Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have never been on any birth control other than using condoms and decided to get an iud, Skyla more towards ladies who haven't had a child. Did lots of research and it is a shame that you only find negative and scary stories online bc no one will take the time to write a good review. I am a woman who does not ever see side effects from any medication, everything always works as it states on ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I went in to get skyla inserted today. Most painful experience EVER! It was like really bad cramps x1000. After inserting my doctor said I should be fine after 5 minutes. I wasn't. I was in so much pain I was shaking uncontrollably and almost fainted. The nurses said my body just "rejected" it. Needless to say my doctor had to remove it. Worst experience with birth control ever.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/21/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had Skyla, Kyleena, and am back on Skyla again because my periods are so much better on it! The first insertion was painful for a few hours - some intense cramping, then no pain, no mood swings, no weight gain, no breakouts for the next 3 years. I’m so glad to be back on it - my mood is more regulated, I have better energy, and just feel so much better knowing how effective this is. Of all forms of birth control I’ve had, this is the one I would recommend the most!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andrea | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience with Skyla was a nightmare. First of all, the insertion and aftermath was SO PAINFUL. It was the worst pain I have ever felt and I have had multiple surgeries. I could barely get out of bed for the first week. Definitely ask the doctor for a strong pain killer/ anesthesia (not ibuprofen!) especially if you have never had children (it will hurt more). The biggest problem with the IUD were the MOOD SWINGS and DEPRESSION. I was very happy and content with my life and relationship before getting my IUD and never had had any mental issues/mood swings. Within a month of getting my IUD, I experienced severe mood changes and depression symptoms, I was crying all the time for no reason, I had severe anxiety attacks and felt generally hopeless and lost interest in all activities I used to love. It crippled my life, my work and my relationships and I became a shadow of myself. Within days of takin out the IUD after 2 months, I felt back to my normal, happy self. I honestly recommend thinking very carefully before getting this. The mental health effects are so powerful and dangerous and happen much more frequently than talked about (6-10%). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOPENOPENOPE | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While the freedom in pleasure was super cool, after having had the Skyla for 18 months I finally decided to have it removed. Removal wasn't anywhere near as painful as insertion, which felt like I was having a toenail ripped out of my guts. After placement I experienced intense-- doubled over with my mouth open in a silent scream intense-- and random cramping for the first 3-6 months. I had an ultrasound to check for placement and cysts because it was so disruptively painful, but the results were normal and my doctor encouraged me to "ride it out". Speaking of riding it out, any time my partner's penis penetrated too deeply and hit my cervix I experienced stabbing pain and would involuntarily yell and buck like a horse in the least sexual way you can imagine. My energy levels dropped, my appetite became ravenous, I became intolerant to alcohol, and at the year mark I developed alopecia. When my bald spot grew from the size of a quarter to the size of a tennis ball and another one appeared above it, I decided to have it removed despite my doctor's bizarre wish for me to continue waiting to see if it got better despite mounting evidence that it was only going to get worse. Coming to terms with the second adolescence that is entering your 40's is emotionally challenging enough without worrying about how much hair you're going to lose every time you brush or shampoo. Within 12 hours of removal I started to feel immensely... better? I had been existing in a cloud of psychotic, suicidal dysphoria without realizing it, and feeling this shadow lift was like my soul reentering my body after having been possessed by demons. I know plenty of folks who do fine on hormonal BC but if you're sensitive or feel in your gut that it isn't working for you, get it out of you. Honestly I would rather have a ~*shudder*~ baby human come out of me than have the Skyla back in. I'm getting my life back now but I'm mad about the time that I lost. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aidee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got it at 3 months postpartum. I’ve had a really good experience so far, I’ve only had it for 2 weeks but haven’t had any problems. Insertion was easy, I did not feel a thing I feel like my Pap smear hurt more. My doctor did help me to distract telling me when to take a deep breath and what not. I had minor cramping afterwards and spotting. I do recommend taking some sort of painkiller, my doctor gave me some ibuprofen right before putting the IUD. Overall good experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephanie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot take normal birth control pills because the sideffects were too awful for me. I was very hesistant to get an IUD given my reaction to birth control pills and hyper sensitivity to medication. However after 3 months I am very happy to say that other than constant spotting (which has now greatly calmed down) I have had no negative side effects from Skyla and it feels amazing to be able to have an easy, worry free method of birth control with the lowest hormone dose. I would highly recommend you give Skyla a try if your sensitive or have had a bad experience with many other hormonal birthcontrol methods. As for the insertion, please request a nerve block injection! If I did not have a nerve-blocking shot of lidocaine in my cervix, I can imagine the insertion process would be very excrutiating. