Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have never been on any birth control other than using condoms and decided to get an iud, Skyla more towards ladies who haven't had a child. Did lots of research and it is a shame that you only find negative and scary stories online bc no one will take the time to write a good review. I am a woman who does not ever see side effects from any medication, everything always works as it states on ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I went in to get skyla inserted today. Most painful experience EVER! It was like really bad cramps x1000. After inserting my doctor said I should be fine after 5 minutes. I wasn't. I was in so much pain I was shaking uncontrollably and almost fainted. The nurses said my body just "rejected" it. Needless to say my doctor had to remove it. Worst experience with birth control ever.

Shared reviews and ratings

okiefrommuskoge | 13-18 | Male |
7/4/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My girlfriend has had Skyla for a few months now and seems to like it. When you have intercourse do your boyfriend/husband ejaculate in you? If so no pregnancy? We don’t want any children !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decided to switch from birth control pills to Skyla; worst decision ever . The insertion process was not very painful, however , the cramps after were awful . My husband and I did not want children at the time and I was tired of taking a pill a day . I really wish I had not switched . All of my friends , who already had kids , switched from pills to Mirena and swore by it . So I choose Skyla since it was made for women who had not had children . Although it worked as a form of birth control , it was not worth the pain I had . I did not have hair loss , butp I did gain weight without having a diet change .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I was scared to get my IUD placed but I have a really good Dr. and I trust him. He told me Skyla is the smallest IUD and that I have such a small cervix that the Mirena wouldn't have fit. It was like getting a papsmear. They simply have you lay on your back and put the device that holds the vag open which I find kinda uncomfortable and then he took a q tip and cleaned my cervix which I barely felt a thing then he sprayed a numbing spray which had a very mild burn because it has alcohol in it and then the burning started to go away quickly. He then measured my cervix and then gently inserted the IUD and he said okay kiddo thats it. I was like it's in?! I didn't feel a thing. All I felt was a mild period cramp that was gone in a matter of a few seconds. Mind you, I took two menstrual cramp pain meds 2 hours before the procedure which I'm sure helped. I had mild spotting that evening and it was done with spotting 2 days later. I had slight cramps the day after but took a couple more pain meds and was fine. As for my hair, I take hair gummies each day so haven't had any hair loss just growth. And I don't eat that much and eat healthy aside from the occasional junk food here and there. I'm active cleaning the house and whatever else so I haven't gained any weight. Still losing postpartum weight. As for sex, nothing different. I waited like 4 days before having intercourse. I really love Skyla and how convenient it is. No daily pill no occasional shot, no stress, no worry.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the skyla put in april 19th, I have been in so much pain since getting it. Everytime I have a cramp I start bleeding. I bleed with intercourse. It's just awful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms. Fatty | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/12/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this inserted August of 2017. Was told my risk of weight gain was low. At that time I weighed about 180. I started gaining weight but thought it couldn't be my IUD because I was told you don't gain weight on these. My hair started falling out by the handfuls. Again didn't think it was something caused by my iud. I have spent the last 3 years dieting and exercising and never ever seeing any change in weight. I decided to have it removed and not replaced because my husband is going to be getting a vasectomy and well it was expired.... curious I decided to look into the side effects. My doctors for 3 years have just said its what I'm eating or how much I was eating or just didn't know and what it was. Normal people don't gain 60 to 70 lbs in 3 years when no diet habits have changed all labs continued to come back normal. Im not preggo but my self esteem is destroyed, I'm bigger than I've ever been including pregnancy and wondering of it was worth it or if there was more to this drug that just was purposely left out at insertion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really happy with Skyla. I had Paraguard for a long time and my periods were pretty bad. So far on Skyla I've had no weird side effects and light periods. I like that the hormone level is low because I used to get headaches and low libido with the pill but feel fine with Skyla. I will use Skyla until my husband is OK with a vasectomy lol!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was nervous to get Skyla inserted as I heard many bad experiences about it but the insertion wasn't as bad as others made it out to be. I took medicine before I went in and was on my period as well, and I think that definitely helped. I did have cramping afterwards, but nothing I couldn't handle. I've had mine since March 2020 and so far have nothing to really complain about. I was on the pill for many years prior to Skyla and had no issues with it and suddenly it started to mess with my mental health and I knew I needed to get off of it. Then about a year later I decided to get Skyla because although it has hormones, there is less released in your body. So far I love it. I am 22 and married and me and my husband aren't trying to have a kid yet so this was the best option for me. Skyla lasts 3 years but I may take mine out before then depending on our plans for starting a family. Either way, I recommend it, but I am also aware everyone's experience is different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cpd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My insertion process was very easy. I had one large cramp, and some minor cramping later that day and maybe the next three days following. I know everyone's pain tolerance is different, but don't read too much into the horror stories. I told my doctor ahead of time how nervous I was, and she gave me a few minutes to calm down and focus on breathing - do this! I am on my first period since insertion, and it is light however has lasted about 10 days. This is normal. Sex with my partner is better than ever before now that we are not worried about getting pregnant accidentally. I recommend Skyla to anyone who is interested, but again, talk to you doctor! Remember that those who leave reviews are more likely to only share about the bad things, so please consider this one when making your decision. