergic reaction, but I'm sorry to report that I did not receive any pain relief in either knee. The treatment did not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bmeinel | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/3/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in a lot of pain in my knees for months. I got shots on Wednesday and Friday of last week and within 2 days had amazing results. I am so thankful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More