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yercherrypop | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Idk why everyone is saying the IUD made them gain weight. I don’t wanna say it has zero effect but I’ve been on pills before and now IUD. I also have had no hormones, but without them my periods would kill me. The cramps are bad during insertion but don’t last long, so the protection is worth it. I also have a lot less pain than I did on my natural period. Additionally, I spot a bit but my periods are so so so light! Panty liners only and they are still regular. I have had it for about to be two years. Pills (5 years) gave me horrible anger & horrible acne. I only get acne during my time of the month with skylar (which was normal even without BC) and I’m not emotional unstable in anyway. I gained weight in the first year but that due to my eating habits & sedimentary lifestyle. I changed my diet and exercise and easily and quickly lost weight steadily and in line with how much work I put into it (25+lbs down and still going)(also keep in mind I’m at greater risk for weight gain as I also suffer from PCOS) this is where my confusion comes from, I think that maybe there is a chance women are gaining weight but it also maybe the regular track of their metabolism (from aging). Idk it could very well be the IUD! It’s unfortunate people do reviews on the pain level for the insertion (as it’s disclosed and doctors accommodate the pain during insertion, and even afterwards) unless of course rejection happens! My wish is that people shared their experiences after having it removed, because even pills require a period of adjustment, especially because it’s important to know beyond that. My appetite is normal, my periods regular, lighter (only liner needed) and significantly less painful, skin is doing good, I’m losing weight (making it a lifestyle, with no difficulties). one thing I will say that a con to IUD is I get more frequent yeast infections which my doctors also warned me about before I got it inserted! So that’s a big con for me, I don’t think. I’ll come back and update the removal. It’s sucks to hear ladies have had such poor experience like weight gain, pain, and all the other things. Everyone’s experiences are so different! I wish everyone who has had bad side effects the best, it so unfair and random the way things work! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teapot | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got skyla when I was 3 months post partum. I felt nothing while it was being inserted. There was no pain and no cramping.( possibly no pain due to just giving birth?)I didn't have to be on my period to get it inserted.( still didn't get my period back yet) overall it's a good birth control, however I constantly feel tired. Before I was on it even being a new mom I still had some energy. Now all I want to do is sleep and even if I get enough sleep it still never feels like enough. I have irregular periods and it helped regulate mine. Once in a while i will have spotting. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just got Skyla inserted today and it was very easy process. I had Mirena for 5 years after my 4th kiddo was born and had irregular periods the entire time, however overall it was a good experience. I tried a combo pill for 6 months and it was a negative experience for me so that’s why I went back to the IUD (get it and forget it!) if you have decent pain tolerance, you’ll be just fine, just be sure to take pain relievers ahead of insertion and make sure you’ve eaten/drank so you don’t get lightheaded. This will make periods lighter and the low dose of hormones shouldn’t change much for mood, weight, etc. If you’re having those issues, side effects are a real thing but definitely evaluate your whole lifestyle and overall health before giving up on the hormonal IUD Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All of the reviews on here are bad and I told myself I would leave a review if I had a good experience. The insertion was not pleasant but not nearly as bad as most of the reviews on here. I was terrified because of what I had heard about how painful it was. For me it just felt like a really bad period cramp and right afterwards I was totally fine. I have never had any children. I think it’s important to find a doctor that is experienced with putting them in and to take ibuprofen before. I haven’t had it for very long but so far just light spotting and light cramps every once in a while. Great experience so far. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this iud for 3 years, she took at last week and it put her in the hospital. From using this iud made her septic. I do not recommend this contraceptive to anyone. Please be very careful. Any complications please rush to the er to remove immediately. BE ware and stay away from this IUD!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I definitely did my research before I got the IUD and definitely recommend taking ibuprofen or Tylenol before you go it was such a life saver and probably just rest for the rest of the day or so and continue taking the pain meds throughout the day too it was such a life saver and it’s one of the best birth controls I’ve had and I recommend skyla especially if you’ve haven’t given birth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1234 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/30/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been using Skyla for almost a year now. I was so terrified to use BC again because I used to be on the pill all throughout high school and gained tremendous weight. Got off of it, dropped the weight and waited about 5 years to try an iud. I eventually want to have kids so the 3 years was perfect for me. The insertion wasn’t painful at all! My doctor had mini trouble due to my uterus being curved, but she numbed my cervix so it literally felt as if I was getting a pap. So far I haven’t had any bad symptoms or side effects of using Skyla. Far as my periods, I did cramp badly for the 1st few days. Obviously because my body is trying to get use to it. I naturally had a period for about 4 days and I would say it was between heavy and light. Now with Skyla I’m really, really light. I don’t even have to wear pads. Strictly panty liners. I still have it once a month at the same time every month. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alissa | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just got my Skyla iud inserted, this is a POSITIVE review. Ive always been against birth control due to not liking the idea of something altering my body, chance of mood swings, acne, health problems, weight gain etc. Decided to get the skyla as it only has the one hormone and its low dose. I was pretty nervous for insertion as Ive heard so much negative things about it being like child birth. I wouldnt even say I have a high pain tolerance but insertion wasnt painful at all for me. Had one little tiny cramp the whole time. Before I knew it, it was in. I didnt have any numbing or dilation done either. I havent had kids either. Also afterwards I didnt have much cramping and only had a bit of brown blood come out for the next few days. I hope this can help someone seeing a positive review but this is my experience. One thing Ive noticed though is I have a crazy increased appetite now. I do have a fast metabolism so I dont see myself gaining weight and havent, but if I gain 5lbs Ill know its from the iud as I can never get above 120 no matter what I eat.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claire | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Decided to try Skyla after being on the pill for ~10 years, no children and no plans of getting pregnant in the next 3 years. Insertion was surprisingly painful and uncomfortable, I can see why people pass out from it. I took the advice of my doctor and ate food and took tylenol ahead of time which seemed to help because I didn't pass out and felt fine soon afterwards. I've had it in about a year and a half now, I don't notice it in and neither does my partner. The side effects I've experienced were 1 uti after placement and my periods are very light and fairly irregular still. Sometimes I skip a month and other times I have spotting for 2-3 weeks. So that is very annoying but ultimately the iud was worth it for me to not be taking hormonal pills every day. My cramps, acne, and mood did not really change from birth control to iud. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer Day | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First of all … the insertion was excruciating. No one prepared me for that. I flinched and almost passed out. It was so painful. Afterwords the cramps lasted for days and I had never felt that kind of cramps before and I bled for almost a week after. My doctor described it as contractions due to the foreign body being accepted. Inserted in July because I kept forgetting to take the pill and my work schedule had no routine to take it efficiently. It’s now November and I’ve gained 15-20lbs. (Starting at 130-145/150) I’ve never in my life weighed this heavy. I’m only 5’2 and now My clothing doesn’t fit the same. I am bloated all the time and always feel gassy. I’ve been more active in the past 6 months and absolutely nothing has changed. I feel so pudgy and not like myself. Mentally is been fine. I was worried about the possibility of my depression creeping in but so far I’ve been very happy mentally. I’m terrified to get it removed because of the pain during the insertion. Also my husband and I don’t really want kinds right now so we’re thinking about our options. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My world was turned upside down. While on this birth control I experienced such mental fog, dizziness, extremely low energy, weight gain, and more. I had all kinds of testing done through my General practitioner and nothing concerning came back. I took out my Skyla and immediately began to feel better. Within the coming weeks my energy level was back up. Felt like I had my mental clarity back. I don’t not recommend this to anyone. If I could go back I would have probably chose the non hormonal copper iud. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
okiefrommuskoge | 13-18 | Male |
7/4/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My girlfriend has had Skyla for a few months now and seems to like it. When you have intercourse do your boyfriend/husband ejaculate in you? If so no pregnancy? We don’t want any children !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decided to switch from birth control pills to Skyla; worst decision ever . The insertion process was not very painful, however , the cramps after were awful . My husband and I did not want children at the time and I was tired of taking a pill a day . I really wish I had not switched . All of my friends , who already had kids , switched from pills to Mirena and swore by it . So I choose Skyla since it was made for women who had not had children . Although it worked as a form of birth control , it was not worth the pain I had . I did not have hair loss , butp I did gain weight without having a diet change .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I was scared to get my IUD placed but I have a really good Dr. and I trust him. He told me Skyla is the smallest IUD and that I have such a small cervix that the Mirena wouldn't have fit. It was like getting a papsmear. They simply have you lay on your back and put the device that holds the vag open which I find kinda uncomfortable and then he took a q tip and cleaned my cervix which I barely felt a thing then he sprayed a numbing spray which had a very mild burn because it has alcohol in it and then the burning started to go away quickly. He then measured my cervix and then gently inserted the IUD and he said okay kiddo thats it. I was like it's in?! I didn't feel a thing. All I felt was a mild period cramp that was gone in a matter of a few seconds. Mind you, I took two menstrual cramp pain meds 2 hours before the procedure which I'm sure helped. I had mild spotting that evening and it was done with spotting 2 days later. I had slight cramps the day after but took a couple more pain meds and was fine. As for my hair, I take hair gummies each day so haven't had any hair loss just growth. And I don't eat that much and eat healthy aside from the occasional junk food here and there. I'm active cleaning the house and whatever else so I haven't gained any weight. Still losing postpartum weight. As for sex, nothing different. I waited like 4 days before having intercourse. I really love Skyla and how convenient it is. No daily pill no occasional shot, no stress, no worry.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the skyla put in april 19th, I have been in so much pain since getting it. Everytime I have a cramp I start bleeding. I bleed with intercourse. It's just awful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More