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat C. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi! Hoping my review helps those looking into getting a Skyla IUD. I had it inserted in May 2017 and just had it removed 2 weeks ago - May 2020. Insertion was really - REALLY - painful, but I have a low threshold for pain anyway so I guess it changes from person to person. I was a bit sore for about a week after insertin, but then life went back to normal. Over the past 3 years, I exercised, did yoga, had no problems during intercourse. Checked threads every month or so in the beginning but then I'd even forget it was there for many months and check every 3-6 months. I did not experience weight gain that I can associate with the Skyla. I did gain weight but that's probably due to poor eating habits than anything. I did experience a bit more acne especially in the chin area, and that left some scarring and marks (again, my picking on them also to blame - but I'm sure those were hormonal) Acne flared up after about 1.5 years of insertion. Removal was probably 10-20% of insertion pain, super quick and easy. It really worked for me as it's not a super long-lasting IUD (only 3 years) and I'd get another one put in. :) Hope this helps. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MGH | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi! I am a 24 year old woman, and have had two skylas inserted. I am 5’7, and my weight yo-yos anywhere from 135-140~ pounds and I exercise 4-5 times a week with a healthy diet. When I had my first Skyla inserted in 2017, I made the mistake of reading tons of horrific reviews about the pain prior and just wanted to say unless you have an extremely low pain tolerance IT IS NOT THAT BAD. When they insert it, it’s about 30 seconds of pain comparable to a god awful period cramp but in my experience nothing that would ever make me pass out. (I’ve never had children, but I’ve had piercings and tattoos done which were worse than this feeling). For me, the cramping lasted less than 24 hours. With the first insertion, I experienced spotting for about a month, but with the second it lasted only about 2 weeks. Definitely eat a big breakfast beforehand and maybe some juice so you have your blood sugar up, and DEFINITELY take Ibuprofen, but if you’re looking for a sign that the pain is worth the 3 years of not having to think about birth control and heavy cycles HERE IT IS! DO IT! Skyla is amazing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Realin | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/29/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had skyla for over a year, then I found out I was pregnant. My doctor said the device was still in the right spot and didn't move. I ending up having a ectopic pregnancy because of the device and spent 1000s at the doctors office/er. Do not get this iud.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chemistry | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/16/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Jaydess (European Skyla) inserted 3m ago. Insertion: although uncomfortable, the actual pain was like a 3/10 for me. I took one Ibuprofen and ate some sweets to prevent low blood pressure. I tried to remain calm. They applied a numbing spray (Lidocaine) on my cervix. For the uterus measurement I had to “cough” and the pinch was done in a sec. Then they weren’t sure the IUD will go in, because my cervix was not dilated (day 4, but bleeding was gone due to anxiety), but they asked me to take a huge breath and they shove it in. I was shocked of how quick it was all over. They finished with an ultrasound to see check position. Prescribed me an antibiotic to take for 5 days in order to prevent any infection. While I was feeling bizarre and had a wobbling sensation in my uterus, I did not need any medication that night or the days after! I went to work the next day and I felt fine, just a bit cautious. Side effects: first 2 months I had the annoying spotting every day. After that I started to finally have clear days in a row. Had periods lighter but longer than usual (7-11-12d), but they should shorten now. Some PMS, nothing serious (breast soreness, mild to moderate cramps). Haven’t had any other side effects! Sex: My partner didn’t feel the strings in any position, so I’m relieved. I didn’t have any pain during or after sex, no breakthrough bleeding (I was so scared that an “accident” might happen). And the sex drive is just as high as usual. Gym: I do CrossFit and I was scared I might get cramps or it might move, but so far so good (just minor cramping after gym in the first month). Sometimes I spot over the next hours after gym due to increased blood flow. I’m trying to be patient with all this “shedding”. Bio: 32 yrs., NP, this is my first form of birth control and the only one I can use due to a medical condition which gives me a higher risk to develop blood cloths. I read and watched all reviews until I drove myself crazy, but decided I will give it a try!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Great product | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Skyla for over 2 Yearâ??s and I could not be happier I the insertion was a little painful but after a few days I barely even knew I had it the doctor did say I would feel horrible cramping for a few months which I did but it only happens maybe once every couple of months I barely get my period if I do itâ??d very light and last maybe 2 days to be honest I love it and barley know itâ??s there but it seems my sex drive has become almost non existent but I work as a cna which is very hard work mentally and physically so I believe that is part of my sex drive being decreased I do plan on taking it out next year and getting another Skyla inserted.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shadia4805 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Skyla for a year and a half now.The placement was not pleasant but it was not the worse in the world if you prepare yourself. I definitely had worse pain since I experience bad cramps with endometrious before. I took ibuprofen 600mg in the morning and one a little before my appointment and I was walking out fine. It hurt for probably about two minutes after insertion.I did deep breathing when they inserted the IUD and I believed that helped. After 2 weeks I did experience bleeding for 6 months straight. After that I did not receive my period for about 6 months as well. My period did come back and now it comes every month for about 4 days and it's very light. Occasional cramping from time to time but nothing major. I believe that is because it moves in my uterus. Overall the birth control is effective just minor side effects. It's nice not having to worry about if your going to be pregnant but it did increase my acne. I have had acne before as a teenager and went on acutane. My skin has been clear since and i am in my 30s. A year in with sklya I notice more breakouts then before. Now I have regular appointments to the dermatologist to keep my acne under control because of sklya. I still feel it worth it though to finish out the three years. After three years I may stop though because it did increase my acne and hopefully by then I will be planning to have a child. Overall a good product but it may come with minor consequences.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/14/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Skyla for almost a year and a half and had norhing but complications. It prevwnted pregnancy but I was moody irritable and had constant yeast infections rifhr before or after my period. My periods wer good for the most part but aome montha were very heavy. To day I had my Skyla removed. It had shifted during my last period and replanted in my cervix. It cause severe bleeding for 7 days straight after my initial period. It made mw lose so mucj blood I became anemic. At 3am I was ruahed to the ER with pelvic cramping and bleeding. After a transvaginal ultrasound and blood work we realized it had moved and during a pelvic exam the doctor said it was in my cervix. So thwy pullwd it our and inatant rwliwd.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OPC_2612 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Skyla inserted in around March 2018. It wasn't super painful at first, but I was on a constant period for about 8 weeks. In April, I started having issues with unrelenting vertigo. I constantly felt like I was on a rocking boat. It got to a point where I could barely drive. I also started to have panic attacks in public places. My heart and mind would start racing. I also felt like I was loosing touch with reality. I became a recluse because I was afraid I would have a panic attack. My doctor said it wasn't Skyla. I still had it removed in late November. About a week after getting it removed, BOOM vertigo was gone. I still suffer from panic attacks (I've never had this issue before). Now, about a month and a half after having it removed, I suddenly suffer from MIGRAINES? It's been seven days and counting. No OTC medications relieve them. I had to go to my doctor and beg for something to get rid of the pain. This IUD definitely messed with my mind and my body. I sincerely wish I never got it in the first place.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenna J | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Skyla for 2 1/2 years and just had it removed 2 days ago. Insertion was horrible even after 2 c-sections. Heavy bleeding for the first month. I enjoyed this IUD for the first year or 2 but I think I was just happier because I had Paraguard prior with the worst bleeding and cramps of my life so I switched to Skyla. I would only get severe cramps maybe every 2 months or so. I would have pain during and after sex but I just got used to it. My anxiety and weight gain has increased significantly and I a someone who works out 5 days a week and dont change my eating habits much. Finally my boyfriend said its all the hormones, take it out! Oh I forgot to mention another lovely side effect I have from it is cystic acne to which I am on medication for. With all this being said, as a nurse I can tell you, everyone is different no 2 people will have the same side effects. Try it and see how you like it, if you dont like it after time you can just remove it like I did. After 2 dys I'm not feeling any different yet, will have to update at another date. Almost forgot, no pain during removal for me. I'm excited to cleanse my body of these artificial hormones and let my body go thru its natural process. Not looking forward to using condoms but I think it will be worth it to not feel like crap all the time. Good luck out there ladies!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/10/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience with this medicine was very weird. It was very effective because I did not get pregnant but EVERY month around or during my period I either had a yeast infection, or bacterial vaginosis. SEVERE yeast infection. I just recently got it removed after having it since April 2018 and I feel so much better and feel like a new lady.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Implanted at 8 weeks pp. - uncomfortable, slight cramping + spotting, but better than I expected. Rated effective because I did not get pregnant. Had no issues with heavy bleeding or pain beyond the initial procedure. HOWEVER... Soon after getting Skyla I began to have mild irritability + impatience, mainly toward my husband and infant daughter. I assumed it was work stress and being tired. After 2 months of Skyla - mild irritability became something much worse. I would have negative intrusive thoughts. I looked at my beautiful daughter and felt nothing but a sense of obligation. I constantly snapped at my sweet husband. I had 24/7 anxiety about anything and everything. Even my worst PMS moods were nothing like this. The dealbreaker came when my baby was crying one night, and I yelled at her to shut up. (That’s painful to even type right now.) I had Skyla removed 2 days later. Within 3 days, I was stable, calm, + patient. Most importantly I felt love toward my baby again. I wholeheartedly believe that I had a negative reaction to this IUD, and that it made me feel psychotic. Removing it was the only change I made, and I’ve been my normal self for almost a month already. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara R | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally don’t review products online but I found that there isn’t a lot of information on this product and it is not very well known outside the US ( I’m in Australia ) . The insertion was the most painful thing I’ve ever experienced ( worse than broken bones and dislocated joints ) it lasted for about a week then I was fine for about 6 -10 months . I experience severe cramping and my periods were almost non existent ( doctor re assured me that I will continue to have normal periods ). After a year of having this IUD I developed severe anxiety that wouldn’t go away with anything !! Before this I never experienced a panic attack in my life . After 2 days I had it removed I started to feel somewhat normal . I’m not here to bash this product simply to share my experience . It did it’s job and I didn’t get pregnant but it is not for everyone. Please get informed before you make any decisions.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More